We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go during the Off Season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country
Ranked #81 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed 1 February 2009

Maybe during peak season they have it together, but when we visited in October, the kid's pool wasn't kept clean (leaves and dead bugs everywhere) and the fountains and such had been dismantled. The staff was unhelpful, uninformed, and apathetic. Even when we complained about bedbugs, they offered us a discount on our NEXT stay. Yeah right.

We booked the "Family Package" which was to include a movie, pizza, and marshmallows for roasting. The check-in receptionist had no idea what we were talking about, but eventually found us our coupons. However, when we called down for the pizza, the room service attendant told us that they had never seen such a coupon! Same with getting the marshmallows at the front desk. And upon check-out, we noticed that they charged us for the movie!

We look back on our vacation to San Antonio as a wonderful family memory, but the hotel experience kept it from being perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ForeignBody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,533 - 1,539 of 1,675 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2009

we booked a 3 night stay on the net. we were driving from Missouri so we were not arriving until around 3 in the morning, but we emailed ahead to let them know. When we got there at 3, we had been kicked out of the system and our room had been booked. We were given a jr suite for the night (we reserved a suite). but in the morning they had taken care of it and we were ableto switch rooms and stay in the suite we reserved. it was very irratating becase we had thought we were 'safe' with the reservation but it worked out and the Mizzou Tigers won th Bowl Game!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cremermizzou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2008

Note: This property is changing to a Hilton on 1/1/09. I would give this a 4.5 stars, but that is not an option. The lobby area was very nice, and it looked like there was a really nice outdoor seating area. Check in was quick and friendly. The room was very nice with great linens, and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on! We got a first floor room that overlooked an outdoor area. The bathroom finishes were nice with granite counters and nice large tub/shower. We used the fitness center, which had very nice equipment and overlooked the pool.

Negatives: the lobby bar was closed at midnight when got back for the evening. We would have like to have had a nightcap. I could hear the water turned on in the room above us very early in the morning. I think this noise comes from the sinks. Ours was loud too.

Positives: Beautiful lobby, very nice rooms, fitness area in a spa-like environment.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2008

My husband had to be at the Radisson for business so my daughter and I went along for the fun of it (school was out for the week of Thanksgiving).

It is a nice place but lacking in service and quality. There were never towels out at the pool -- always had to ask and then wait for them. November weather was nice enough to swim but you need a towel!

They only lit two of the four fire pits until we ask that another be lit -- there was a crowd out there. We didn't see the face painting or crafts other reviewers mentioned. The juice bar at the pool was always closed so we have no idea if it was nice or not.

We had a suite with two TVs. One worked off an on. The hotel engineer that came to check on it said they were installing flat screen tvs on the higher floors. We didn't have those. We did not have a sleep number bed either -- ours was old and awful!

We booked a package that gave us free breakfasts, smores kits, a pizza and a movie. The buffet breakfast was average but not great. After we filled our plates, the fruit tray was emptied and never refilled even though some guy in a chef's hat walked by it three times. The one day the buffet was closed and we ordered off the cart the food was not good at all -- stale sweet rolls and muffins and pancakes so thin and pale that I would not have served them at my house! The pizza was good but ended up being added to our bill. It was removed by the clerk at check out very reluctantly.

We didn't see many workers at all. The bar and restaurant always seemed empty. We never saw anyone that looked like a manager. Overall our experience was very marginal.

We were not there for Sea World but did see a few families that had been there. There was a soccer tournament going on the weekend before Thanksgiving so we were treated to young girls playing soccer in the hallways very late that Saturday night. By midnight they were finally kept quiet. After that bunch left, Sunday and Monday and Tuesday were much better.

My husband is going back to San Antonio this week again for business -- he is staying somewhere else this time.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mugzy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

The hotel is about 16 miles out of San Antonio and out in the country so if you have no car, you are stuck. It is an uninteresting box-like structure from the outside with a functional appearance. However, inside it is luxurious, with excellent air-conditioning. I stayed in a suite with a seoarate living area, bedroom, bathroom and toilet. It was all very comfortable. The bedroom air conditioning had an annoying little buzz to it which was a bit distracting during the night but otherwise I could not fault the facilities. The week I was there, the dining room did not seem to be used much but the food we had at lunch time in the form of a buffet in the bar area was excellent quality. The staff were really friendly and helpful. I took the courtesy bus from the hotel one day to the nearby Sea World and had a marvellous afternoon watching the dolphin, killer whale and seal shows. It is a must for anyone in that area.
Outside the hotel there is an area wih swimming pools and a hot dip pool which all looked to be attractive with gardens in an enclosure. Unfortunately, the week I was there the weather was pretty awful and so no-one was swimming.
It is quite an expensive hotel and even though I was there on a company discount scheme, it came to over $170 per night for just the room (including taxes). A short walk up the road there is a petrol station at the back of which is Rudy's. It is a totally unpretentious eating place where you queue up for absolutely wonderful roast meat, stuffed into slices of bread with some Texan side dishes. Including a beer, it didn't come to more than $10. Next door there is a slightly higher class eating joint so there was no need to spend a lot of money at the hotel if you didn't mind eating at wooden tables under the stars. Wonderful.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jnats1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

We stayed at the Radisson Sea World for a long weekend ending 9/20/08.
We had regularly stayed at this hotel, and the staff had always
been one of the friendliest of any hotel. The only problems we ever
had was the that all the rooms have airbeds and some are very noisy,
don't work well, and if the adjustments are wrong it can ruin your back.
They also close the pools at the drop of a hat and there is no clear
chain of command on how they re-open them...they all say something
different, so you can make plans after someone says there're not going
to re-open then find it open ten minutes later. Once we checked the local
radar and it was "clear" but they kept the whole complex closed for hours
on some "30 minute lightning rule"...when there had been none. The internet
was all wired and the terms seemed frightening, but this was minor.
There was also a big shortage of luggage carts and bell hops. We made
multiple long trips from a hilly parking area and up elevators.

This week was a series of yellow ozone days, with Radisson's
addition of the ritual wood fire pits next to the pool for smore roasting.
When low pressure atmosphere kicks in it makes everything
linger around the ground, so if you can tolerate wood smoke it might be
a blessing since the mosquitoes had already forced us to move three times
further away from the pools, finally into the midst of the smog.
It was a relief from the cigar/cigarette stench surrounding the hot tub area that covered
the pool grounds. Despite the fact that these facilities are "heated" all but
some water-winged toddlers were huddled in the hot tub...and they got out
quickly as the parents couldn't tolerate the water to swim with them.

All of this would have been forgivable if it weren't for the "shuttle".
The "every 15 minute" morning shuttle had people abandoning their plans and
driving, preferring to pay parking at Seaworld than wait. The main desk where there was one employee servicing a line was no help.
One "cruised right by" the pickup point, and later we saw it do it again through
the fence as we were walking toward the front of the SeaWorld resort. It had always taken
all of 5 minutes to get from the property to the SeaWorld dropoff/pickup point, and
this day was no exception once the shuttle decided it might take anyone.
From 5-6PM+ we sat at the SeaWorld return curb point and watched
no less than four Fairfield shuttles stop before a single Radisson van. The first two
times "our van" arrived there were so many desperate patrons they
"moved the pickup point" 50, then 100 feet up from the pickup
sign where they waived frantically to hail the driver who would stop and load full, as
those of us who had waited one hour+ got completely ignored. One patron
walked up to the driver and threatened to write corporate over this and we heard
the driver plea for more shuttles on his cell phone. During this time
many angry stranded families paid taxis back to the Radisson as their children
complained in loud voices, waited to eat, and avoided going to the bathroom out of
fear of missing the van. The one we finally got on still left people stranded.
When we got back to the hotel we again noted the second shuttle was still in front
where it had been parked that morning.

Hilariously, when we checked out there was a bogus bar charge on the bill
incurred while we were all sitting on the ground at Seaworld for 1+ hours.
Radisson management removed it, and we thanked them for all that extra time
we could have been in the park instead of sucking ozone on curbs in 90+ heat. The
hotel parking lot was full yet one shuttle sat unused the whole time
while throngs of waiving desperate families paid cabs to hurry back and
to huddle in an overflowing hot tub.

I want to add two things: the shuttle drivers did their best to overload vans
to the point where it seemed dangerous: the trip "to" they put a huge unrestrained
stroller in the front passenger seat (one rear ending might equal the first adult death by
flying stroller in history); on the way "from" it was 5 people per bench seat and lots of
lap sitting with no seat belts. Nice intent, bad business.

I submitted this review 5 weeks after this trip yet this as well as previous
stays had not been credited to my Radisson points account. A call changed that easily.

I learned three things: 1) ask "heated to what temperature?", and 2) watch your statement/points, and 3)try the Fairfeld – we saw their shuttle so many times we stopped counting.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ladylaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

This was our second time at the Radisson resort in San Antonio. The facility is fantastic as I've commented on before, but this time, likely due to it being off-season for Sea World and Six Flags, the staff was definatley not up to par. After a long day at Sea World we arrived at the hotel, checked in, then went to the hotel restaurant at Six o'clock. We waited at the hostess station for ten minutes and nobody came up or sat us. I had to go to the door of the kitchen, peak my head in, and ask if they were open and if we could be seated. A minute later someone appeared with a scowl on their face then sat us. We were rushed through dinner and seemingly hurried out (e.g. we were not even asked if we wanted a dessert, coffee, etc).

The second issue was that we called down for a few extra pillows when we arrived. After dinner, enjoying the campfires on the patio, having a few smores with the kids and watching the outdoor movie, we returned to the room a few hours later and no pillows were delivered. I called the front desk and inquired if it was possible that I get a few extra pilows given that we were travelind wtih our children. Thirty-minutes later, no pillows, no call, etc. I called the front desk again and asked if anyone was working in housekeeping that day. I was told that somebody would check if housekeeping was in. At that point I offered to ride down the service elevator myself and get the pillows from storage if the hotel staff was too busy to assist (to note: the hotel was definatley not at capacity given a relatively empty parking lot tht day). A few minutes later a few pillows arrived. Its disappointing that after the second call sto the front desk someone from housekeeping didn't call the room and leave us a message or tell us that they got the request and would be helping.

That eveing we discovered the A/C was not working in the room. The thermostat read 65 degrees, but the real temp was 75 degrees (my travel clock has a thermostat in it that works quite well).

The next morning we went back to the resturant hoping for better success. The waitress was quite pleasant but the food was a different story. One of my kids ordered pancakes. They arrived room temperature and were completley hard on one side...to the extent that my wife couldn't cut through with a butter knife. We asked for the pancakes to be remade....4 minutes later a new plate comes out...this time, not hard, but not hot.

At checkout, we politely paid the bill, but were suprised that the desk attendant didn't even ask us how our trip was. I was suprised and was prepared to politely let them know of the issues I experienced as that was definatley not the case in my visit earlier in the year.

I'd give the facility 8 out of 10 and the staff/service 3 out of 10.

We'll likely not return...better service at the Hyatt!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1connection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Hyatt Residence Club San Antonio, Wild Oak Ranch
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#20 of 357 in San Antonio
2,081 reviews
Far West Side
Courtyard San Antonio SeaWorldR/Westover Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Wyndham Garden San Antonio near La Cantera
Far West Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Antonio Hill Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Antonio Hill Country

Address: 9800 Westover Hills Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78251-4125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#54 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#60 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £88 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Antonio Hill Country 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the views of beautiful courtyards, indigenous plants and landscaping at the Hilton San Antonio Hill Country. Relax at our hotel near SeaWorld, and enjoy the massive flagstone fireplace and cozy chairs. Conveniently located in one of San Antonio's premier communities, our Hill Country hotel is close to San Antonio attractions including Fiesta Texas, dining, and golf.Settle into a comfy room or suite with warm, Texas ranch-style decor. Find down-filled comforters, marble bathrooms, 32-inch LCD HDTVs and WiFi access. Spread out and get more room during your stay with our 50 spacious one bedroom suites featuring rainforest showers and garden tubs with spa jets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton San Antonio Hill Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel And Spa
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Radisson San Antonio
Radisson Hill Country Resort
San Antonio Radisson
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing