We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Choice for San Antonio” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Ranked #34 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Choice for San Antonio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Overall, this hotel was a great choice for my husband and I. We stayed here for three nights as part of a vacation at the end of Sept. '13. I'll start at the beginning... Since reading reviews before leaving, we planned to park in the garage across the street for $10/day. This worked out really well for us. Valet is $25/day or somewhere in that ballpark. Check-in was easy, the front desk staff was very nice. As a Hilton honors gold member, I sometimes get a snack/water at check-in, but here they gave us tickets for one each day. I thought that was a nice little extra. The layout of the room is GREAT. There is a kitchen area with fridge/sink/dishwasher/microwave/dishes etc. Cooktops can be checked out from the front desk. We didn't use those, but we used everything else and it was such a nice plus to have! Bathroom was fine, shower only-no tub. May be an issue for some. The room had a couch which we enjoy because it's annoying to have to feel like you have sit in bed all the time. Very comfortable bed/pillows etc. We needed extra pillows and they were brought to our room in less than 5 minutes. Also, this is a "green" hotel, so they have incorporated all kinds of things to waste less and for me, that is a HUGE benefit. Lots of recycling, happy to see all that. Nice views too. Staff was awesome...there was a fellow names George (I'm pretty sure) who sort of did it all and he was great. Used the laundry room once, no issues. There is a small pool, but it is nice for a little dip. Great fitness room. Yes, the location is downtown San Antonio, so there are some homeless people around at night...it's downtown in a City...that's the way it goes. You need a key to get in at night, so we felt secure. Breakfast was good. Oatmeal bar, open faced bfast sandwiches, waffles, toast/muffins, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, etc. Plenty for us. Really busy on the Sunday we were there, but almost empty on weekdays. The location is super convenient. We walked all over downtown and could come back here easily if needed. The one issue we had....the first night we had a roach in the room. I get it...older building, the climate, hard to keep them out...but it's not what you want to see in your hotel room, so I had to knock it down a little.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hydroxero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    293
    106
    36
    36
See reviews for
358
197
25
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was an excellent value hotel within walking distance to the Riverwalk even at night. The staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel was clean and relatively new. The room was good sized and having the "kitchen" is always nice when traveling with kids.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the street, but never encountered any issues with street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brtravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Staying at the Home2 suites was my first time. Weekend getaway for my wife and I. Diamond Member. Like the euro and kitchen suite feel. Yes I would stay at again. Hotel might want to suggest the closest convenience store for food due to ability to cook in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Home2 Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Earl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We arrived late about 12:30am, trouble getting into the building. The person on duty was watching TV one of the guest going in had to let me in. Checked in then was told if you don't get the valet parking which is $25.a day you have to park across the street in the public parking structure for $10. a day with no in and out(s). There were homeless people sleeping on the benches outside and undesirables walking around. We got to our "Suite" very small, the bathroom was dirty there was hair in the shower and sink(nasty). The room even felt dirty before finding the hair. We took a shower, as we used the toilet and shower the plumbing was noisy. We were going to stay there for 5 days but got up at 6am to leave. The "Breakfast" is not a full breakfast it is a continental breakfast and the area to eat in is very small. We decided to check out, we could not stay it was not what we expected for the price. We still got charged for the 24hour parking and only stayed for 6hours if that.
Would not recommend, nor stay again!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Where_to_next071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruiz1, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Where_to_next071,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent experience with us. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We always try to give our guests increased in room amenities and hotel services that will enhance their stay. I apologize that we fell well below of the expectations and standards that you have of us. I have passed your comments along to our staff so that we can make our hotel better for the future. Thank you again for your comments and we hope that the next time you're in town you'll give us another chance and stay with us again!

Best regards,


Gina Ruiz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DALLAS, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I was in San Antonio on business. YOUR hotel was across the street from the company I needed to visit. Evert singe Home 2 person I cam in contact with was kind and courteous. The room was comfortable & clean; the breakfast was well arranged & the food was healthy. It was an overall positive experience and I would recommend Home 2 to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Home2 Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Eleanor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, California, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I am a Business traveler and loyal Hilton Honors member and was a little hesitant to try out this new brand- but the location in San Antonio left me with nothing but raves. Joe, the very efficient(and very cute) front desk manager had us checked in, beyond the line with no trouble at all. Darling Sophia, with her bottles of water and midnight snacks made the stay homey and complete.
Ameneties:
kitchenette: REAL dishes and silverware, Everything and a kitchen sink.
Bathroom: clean towels, though no trial size products... but if you need toothpaste, lotion or anything else... front desk has you covered.
Personally, I don't like the pump action shampoo/body wash in the shower- but the Neutrogena products worked it out.
Bottom line- this hotel is perfect for a business traveler who doesn't want housekeeping poundin on your door at 8 am. The brand is modern, while preserving the façade of a historic building (HUGE PLUS... the building is an architectural beauty from 1919.)

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, you don't get the "suite" aspect but the view is terrific!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My mom and I stayed there to celebrate our birthdays. From the moment we walked in, we were greeted with the most-friendly and accommodating staff we have ever experienced! We stayed in a double queen suite. The room was fabulous - very spacious and cheerfully decorated. The hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo and a block from the Riverwalk. Great value and definitely seek out a Home2Suites whenever I travel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nolson2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#16 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Property: Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Address: 603 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#44 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#61 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in San Antonio, the Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, TX hotel features an environmentally friendly renovation with a contemporary loft design. Nestled in a vibrant, urban neighborhood, our downtown San Antonio hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo, the River Walk, Hemisfair Park and the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. Six Flags Fiesta Texas, SeaWorld and San Antonio Zoo are a short drive away. Plan an extended stay at our San Antonio Riverwalk hotel when visiting the HEB Corporate Headquarters, AT&T, Deloitte and other San Antonio companies. Feel at home in a studio or one-bedroom suite with a living area, fully equipped kitchen and movable furniture. Connect to free WiFi and an iHome clock radio with iPod and MP3 docks, or watch a movie on the 42-inch HDTV. Hang out at the Oasis, enjoy a free Inspired Table™ breakfast, watch television, or surf the web on your laptop or a business center computer. Swim in our indoor saline pool or multitask at Spin2 Cycle, where you can run on a treadmill while you run a load of wash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Booking.com so you can book your Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home2 Suites By Hilton San Antonio-Downtown/Near The River Walk Hotel
Home2 Suites By Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing