We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Time at EL Tropicano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #112 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time at EL Tropicano”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I was scared because of the mixed reviews on line. The first room we were given was not that great. We asked for a different room and the staff was accomodating. The second room was wonderful. Great pool with a wonderful pool bar. The Tiki Lounge was fantastic. Best Pina Colada and Mojito that we have had-fantastic bartender. The hotel was nice and clean and the Tiki Lounge overlooks the river walk. We upgraded to the Fun Pack and it was totally worth it for $30.00 more. Used the $30.00 in the Tiki Lounge-which was excellant. Parked the car and took the trolley into town to eat and see the sights. Also paid $10.00 for the river taxi and it was totally worth it. Combined with walking, the trolley, and the river taxi-we saw all of San Antonio-from King William, To SAMA and Matisse, to down town and the River Center Mall. Wonderful advice from the concierge about how to use the trolley, by texting. The staff really made the difference in making the trip one that was so/so to a fantastic experience. The hotel is on the river walk and I liked it a lot. Thanks El Tropicano for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Localyocal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    414
    277
    183
    159
See reviews for
401
427
61
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

The staff was very helpful and accomodating. Stayed for a week and enjoyed most things El Tropicano. Breakfast was tasteless for the price. The Tiki lounge was lively and fun good food and service. The pool bar was awesome and the pool time very relaxing and enjoyable. No complaints other then the breakfast. Don't miss the Tucan bird and tortoise past the lobby and breakfast area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MLT42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a great time. The room was always clean. The breakfast buffet was very good, as were the mango margaritas. Right on the riverwalk and within walking distance of the mall. Pete's Tako House a couple of blocks down was a great recommendation by the staff!

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking the pool
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Excellent, no words needed actually but I am going to anyway. Manager, Martha Bernal was awesome in helping us coordinate our Ambrocio & Simona Garcia family reunion from around the country. The staff was so friendly and very helpful. They responded quickly on all our needs. The hotel itself was clean, very festive in color along with salsa music which made you happy and excited to be in San Antonio Tx. The restaurant staff was very helpful with our families which were like about 80 of us. Always very helpful in accommodating us with tables for us to be together. We had lunch for the family in one of the conference rooms and the waiters were friendly and quick to respond on our needs. The parking was excellent, normally $18 but Martha gave us a special rate of $12. There are a few restaurants within walking distance, along with the river walk which this hotel is about the end of the river walk away from all the heavy tourist areas. There is a trolley that stops there and the front desk can also call a taxi for you. This hotel has a very pleasant and relaxing atmosphere. Overall I would rate it past a 10 and will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have a fridge and microwave so if you need one, you would have to ask for room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my time there the staff was very helpful and friendly ,the room was great, and the view was spectacular and I will be making reservations and going back there again. I highly recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and found the staff, helpful and courteous. It was a 10 minute walk to the Alamo and the main area of the riverwalk.The room was clean and the bed and bedding was soft and comfortable. The best part of the hotel was the pool and the pool bar. The pool area was busy with activity but there were plenty of loungers to accommodate guests. It was fun to sit out and listen to music, enjoy a cocktail, and people watch. I really enjoyed the retro vibe. It was a little different than other places we have stayed on the riverwalk. I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer Park, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

As usual our visit to the El Tropicana Riverwalk Hotel was a perfect stay. The staff is always very helpful and the rooms are always perfect. The hotel is very accommodating to all your needs and requests.

Room Tip: We love the second floor and the rooms that provide the river view and have access to one of the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#14 of 355 in San Antonio
1,096 reviews
East Side
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 355 in San Antonio
1,857 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#17 of 355 in San Antonio
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Property: El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
Address: 110 Lexington Ave, San Antonio, TX 78205-1313
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing