We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marathon detour”
Review of San Antonio Tours

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
San Antonio Tours
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Marathon detour”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I went to San Antonio for a marathon, since i try to travel diff places for running. I took a detour for this activity during my visit. I must say, it is one of the most beautiful views and well organized attractions i have ever attended. I recommend this for those who love the SW views and weather. Wear comfy shoes and a hat. Enjoy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peace River, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“San Antonio 101”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This bus tour provided a good introduction into the history and sights of San Antonio. We visited the Alamo, Mission San Jose, Mission Concepcion, Japanese Sunken Gardens, Market Square, Buckhorn Saloon & Museum and enjoyed a riverboat ride along the River Walk.
Lunch was on our own but the guide recommended the Menger Hotel, that had a good buffet for a reasonable price. As well, we toured this famous hotel to learn its history, including the fact Teddy Rosevelt and the Texas Rangers frequented this landmark.
Our guide was knowledgeable on the history of San Antonio and shared not just the facts, but stories to bring it alive. Very informative.
The Buckhorn Saloon & Museum was the last stop on the tour, good thing, because there was much to see and do there. Recommend one leaves the tour there and take time to explore this unique attraction.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank LynnP640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Really nice way to see the Riverwalk”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We have visited the Riverwalk a few times but found it to be a bit chaotic, especially trying to herd 2 smallish kids and a stroller through the crowds (and even more fun, up and down the numerous steps and overpasses). On our most recent trip this past week, we decided to try a River Tour (boat). It was really a lot of fun! It's about 40 minutes, you'll get to see all of the Riverwalk and best of all, you can really see/appreciate the buildings, take great photos, scope out places you'd like to try and learn some of the fascinating history of the river and it's buildings.

Our guide, Leon, was a hoot! He gave a lot of information and had a great sense of humor. Highly recommend this if you're in San Antonio.

** It should be noted that, while the tour normally runs every 30 minutes or so, if the weather is bad or if there's been a heavy rain, the boats will stop running and the ticket office will close without warning. We came to get our tour tickets on Friday morning (a few hours after a rain storm) and found the ticket kiosk closed and no one around to give info. The friendly yellow-shirted Tourist Information representative stationed nearby told us that the boats would not be running for the next hour or two while they waited for the water level to go down. If you're stuck in a situation like this, find an Info Rep (yellow shirts, yellow wagons - on most street corners) and ask. It might save you some time (and grief!).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank infamousmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau,
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This bus tour is a joke”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

$21 per person to drive around a few 'attractions' in a double decker bus. We wanted to go into the King William district to see the beautiful homes and we simply drove right by without stopping. We also did not stop at the tower of the America's as advertised. Would not recommend this to anyone. You could hop on and off wherever you wanted but it was not worth the $21.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JamieT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The rio taxi is the best value in San Antonio”
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

The short guided tour is informational and enjoyable but the River Taxi is the best value. $15.00 for 24 hours, unlimited travel and the do the whole river. We did the three day pass for $25.00 and used it everyday. Don't miss this one!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 75montana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Antonio Tours also viewed

 

Been to San Antonio Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing