We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Hotel...In a Good Way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Ranked #29 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Funky Hotel...In a Good Way”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Spent 3 nights in early April for a family vacation. Other family members joined a day later and staff accommodated by putting us in adjacent rooms...well done.

The rooms are fresh and modern, as is the rest of the hotel. We had two adults and two children in our room which was accommodated well with the kind bed and pull out sofa bed. The two beds can be separated with a curtain to manage light as needed. There is plenty of counter space and the complimentary juices, coffee and such in the lobby were a nice touch. The breakfast was a bit disappointing but tolerable.

Parking is available across the street for much less $ than valet parking but we did valet as they promised a secure lot. It is pricey though ($23/day + tax).

The Riverwalk is two short blocks down Navarro and the Alamo/Rivercenter Mall is three blocks down Houston street. Very good location.

The room air conditioning fan was very loud which is a bit annoying when watching TV and the pool is, frankly, a joke (it's a large hot tub). The workout room is basic but does include everything you need including free weights. If you are a running, I suggest running the riverwalk in the morning ahead of the crowds, it is great!

Hotel staff was helpful. The cleaning crew missed our room the first day but we were able to get fresh towels after mentioning to the staff.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaleighBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    318
    116
    39
    40
See reviews for
401
227
32
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Not bad. Rooms were extremely clean, pretty retro, and super renovated. The shower had a built-in Neutrogena shampoo/conditioner/body wash dispenser. There's an alarm clock/radio that is loud if you feel like hooking up your aux. cord to your iPod (not so loud that you'll disturb your neighbors, of course). In our room, there was a divider that separates the couch from the bed. That was a neat touch. The kitchen was nice. New appliances. I felt like I was in a studio in a condo. Decent downtown views. Smiling/helpful staff. Close to places to eat and the Riverwalk. Overall, a good stay. No trouble came our way.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NextStopIsWhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location just a couple blocks from the Alamo and the Riverwalk. I wish the pool was bigger or at least make it into a giant hot tub by turning up the temperature. Another thing they could improve on is a varety of breakfast options.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojovolleyball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel was great. When I first stepped into the spacious lobby I immediately felt welcome by the friendly staff. When I arrived at my room i was alarmed because the room door was wide open. This was a bad way to start the stay but the hotel definitely made up for it. The room was spotless clean and the sheets appeared to be brand new. The bed was also one of the most comfortable i've ever slept in at a hotel. This hotel was just outstanding. The only real problem about the hotel was the valet parking. The Valet was probably one of the worst i've ever experienced at a hotel. We called twenty minutes prior to have our car brought and it still wasn't ready by the time we arrived to pick it up. Onetime after thirty minutes of waiting the valet brought the wrong car. This hotel needs to fix the valet system. If you are pressed for time you have to call almost forty minutes in advanced.

Room Tip: Call along time in advanced for valet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IM515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Located conveniently 2 blocks from the riverwalk within walking distance of great restaurants and attractions. Only time we used our car was to go to SeaWorld and the zoo. Valets were prompt and very courteous. Rooms were spacious and clean. Beds were comfortable. Eric, the manager was accommodating above what was expected. Only negatives were the very small pool and the air-conditioning, which was loud. Will definitely add this hotel to our list of top places to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjuddot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Front desk and valet were AWESOME. Housekeeping was horrible. After complaining to the Manager, I felt like my issues were dismissed and unimportant to him. I stayed for 6 nights and the concept of "light" cleaning began making me feel dirty. I keep my house better than my room was kept by the cleaning staff. Paper that was obviously trash was left on the floor, my shower soap dispenser had a leak and the soap was never cleaned from the basin (safety hazard) and, I had to request wash clothes two of the six nights. I believe that the cleaners helped themselves to some of my almonds and cashews because the ziplock bags were not air tight like I left them. THE TOPPER: After the second complaint to front desk and the manager, the cleaning staff decided to THROW AWAY my CHIPS and an UNOPENED BOTTLE OF WATER. The service was definitely a disgrace to the Hilton name and brand.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davyea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We had friends stay here over a long weekend recently, I was concerned when they initially told me the hotel as I have never heard of it. I went down town to check it out and WOW!!! was I surprised. This hotel was clean, modern, colorful, and the employees were fantastic. The rooms were funky and unique. The location downtown was also great and the price is right! Givve this new hotel a try...you'll be happy you did!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABCVET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Property: Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Address: 603 Navarro St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1837
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#61 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in San Antonio, the Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, TX hotel features an environmentally friendly renovation with a contemporary loft design. Nestled in a vibrant, urban neighborhood, our downtown San Antonio hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo, the River Walk, Hemisfair Park and the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. Six Flags Fiesta Texas, SeaWorld and San Antonio Zoo are a short drive away. Plan an extended stay at our San Antonio Riverwalk hotel when visiting the HEB Corporate Headquarters, AT&T, Deloitte and other San Antonio companies. Feel at home in a studio or one-bedroom suite with a living area, fully equipped kitchen and movable furniture. Connect to free WiFi and an iHome clock radio with iPod and MP3 docks, or watch a movie on the 42-inch HDTV. Hang out at the Oasis, enjoy a free Inspired Table™ breakfast, watch television, or surf the web on your laptop or a business center computer. Swim in our indoor saline pool or multitask at Spin2 Cycle, where you can run on a treadmill while you run a load of wash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home2 Suites By Hilton San Antonio-Downtown/Near The River Walk Hotel
Home2 Suites By Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing