We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice way to see the Riverwalk”
Review of San Antonio Tours

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
San Antonio Tours
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Really nice way to see the Riverwalk”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We have visited the Riverwalk a few times but found it to be a bit chaotic, especially trying to herd 2 smallish kids and a stroller through the crowds (and even more fun, up and down the numerous steps and overpasses). On our most recent trip this past week, we decided to try a River Tour (boat). It was really a lot of fun! It's about 40 minutes, you'll get to see all of the Riverwalk and best of all, you can really see/appreciate the buildings, take great photos, scope out places you'd like to try and learn some of the fascinating history of the river and it's buildings.

Our guide, Leon, was a hoot! He gave a lot of information and had a great sense of humor. Highly recommend this if you're in San Antonio.

** It should be noted that, while the tour normally runs every 30 minutes or so, if the weather is bad or if there's been a heavy rain, the boats will stop running and the ticket office will close without warning. We came to get our tour tickets on Friday morning (a few hours after a rain storm) and found the ticket kiosk closed and no one around to give info. The friendly yellow-shirted Tourist Information representative stationed nearby told us that the boats would not be running for the next hour or two while they waited for the water level to go down. If you're stuck in a situation like this, find an Info Rep (yellow shirts, yellow wagons - on most street corners) and ask. It might save you some time (and grief!).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank infamousmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wausau,
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This bus tour is a joke”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

$21 per person to drive around a few 'attractions' in a double decker bus. We wanted to go into the King William district to see the beautiful homes and we simply drove right by without stopping. We also did not stop at the tower of the America's as advertised. Would not recommend this to anyone. You could hop on and off wherever you wanted but it was not worth the $21.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The rio taxi is the best value in San Antonio”
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

The short guided tour is informational and enjoyable but the River Taxi is the best value. $15.00 for 24 hours, unlimited travel and the do the whole river. We did the three day pass for $25.00 and used it everyday. Don't miss this one!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 75montana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good tour!”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Definitely worth it and good for hop on / hop off. Covers the major sites and attractions and commentator was knowledgeable and entertaining.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maxi_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Boston
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour !”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We took the eight hour Grand tour and it was a really good choice. We were picked up and dropped off at our hotel which was a real plus. We saw the missions, Alamo, Japanese sunken gardens, Buckhorn museum, did the river cruise, and had time for lunch and some shopping. Our tour group was only 12 and our guide, Bob, was excellent.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Redlyn522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Antonio Tours also viewed

 

Been to San Antonio Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing