We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from this "Resort"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country
Ranked #79 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Please read this review. Especially if you are staying here with your family. This place is a two star resort at best. So many things are wrong at this place I will try and narrow down the worst.

1. We arrived at 6pm, check in is at 3pm. They said our room was not ready and would be ready shortly. We grabbed something to eat in the nasty bar area. Two sets of silverware had food on them wrapped in the napkin. It took at least 20 minutes to just get our drinks, never mind how long it took to just get a small snack. Finally we checked in at 8:30, yet had to wait another 30 minutes for the roll away, which I asked for during our reservation process.
2. Got up to take a shower the next morning, no hot water. Reported it, "Our boiler is not working." Boiler, what is this 1920? Got the kids ready to go to Sea World, and just to get out of this place. Sea World was great, do the Seafari. Got back to the resort around 6pm, guess what, room still not picked up. Called the front desk and asked them, got hung up on twice. Went to the front desk, told them the problem. No towels, room not picked up, and the guy just looked at me. Asked for the manager, this was the same guy from the night before, told him our problem, "What can I do for you?" this was his answer for everything. He said he was on it and would bring up the towels. He did.
3. My family went down to the pool area to cool off, the pool was just about as clean as our room, no towels, and when you ask for one, they tell you to bring your own from your room. The water is murky and milky, just overall gross. So we decided to head to San Antonio for dinner, walked back to our room, wet, room still was not picked up at least we had towels. Dried off went to dinner.
4. Got back from dinner, room was just barely made up. Let's just say, the bed was made, that was about it.

If you are going to Sea World STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE. Stay downtown and just make the drive, it is not that far, plus there are more places to eat, and things to do.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kltexnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,454 - 1,460 of 1,673 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed here while visiting SeaWorld, then stayed the weekend. I used HHonors points for part of my stay, which cut down on the cost.

Pros:
- great location with a convenient shuttle to SeaWorld
- friendly front desk staff
- three pools, a nice courtyard, outdoor fireplaces, play area

Cons:
- unfriendly restaurant staff
- no kid TV channels (eg Nick Jr)
- dirty/cloudy pool water

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigTxDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

This is not a resort although they try and represent it as such. They only give you two towels in a King room, you are constantly calling for more towels and they act like it is a haasle to get them to you. Ice machines on ALL FLOORS were broken, that is correct ALL FLOORS, I mean how can you not at least have one working ice machine in the whole "Resort". Pool water looked brown and nasty especially in the kiddie pool. The carpet in the room was filthy, turned my whole family's socks brown. As a Hilton Honors Gold member we recieved free passes the Breakfast buffet, so while my wife got ready one morning, my two year daughter and I went down to breakfast, we were seated in the patio area(the only ones in the patio area) and yep you guessed it NO ONE waited on us the whole time. So no water to drink, beause it is not on the buffet for some unkown reason, you have to get that from the waiter who never comes. When you two years old eats pancakes with syrup water comes in handy at clean up time. The only thing positive I can say about this "resort' is the Shuttle to Sea World is very handy, and the driver was very professional and full of good information about Sea World and the surronding area, but if you are expecting a resort you are going to be very dissapointed. There are lots of other options around and you can do better I promise.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Great service by all the staff. Had a few days of meetings and the staff was great!
Good food, and the Jr. Suite was really nice!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoneFishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Nice hotel, but too many kids for a 'spa' feel. Would have been nice if the lap pool was not a kiddie play area. The rooms are nice and very modern.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiggercubchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Chose this hotel because of location to Sea World. Hotel served it's purpose, but disappointed in the overall amenities for families. No free wifi. Service at front desk is very impersonal. Carpet in room very dirty; needs cleaning or updating. No fridge. No in-room microwave except in one public location in the hotel (can't remember exactly). Would not stay here again; there are better options nearby. Would not recommend this hotel to friends or family.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beach_fanatic007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I am a Silver Hilton Honors member so my expectation was this property would be in line w/ other Hilton resorts we've visited. It is anything but! This is NOT a resort! Runs w/ minimal staff. Pool bar area closed still on Memorial Day weekend when we were there because, I was told it was still off season. No pay per view in the rooms. Many things did not work. Lobby was filthy. Pool area poorly maintained. Seems as though they let many people use the pool area who are area residents but not hotel guests. Not up to scale with what I have come to expect from Hilton. Poorly managed. You can do better if your looking for a full service resort. This one is NOT it!!! Pass it up!

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
Thank Tamala63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Hyatt Residence Club San Antonio, Wild Oak Ranch
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#20 of 357 in San Antonio
2,078 reviews
Far West Side
Courtyard San Antonio SeaWorldR/Westover Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera
Far West Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Antonio Hill Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Antonio Hill Country

Address: 9800 Westover Hills Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78251-4125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#54 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#60 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £89 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Antonio Hill Country 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the views of beautiful courtyards, indigenous plants and landscaping at the Hilton San Antonio Hill Country. Relax at our hotel near SeaWorld, and enjoy the massive flagstone fireplace and cozy chairs. Conveniently located in one of San Antonio's premier communities, our Hill Country hotel is close to San Antonio attractions including Fiesta Texas, dining, and golf.Settle into a comfy room or suite with warm, Texas ranch-style decor. Find down-filled comforters, marble bathrooms, 32-inch LCD HDTVs and WiFi access. Spread out and get more room during your stay with our 50 spacious one bedroom suites featuring rainforest showers and garden tubs with spa jets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton San Antonio Hill Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Radisson San Antonio
Radisson Hill Country Resort
San Antonio Radisson
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing