We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“less than a motel 6”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Inn at Market Square Downtown
Ranked #291 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
“less than a motel 6”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Not even close to the Riverwalk. Nasty looking rooms. Smelled moldy. Looked old and dirty. My dog would not even walk on the carpet.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rjs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gautamshah, General Manager at The Inn at Market Square Downtown, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
we here at the Days Inn Strive make every guest comfortable , please accept my appologies , We are in process of remodelling , (complete Face lift of the room along with the New carpet ) , We have already completed about 65% of the room . Rest is planned to complete before the end of the year . Also we do have specially assigned rooms for the guest with pet. Once again please accept my appologies & if future travel bring you to San Antonio ,i assure to offer best of our services .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    13
    16
    29
    105
See reviews for
70
36
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gent, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Hotel is very well located close to the Alama and the Riverwalk.
Good price for what you get.
We stayed for 3 nights in 2 rooms for two couples.
One room: no problems.
Other room: not well cleaned, problems with electricity (some lights did not work, no electricity at plugs). Nobody knew how to solve (except whennwe left!). The last night we were offered to move to another room, but we did not do it, because it was too late at night. The manager gave us a reduction on the bill as a compensation.
Although close to highway, no noise.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getting_around29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

Dallas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

I would not recommend anyone stay here. Is located right beside a traintrack and the trains run though all night - kept me awake. The front desk manager is very rude and even threatened me. I complained to the owner but he did not care. This hotel is in a bad area right off the freeway and I had panhandlers asking for money. Is not even close to the riverwalk as the name implies and I don't know how they getting away with having "Riverwalk" in their name.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outdoorguy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

My son stayed here with a school group for a state event. The hotel was dirty and in an unsafe neighborhood. He says he was afraid to lay his head down on the linens, and the carpet was filthy. The school wouldn't let the teacher book elsewhere because it was cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wldwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Booked this online with the title thinking it was close to the riverwalk. It's not though a short drive don't walk it's a bad area. Totally noisy!! Every room next to you - you can hear when they shower or flush the toilet. It was so loud I couldn't hear the tv on the loudest volume. I got stupid flyers shoved through the door all evening and even after 9pm - hello solisiters just walking around shoving things into the doors!!!! Boy I feel safe - NOT. Don't do it. Stay somewhere else. Spend a little more or drive a little farther at least you will not have to worry about noise and safety!!!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tupanajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Not even close to the Riverwalk. I got this hotel through Hotwire, and was really disappointed. Hotwire really needs to provide a safety rating and specify whether the hotel has interior or exterior corridors. We did not feel safe at this hotel. Arrived late and the manager had the lobby locked and we had to check in through a window outside while people were walking by on the street. When walking to the room, we had to go past two people arguing and cursing at each other on the steps. The room was ok. The plug in the bathroom did not work, so the hairdryer was unusable because it was attached to the wall. The hotel is near the freeway, and there is very little if any soundproofing. The cars were very loud. We would also hear the tv from the room below us. I would not recommend this hotel. If I had not prepaid for the room, I would have gone somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skilesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We went to San Antonio for a graduation at Lackland AFB, we went through 3 rooms before I finally just got my own cleaning supplies and cleaned myself. Due to booking through expedia they wouldnt give us any money back and expedia wouldnt do their part to make it better either. When we complained to the staff the man on nights told me he has never ever had a complaint on cleanliness before and that good clean people stay here, the daytime staff was very rude as well and unhelpful.. The staff refused to give me the owners name or email address and the general manager said he would authorize a 20% refund off everynight but then never followed through.

I have stayed at many Days Inns but this one ruined it for me forever. I have never in all my r=years of traveling, and this was our fourth vacation this summer alone, have I ever stayed in such a nasty run down motel.

Should the owner ever read this I truelly hope you follow up and do soemthing about your property

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollasmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Do...
#132 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Alamo Suites
#91 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
East Side
La Hacienda Inn Alamodome/Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Market Square Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Market Square Downtown

Property: The Inn at Market Square Downtown
Address: 1500 S Interstate 35, Exit 154B - Laredo St., San Antonio, TX 78204-1654 (Formerly Days Inn Downtown/Riverwalk)
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at Market Square Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Market Square Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Downtown/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Days Inn San Antonio
The Inn At Market Square Downtown San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing