We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service, Hard Beds, TVs Not Intuitive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport North
Ranked #184 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service, Hard Beds, TVs Not Intuitive”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I have written over 150 reviews on Trip Advisor; I hope you find my review helpful.

First, do NOT trust your I-phone's navigation to get you here...it thinks this hotel is across the highway.

To be honest, I am a regular Marriott customer, but chose this hotel trying to save a few bucks. There's a reason for the expression: "You get what you pay for..."

I pre-paid for 2 rooms on Hotwire.com for about $72 a night. I was traveling with my wife and 3 children. Upon arrival, I asked if one of my rooms could have a king-sized bed. I was told they were sold out of king rooms but they had a "king executive" available for a $40 upcharge per night. However, on their own website, the difference in price is $20. I think this is an unacceptable practice. The difference in price should be consistent with that is advertised.

The people working the front desk are not hospitable...I am not sure why they are in the hospitality industry. Nobody ever smiled nor greeted us on any occasion.

The beds were hard and uncomfortable.

The TVs have a weird programming, for example, CNN is "35.0". But if you just press in "35" you will get "35.1" which is an "infomercial channel". Took us several attempts to get CNN...just not intuitive.

The Coffee was watery.

The breakfast was ok...with sausages and eggs among the hot food available.

There is no local newspaper available...if you are here on the weekend, you are stuck with an old USA Today edition.

The bathroom fixtures are dated and the water pressure is poor.

Overall, since nobody at the front desk was nice or smiled, I wouldn't return just for that. Add in the fact their inconsistent policy on up-charges, I would never reward this hotel or its chain again.

Room Tip: Try a Marriott property instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevetanyaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport North, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear stevetanyaTexas,

Thank you for your review. All our guest comments are valuable and we consider them seriously in the consistent endeavor to improve the quality of our products and service.

We read with much concern about the unpleasant experience that you have encountered during your previous stay with us. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your expectations with regard to the room condition and for the poor customer care that you received. Further, I am truly sorry for the issues you had with our rates. We endeavor to meet all guests’ expectations at all times and regret that we failed on this instance.

We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class a world class experience. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Your feedback is not only essential but is also a helpful tool to measure the level of service we extend to our guests and at the same time provides us with an opportunity to improve our standards. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    24
    14
    3
    8
See reviews for
24
11
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I stayed here for work as it was close to my office in San Antonio. I was only there one night but was super impressed with the front desk staff. The woman who worked the night of June 5th AND was also working the morning of June 6th was so nice and friendly. The room was nice, the bed was comfy and the room was clean. The breakfast was included and was very good! The hotel is close to many places to eat and is convenient to highway 281. My only complaint was that the Constant Fan option on the AC unit in my room I guess was broken because it wouldn't work. The AC worked but without the constant fan option the AC would turn on and off and as a light sleeper it would wake me up. I will be visiting our San Antonio office often and will request that my corporate office book me here anytime I need to be in San Antonio.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exaslonghorn31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed at the hotel for the state bowling tournament. Arrived late and was impressed with the well lit parking lot and number of parking slots. Reserved the king executive room. Nice size room with a comfortable bed.The shower had a lot of water pressure. The breakfast was adequate, but nothing special. When in San Antonio I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

When on a business trip can usually never go wrong with a Holiday Inn Express. The same goes for this location. The only downside is the location along HWY 281. The traffic in the morning is terrible and it's a pain to have to drive a mile down the road to get to something directly across the street from the hotel. Otherwise the staff and rooms were just fine. No complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenJMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport North, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear GlenJMart,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the inconvenience our location may have caused you. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockessin, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We booked our hotel stay more than a week in advance so we were able to get a pretty good rate online that was nonrefundable. The confirmation email you get has an address that when plugged into google maps puts you much farther north than where this hotel actually is so we spent about 15 minutes trying to find it before we finally called and asked for directions. When I was checking in, the front desk staff noted that they have two addresses and that this happens frequently (in fact, someone called asking for directions while we were checking in). It is on a dead end road, but don't be fooled, it is butt up against the highway which was a little disappointing. The room was average, there was a hole that they had repaired in the bathroom but didn't repaint and the paint was chipping on the door. My biggest complaint about this hotel is that we heard EVERYTHING. When people walked out in the hallway we heard them, when our neighbor ran his shower we heard it, we heard the people walking above us, etc. This resulted in a restless nights sleep. Breakfast was really crowded in the morning and really didn't have the space nor food to accommodate everyone. There is a regular Holiday Inn a few more miles up the road that is more offset from the highway that I think we will try next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway and on the top floor, otherwise you'll hear everything abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

From the beginning the staff at the front desk who answered my call requesting directions, were rude. Saying that the GPS directions and the address provided were different, as if I should have known that! Our stay was subpar at best with tons of small issues like no shampoo, light bulbs burnt out, not enough towels, dust on lamps etc… By the late evening we discovered ants crawling on the night stand and that the refrigerator was not cooling anything. We called the front desk several times and were unable to get a hold of anyone. Finally someone promised to come up to the room and resolve the refrigerator issue, however no one ever came. We chose the hotel for the pool, which was nice, and the airport shuttle which was not available because it was the weekend (this was not stated anywhere on the site we used to book nor was it in the confirmation email as they claimed when we checked in).
My main disappointment and the reason for this negative review, is that despite some of the nice things, like allowing us to check in 15 minutes early and late checkout, no one apologized for anything. They acted as if by asking for simple items, things that should have been provided and were expected, we were asking too much. When I asked to speak with a manager or an assistant no one was available and the receptionist didn’t apologize for the inconveniences we had experienced.
The staff needs lessons in customer service. I never asked for anything extra and did not want anything more than someone to say, in a polite tone, “Oh sorry, let us fix that for you.”

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apwold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHG Care at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport North, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear apwold,

Thank you for the candid review of our property. I am pleased that you were able to check in earlier and were granted late check out as well. However, I'm sorry to see you received service that was less than satisfactory. Rest assured that your comments about the bathroom amenities and the light bulbs have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MÉXICO
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed only one night but definitely we want to return to this beautiful hotel.
First it is not over the avenue , you have to drive through an alley so the rooms are very quiet.
We were welcome by a very friendly girl at front desk. The hotel looks very new and smells so clean. We had room 210 and was really clean, the furniture is minimalist, very nice and spacious.
With mini fridge and micro. The breakfast was ok, the same at all HIE, but it had what you need to start your day.
It´s like 5 mins from the airport by car
Really want to go back in my next stay in San Antonio

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alnl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far North Central
Comfort Suites San Antonio North Stone Oak
Far North Central
Days Inn Suites San Antonio North/Stone Oak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far North Central
Courtyard San Antonio North/Stone Oak at Legacy
Far North Central
Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods
Far North Central
Comfort Suites Airport North
Comfort Suites Airport North
#235 of 358 in San Antonio
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport North

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport North
Address: 16315 San Pedro Ave, San Antonio, TX 78232-2236
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far North Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Airport North offers 67 hotel Rooms and Suites, all equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, work desk, 2 phones, one is a speaker phone. The hotel is just 5 miles from the airport and minutes from all of San Antonio's attractions. There is also complimentary high speed Internet access in all of the rooms and suites. Suites are equipped with all of the above, plus sleeper sofa. Upgraded suites with whirlpools are available. Included in the price of the room is a continental breakfast, consisting of cinnamon rolls, biscuits & sausage gravy, pastries, cereal, bagels, breads, fruit, yogurt, juices, teas, and coffee. On property we have: a 24-hour gift shop and convenience store; a 24-hour business center complete with fax, copier, PC, printer, and high speed Internet access; exercise facilities and sauna; heated outdoor pool and hot tub; guest laundry facilities; and complimentary airport shuttle. We are equidistant from both the downtown attractions (like the Riverwalk and the Alamo), and the two major theme parks (Sea World and Six Flags Fiesta Texas). We are only minutes from world class golf and shopping, as well as a variety of restaurants, movie theaters, and other leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport North Hotel San Antonio
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport North Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing