We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #120 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

All the reviews I have read have some truth to them. Parts of the hotel need a facelift. It is obvious that it has been around for several decades. However our room was clean and had modern features. The service is top notch. Our coffee pot didn't work and a replacement arrived within 20 minutes of notifying the front desk. We left a valuable watch and a couple of rings in the bathroom which Housekeeping had. Carly, Guest Services, is sending them to us FedEx....the hotel staff gets high marks for integrity and helpfulness. We will return to this hotel!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Foodie_Crossing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

943 - 949 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night. My company paid, so I cannot comment on the value of room rates. This hotel is old. It is very festive with bright colors and a tropical mexico vibe. My room smelled like a steak dinner mixed with must. There is no central heat/air so each room is equipped with a small wall unit controlled by remote. I don't believe they clean the filters very often, which may be contributing to the smell. The decor is pretty modern, but I noticed water rings on the tv stand. The wallpaper seems to be bubbling in certain spots, and the paint on the bathroom door was chipping off, as well as the paint on the ceramic tub. The toilet is a larger one like you would find at Wal-Mart. Behind the toilet there are holes in the wallpaper, almost like there is no wall behind it. The beds are comfortable and I slept very well. Good location with taxis available to take you straight to the riverwalk for $6. The staff are nice, but not overly so. Overall, this is a lower end hotel, whose renovations fell a bit short.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Jesslikestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We enjoyed a three day family reunion at this peaceful spot, with much time by the pool and gathering in the lobby. Breakfast was great and there were restaurants and great views and shopping all along the river walk, which could entertain for days. We walked to the Alamo and dropped my mom's ashes into the river. It's a perfect honeymoon or couples getaway. I'd also like to have a convention there some day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We came to San Antonio in December and after looking at the website for the hotel thought it would be a good place.... Boy was I wrong! We were on the 3rd floor and all we heard until after 11pm was base from the music in party rooms below. We called the front desk but they didn't care that the thumping of the base was so loud it hurt your ears! Also it is very far from anything on the river walk. Taking the river route would be longer than a 20 minute walk to anything in the river. It's old and dirty. The carpets in the hall haven't been vacuumed and are all stained and dingy. Not impressed at all! DON'T waste your money it's more of a venue than a hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ds4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I live about 35 miles from downtown San Antonio. While I am able to drive downtown in about 40 minutes, my family and I opted to stay here to attend the Alamo City Comiccon. The rooms were a little small, and the carpeting does show the hotel's age. Our room was clean, however, so we have no complaints. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. We paid about $18 for overnight parking, but we were able to keep our car there until about 3:00 PM, which was okay with the staff. The hotel was a walkable distance from the Alamo and the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, so leaving the car in the hotel parking lot kept us from spending more money on parking. The lobby is beautiful. If you do stay, stay for the breakfast buffet. It's about $10 per person, and younger kids eat free, but it well worth it. The food is amazing!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsorchdork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This was our first time to stay at this San Antonio River Walk hotel and were delighted with its fun and festive atmosphere. From the parking lot attendant to the check-in host, all were very friendly and helpful. Our room had an updated bathroom and was exceptionally clean. Unfortunately our trip was less than 24 hours, so next time we hope to visit in warmer months to be able to take in restaurant and pool areas.

Room Tip: Pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebelblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The room was large ( handicapped room) with a fridge and microwave in a separate area. Large sliding glass doors opened to a small balcony overlooking the pool. The pool area was large, clean and attractive. Unfortunately it was unusable - freezing (trust me I have plunged into a river in the winter). There was a place to sit outside overlooking the river - but it is nowhere near the main attractions of the riverwalk. That is a 15 to 20 minute walk. Nearby is the beautiful Art school - the former Ursaline Academy. If you have time it is a few minutes walk to the grounds, chapel and gallery. M through F the "Copper Kettle" is open for lunch.
The staff was terrific, the room was very clean, and the lobby spacious. The old style brightly colored phones were a treat. The conference room was well lit and comfortable - again the staff was attentive to our needs.
If you are coming in from the airport take a cab. For an extra $5 ( above the price of the GO shuttle) it is worth a shorter more comfortable trip.

Room Tip: High up, poolside was very nice with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxydogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
2,006 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
2,001 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 110 Lexington Ave, San Antonio, TX 78205-1313
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: £67 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing