We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book "The Great Getaway!" Will not return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Ranked #77 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Emory, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't book "The Great Getaway!" Will not return!”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I booked The Great Getaway which is a King Suite with breakfast included. When I asked about breakfast, the representative at the front desk said that breakfast wasn't included in my stay. I booked this directed through the hotel, and specifically asked if breakfast was included, and I was assured that it was. I was told that I could print off my confirmation in the business center to show that my stay included breakfast. The printer in the business center never worked. Another family was in the business center trying to print their confirmation to prove that The Great Getaway included breakfast. They had no luck either.
Also, the main pool was completely drained and closed the first day of our stay. There was no movie, and the pool bar was never open that I saw!
Each time I passed the front desk, I saw another guest there complaining of something! I will never return to this hotel!

Room Tip: The King Suite was a small, but nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wgt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSanAntonio, Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our property. I really appreciate the feedback you have given me and I will personally be going through each detail with my Management staff to make sure we do whatever we can to fix it. We are constantly upgrading all aspects of our hotel and I hope that you might try us out again in the future.
Kind Regards-Erika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    380
    249
    169
    148
See reviews for
790
203
45
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2011

1. Called before we got there and no one answered the phone. In fact, I'm on hold right now trying to get the bill corrected so that I can turn it in for reimbursement. I've been on hold 5 minute already.
2. Rooms are very small for this "resort".
3. Pool was not functional while we were there. I didn't need it, but the lap pool was full of little kids because the regular pool was empty.
4. The place is dirty! In the mornings, the elevators dirty. The floors were a mess. I understand the place is full of little kids because of Sea World, but there should be some housekeeping in the common areas, too.
5. The meeting room wasn't ready (as in they were setting up tables and chairs at 9 am) for a meeting that started at 9 am.
6. The restaurant is a joke. There was very little food left at 10 am for the buffet that wasn't over until 11:00. When we went back for lunch, there was still a huge mess from breakfast. And we were the only two people there for lunch, and it still took over 30 minutes to get a salad and a sandwich. Even the waitstaff said the restaurant was horrible and it was a bad place to work.
7. The ice machine on the fourth floor didn't work while we were there. When we asked the staff about it, they said it had been on the fritz "for weeks".

It's unfortunate that such potential is being so poorly managed. It's a nice building in a good location. It could be great with the right management, enough staff, and enough oversight. Right now, it's not worth the expense.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nunya_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSanAntonio, Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We apologize that you were unhappy with your stay. Your issues are being addressed with our Management Team and Staff. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Noisy with kids and barking dogs, poor service, out of food at the breakfast buffet, slow elevators. About the only plus is that it is close to Sea World - but so are other places that are much nicer - or cheaper! With few exceptions, the staff was unhelpful or downright rude. They didn't completely restock our room with towels and when we asked for more, were told they were all dirty and none were available. We overheard the staff say they were out of laundry soap. The ice machine on our floor was empty. Overall, I cannot recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DalTexTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSanAntonio, Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We apologize that your stay was disappointing to you. Due to out close proximity to SeaWorld, we expect many families traveliing with their children and family pets over the summer. I have shared your comments with the Management Staff and the matter is being addressed. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Kind Regards-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We arrived at 2:30 pm. Check in time given by priceline was 3 pm. They made us wait until 4 pm for check in. They told us priceline did not know check in time, but in a hostile way. In no moments they try any courtesy. The pool is very little. No towels at the pool, the washer and drier were not working. It took them more than two hours to bring the luggage to our room. We had to go in person to the front desk , and ask for our luggage . They did not try to apologize, or made any effort to assist us in an effective way. At the next day, we realize we did not have a single towel in the room. People in the front desk very rude.
This is not a Hilton like hotel. It was even better 4 years ago when it use to be a ramada in. I will not recommend or ever go back to this hotel. Better to stay in the competence, courtyard Marriott .

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSanAntonio, Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I have shared your comments with our Management Staff and the issues are being addressed. We hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed here 5 nights this past week. Our room was never cleaned! They do make your bed daily but that's it! The didn't vacuum. They didn't wipe down anything! TOWELS! What towels? Housekeeping left us a not 4 of the 5 days we were there saying they were out of towels and to call the front desk! WTH? Really?!?! One out of 5 nights there were towels at the pool. So my recommendation is if you are going to stay here, take your own towels!
The check-in staff was rude! The maintenance men were extremely nice and helpful!
I will not be staying here again! I was not impressed! Several people I spoke to nightly by the pool said the same thing, "We won't be back!"
Last year we stayed at the Marriott! It is awesome! The only reason we didn't stay there again is because the were booked!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darlingkristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSanAntonio, Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We apologize for the lack of service that you received at the front desk and housekeeping. I have shared your comments with our managment staff, and concerns are being addressed. This is certainly not typical at our hotel and it will be addressed. We hope to see you again the next time you are in San Antonio. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We spent two nights (a Friday and Saturday) at the Hilton Hill Country in late June 2011. We have three children; ages 9, 2 and 4 months. We had a suite, number 430, and our overall experience was very good.
We checked in on Friday evening around 7:45 p.m. This is one area where they could definitely use some improvement. I waited in a very long line. They did have every computer manned with an employee, and Aubrey was very friendly and helpful when I finally got to her, but this process took entirely too long. (When you’re tired from traveling and you have cranky kids, the last thing you want to do is stand in line in a hotel lobby.)
Our room was very nice. King bed – the most comfortable hotel bed I’ve slept on – and nice water pressure with plenty of hot water in both the walk-in shower and the jetted tub. I did notice that the hot water in the sinks did not appear to work, but it wasn’t a necessity for us so I didn’t call about it. Plenty of luxurious towels in the bathroom. Flat screen tv in both the bedroom and the living area. These two rooms are separated by a double door. One thing that my entire family noticed is how quiet and well insulated the rooms are. We never heard a sound from any of the other guests – no doors slamming, no traffic in the hall, etc. It was very, very quiet. We all slept very well. Room came with a mini frig, but no microwave. That would have been a nice feature for us to heat our baby’s bottles.
The free shuttle to Sea World is SO nice. It begins running at 9:30 a.m. (or thirty minutes before Sea World opens) and they take you right up to the front gates. No walking a mile across the parking lot; no paying $16/day in parking. They will also pick you back up from the front gates – the shuttle picks up on the hour. The drivers are all super friendly and very informative. They provide a lot of information about the local area and will also give you some “fun facts” about Sea World. You get to bypass a lot of the car traffic waiting to get in the Sea World parking lot as well.
We spent some time in the pool areas one evening. I agree with several other posts on here – the pool water was not as clean as I would prefer. However…I noticed a number of children who were not being well attended by their parents as well as several bar patrons bringing their beverages into the pool. These two factors almost inevitably increase the litter. The fire pits were very nice, and I saw a number of people roasting marshmallows. The “play area”/playground consists of one small climb-on playset with a slide.
Breakfast buffet was okay – nothing special – but they charge a whopping $14.95 per person. Unless you receive this as a comp for being a Hilton Honors member, I would definitely skip it. There are a number of restaurants nearby where you can eat equal or better food for MUCH less.
Local calls incur a service charge – it ends up being a little over a dollar with the taxes. We ordered a pizza one evening from a local pizza shop called Presto Pizza (their flier was in our room). I would also recommend skipping that. If I had known they were going to stick us for a buck plus on the phone calls, I would have used my cell phone. The pizza tasted like something served in a school cafeteria and took over an hour to get.
Housekeeping did a good job. Our room was clean and, when we left a note asking for extra blankets, they were there waiting on us when we got back from day one at Sea World. Our housekeeper (whose name I do not know, unfortunately) folded our two year old’s bedding and even “tucked in” his stuffed animal. We thought that was a very sweet thing to do.
I also agree with a few other posts that I would not necessarily refer to this place as a “resort”. We did not utilize the spa services, so I can’t attest to those, but this hotel was a bit smaller and did not offer the full array of services/amenities that I would refer to as a “resort”. However, if you’re going to Sea World, this is a convenient and nice place to stay. The shuttle is such a great time and money saver. If we return to Sea World in San Antonio, we will go back to the Hilton.

Pros: VERY comfortable bed, great shower and bath, extremely quiet rooms, free shuttle to and from Sea World, nice outdoor area with fire pits, free parking
Cons: VERY slow check in, expensive breakfast, charge for local calls, no free internet/WiFi in rooms, pool water could use improvement
Added tip: We found out after we checked out that there is a nice walking trail somewhere behind the hotel property.

Room Tip: Get a suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TruTexasGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSanAntonio, Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Thank you for your review. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you need a getaway! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2011

For $160/night was very disappointing to have people be so rude! We had to change rooms, not once, but twice. The first time was because when we pulled out the bed on the sleeper sofa for the kids (sofa was extremely worn to begin with, almost had holes), the bottom of the mattress had come apart and kids were falling through it. Also, the tub in the bathroom had jets that were completely black with mold, and didn't even work. Then, when i went to desk to see what we could do, the lady acted very bothered and rude to me. She did not even apologize, but only complain that there probably wasn't another room since this was the middle of summer!! :( So then after finally finding us another room, we came back from dinner to another drama. Our room was extremely hot because apparently the a.c. froze up in our room! Omg so annoying with 3 small kids and rude employees. So we had to move again. Never once offered a discount or anything. BUt i do have to add that the maintanance man on duty was so sweet to us. I wish i knew his name! Oh yeah, and the 90 dollars worth of food service food arrived 2 hours late!! No joke. And also expect to pay 10 dollars a day for wireless. Did not expect this from a hilton hotel. Spa was wonderful. Got to go on my way out. Thank god!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angeljunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#17 of 355 in San Antonio
1,859 reviews
Far West Side
Courtyard San Antonio SeaWorldR/Westover Hills
Far West Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lackland AFB/SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Staybridge Suites San Antonio Sea World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa

Property: Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Address: 9800 Westover Hills Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78251-4125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#60 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#60 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in one of San Antonio's premier communities, Hill Country Hotel & Spa is close to San Antonio attractions such as SeaWorld, Fiesta Texas, dining and golf.Take in the views of beautiful courtyards, indigenous plants and lush landscaping at the Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa. Appreciate a hotel that fosters a relaxed atmosphere featuring a massive flagstone fireplace and cozy sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Radisson San Antonio
Radisson Hill Country Resort
San Antonio Radisson
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing