We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but lacks in areas.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Ranked #32 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good, but lacks in areas.”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

When checking in, the staff stated they were giving us a room with a view. It was a corner room with 3 large windows. What they did not tell us about was the traffic noise, but there was a card starting that we could get ear plugs at the front desk. Our room was fine. There was no air circulating in the hall ways and they were hot and muggy. We felt that the breakfast was inadequate. Toaster waffles, eggs on a muffin top going through a toaster,-poor compared to Hampton Inn or Homewood Suites .We had breakfast out. Elevators broke down during stay. On returning to our room, our key did not work. We when down to the desk to find no one there and a note that they would return in 30 minutes. Totally unacceptable. The location is great. Easy walk to plaza, riverwalk, market, etc. Walgreens across the street was very handy.

Room Tip: You may want a lower floor since several reviewers have mentioned the elevators breaking down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank volfromtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruiz1, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room as well as our elevators and will work with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    305
    110
    37
    36
See reviews for
371
212
29
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

From first glance this looks like a clean, well kept place with a swedish modern decor. Upon further investigation you will find that this place is falling apart. We stayed 5 nights and experienced :
air conditionaire breakdowns in our room (s) see below
elevator breakdown
air conditionaire breadown in fitness room
unknowlabe staff at the front desk
room cleaning deficiencies
Hallway floors coming unglued.
.
On the air conditionaire problems- the original room broke down and they had us try a second room. It was 76 in the second room and after 20 minutes with the air conditionare running we went back to for a third room. The 3rd room was a pet room and so we had to be transferred a 4th time. What a pain. It was 10pm and we were tired!

In the 4th room all seemed great for the next two nights then while making the bed a used condom fell out of the blankets. YUCK. All towels and sheets were requested to be changed at that point.

In 5 days we observed a combination or one or two of the 3 elevators broke down. Luckily without us in them. Yikes.

Last but not least my first encounter with the hotel was by phone while trying to get to the hotel. We were driving into SA during the Fiesta Fiesta Parade and could not get across downtown to the hotel. Unfamiliar with the city and how to navigate it I called the hotel hoping for tips. The desk lady said " I am unfamiliar with downtown and cant help"
Yeh that was stellar.
Dont stay there. The kitchen was nice to have but its not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelfanDurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruiz1, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room as well as our elevators and will work with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This hotel provides great value and a comfortable, safe stay. It's a short walk from The Alamo and Riverwalk. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable with wonderful conveniences. Good complementary breakfast too! I would definitely stay here again if I'm ever in San Antonio.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Home2 Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, GA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Hotel had several problems during our stay, but they were resolved, but not immediately until hotel manager became involved. Staff needs to be insructed on better guest relations. One nice thing about this hotel is was located close to the San Antonio Riverwalk and downtown attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Home2 Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruiz1, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This hotel was surprisingly inexpensive compared to others on or near the Riverwalk so I was a bit leery. My unease was quickly settled once we entered the lobby - beautiful! The room was equally as beautiful - thoughtfully laid out, clean, decorative, and quiet for a downtown hotel! I'd stay here again in a minute!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Home2 Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a new brand in the Hilton line. It is clean and crisp decor and the staff was helpful with directions or whatever was needed. My room was well appointed, nothing spectacular but what I needed with the exception of lighting. The desk work area has only a desk lamp, no ceiling or floor lamps. Those of us who travel for business and work at those desks at night need more light. Second, I has little to no hot water for showers. I reported this to the front desk and it was not taken care of during my stay. I realize it is an older building they have refurbished but may need a little more attention in this area. Travelers a need hot showers in the morning getting ready for seeing the sites or attending that business meeting.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niantic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We went to San Antonio for a 40th wedding anniversary and wanted to be near the River Walk. We happened to stay at the Hilton Home2 suites and really enjoyed the stay. The employees were very helpful when asked any questions. They have a free contintental breakfast, which was sufficent. The location is only about 3-4 blocks from the River Walk and very convienent. We just happened to be here during the start of Fiesta week and this was the perfect place to stay. We had friends who stayed in a hotel on the River Walk and indicated it was noisy into the early AM. No problems with noise where we were. If you have a car and do not need to take it in and out more than once or twice per day, I would recommend parking at the self parking garage next door. It is $9 per day with no in-out. the cost after 3 hours is also $9, so if you are going to only take it out once or twice per day, use the self parking. If you plan on frequent in-out usage, then the valet parking may be more reasonable. Valet parking was $23 or $24 per day. Each room has eating utensils, plates, glasses, mugs, refrig, disk washer (not sure about a stove, we never ate in the room). I would highly recommend staying here. The difference in price makes it worth walking the 3-4 blocks to the River Walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmastrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Property: Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Address: 603 Navarro St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1837
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#61 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in San Antonio, the Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, TX hotel features an environmentally friendly renovation with a contemporary loft design. Nestled in a vibrant, urban neighborhood, our downtown San Antonio hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo, the River Walk, Hemisfair Park and the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. Six Flags Fiesta Texas, SeaWorld and San Antonio Zoo are a short drive away. Plan an extended stay at our San Antonio Riverwalk hotel when visiting the HEB Corporate Headquarters, AT&T, Deloitte and other San Antonio companies. Feel at home in a studio or one-bedroom suite with a living area, fully equipped kitchen and movable furniture. Connect to free WiFi and an iHome clock radio with iPod and MP3 docks, or watch a movie on the 42-inch HDTV. Hang out at the Oasis, enjoy a free Inspired Table™ breakfast, watch television, or surf the web on your laptop or a business center computer. Swim in our indoor saline pool or multitask at Spin2 Cycle, where you can run on a treadmill while you run a load of wash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home2 Suites By Hilton San Antonio-Downtown/Near The River Walk Hotel
Home2 Suites By Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing