We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Wonderful Hotel, one of our Best Vacations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Ranked #68 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Wonderful Hotel, one of our Best Vacations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

The Hilton Hill Country Resort and Spa exceeded our expectations. We usually stay at the Westin La Cantera however because our plans included Sea World we decided to stay at the Hilton due to the proximity to the park and the shuttle service available. Have to say the customer service, childrens activities and rooms were better than at the Westin (which we have seen decline in the past 5 years). The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable, the bathrooms were very large which is great when traveling with kids. This is a perfect family resort. My children looked forward to returning to the hotel every evening to roast marshmallows and watch movies under the stars. This gave my husband some down time to have dinner and drinks out on the gardens and we could still keep an eye on our kids. We also had massages at the Spa and had a great experience with friendly service. Also note that we purchased through priceline at an amazing rate and were not charged an additional $50 for 2 queen room . Great vacation, would highly recommend .

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vac45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    375
    240
    162
    136
See reviews for
761
201
43
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

This was the worst Hilton we have ever stayed at! We are Hilton Diamond members and stay at lots of Hiltons as well as other resorts all over! This is by far one of the dirtiest, poorly run hotels I have ever visited.
When we arrived we were happy with the appearance of the hotel and lobby, but when we got to our room, it was disgusting! We had a one bedroom suite and the furniture was filthy! The stuffing was coming out of the couch, the closet doors were missing. They had been pulled right off the hinge and never replaced. The curtains were even disgustingly dirty. We asked to be moved to another room and the next room was still filthy but an improvement. We got settled in and took the kids to swim. The pools are VERY small, but we enjoyed the swimming. The next morning we got up and went to the breakfast buffet which was included. It was not good at all! The pancakes were hard and dried out and no one seemed to care. Then we went to the pool and stayed for couple of hours, left and came back later in the afternoon. I have never seen so many drunk adults in one place. There were empty beer cups all along the edge of the pool, this place looked like a frat house! There were children jumping off the stone wall, which had they have fallen on the other side (15 ft down) it would have been a disaster. I think the parents were the ones that were overserved! We pointed this out to the management because we did not want anyone hurt!
The next morning we got up, fed the kids breakfast and then went back down to the pool. There was so much trash left over from the day before, cups, cigarette butts, straws, empty cigarette packs, lime wedges. It was a dump! We called the manager and let them know and they did send people out to clean up, but only partially cleaned it up. The bathrooms were disgusting as well, no one had even bothered to clean them! The snack bar at the pool said it was opening at 11. It did not open until 2, so you could not get any service by the pool.
This place was just a real disappointment. There were even people swimming in their clothes! I guess if you forget your bathing suit, you just swim in your clothing!
I would not recommend this place to anyone! We were so very disappointed. If you are looking for a nice, upscale hotel to take your children to play, do not go to this place!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UTHorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

This is a great place for the family and is so close to Sea World. I felt that the children were safe and well entertained. The staff was great! We will be staying here again!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

Got the hotel on Priceline for a decent rate, for the money the hotel was okay. Location is far north so unless you plan on going to the parks. Room was comfortable, service was okay, nothing specatular.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oyster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

Stayed one night and on the tip of the front desk found a great BBQ place just down the street which really hit the stop. The rooms were comfortable and the beds were awesome. Overall, although a short stay, we found the Hilton a great place to stay

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizziebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

Don't let the "Spa" in the name fool you -- this is hardly a resort-like hotel. We stayed here accidentally because I got this property confused with the Hyatt Resort nearby, but once we arrived the Hyatt was sold out so we gave this one a chance. Our first impression was the absence of bellmen and valet staff, so I grabbed a bell cart and took care of things myself (and I'm no diva, but I do enjoy being pampered if I'm going to book a "nice" hotel.").

I must say that unlike most guests at the Hilton, who are just there to sleep in between SeaWorld jaunts, we went with two very simple goals -- stay one night, hang out by the pool with our 6-year old, and order room service and watch movies. The front desk clerk was unfriendly and apathetic, and booked us in a non smoking room that reeked of smoke. We got "upgraded" to a 5th floor room that was smokeless, but aside from the two comfortable beds the room was nothing to speak of.

After moving rooms, we headed down to the pool. I must warn you that if you're wanting an adult-only pool (which they say they have on their property map), forget it -- the lap pool intended for adults was packed with kids, and the main pool is very small. Also, the hotel promoted a heated lap pool and there was only one solar coil working so the heated pool was cold. The hot tub attached to the pool was semi-warm with no working jets and pretty murky. I will say that if you have toddlers who can't swim there's a pretty nice wading pool that was clean on the opposide side of the main pool area. I will say that the maintenance guys we talked to about the cold lap pool were all very friendly and professional. It seems they hire very good employees at this property but it's obvious that the hotel is run on a shoestring budget.

After time in the crowded pool, we went up for an early room service dinner and movies. We were baffled to find that they have no movie options in the room! What?! The only "movie" option in-house was a conference room downstairs, where you're forced to sit in uncomfortable hotel conference chairs watching outdated Scooby Doo cartoons.

As for food, we ordered room service for dinner and it was mediocre at best. The kids' pizza was your typical frozen pizza from Costco, and the burgers for the adults were served on soggy buns. We had breakfast included in our package, and the one restaurant on property besides the pool grill is mediocre (with excellent wait service, however -- again, great employees for the most part but you can see they're cutting corners left and right).

If your goal is a clean place to stay while taking your kids to SeaWorld and your expectations are low, then you'll be fine here. However, if you're expecting a Hilton hotel -- this was unlike any Hilton I've ever been and felt more to me like a Comfort Suites.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austexmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

We booked the hotel through Priceline for a great nightly rate.
It is only a minute or two off the freeway very near Sea World.
We checked in on a Thursday afternoon. The lobby was large and looked great. The looby overlooks the bar area which also looked roomy and inviting.
On the way to the room we noticed a few stains on the carpets, but nothing that looked terrible. We had a pool view (no balcony) king room. The room was cozy and quite, the bathroom large enough for the two of us to have all our things and still get ready without tripping over each other. The bed was very comfortable including a very warm puffy comforter. The flat screen TV was a big one, but I dont know what size. The curtains kept the light out really well. I dont remember hearing any noise from the hall or nearby rooms other than a random door closing once in a while.
The two swimming pools provided enough room so that when we wanted to swim we werent overrun by the kids enjoying themselves. There were a good number of children there probably b/c of the closeness to Sea World.
The courtyard had 4 fire pits with nice furniture around each of them. It is a quite outdoor patio that is easy to relax in. The front desk sells smores kits for $4 for everyone.
The bar had regular happy hour specials and the prices were very good considering it was a hotel bar. The only think I did not like: the pool area doesn't allow glass. That I can understand, but the happy hour specials do not apply at the pool bar and the regular bar wont give you plastic to go into the pool. One of the staff told me that I could not bring any drinks from the other area into the pool. Not a big deal, but I still say boo on the hotel for having two different prices for its two bars.
On Friday night the hotel must have been sold out. I believe this because there was absolutely NO parking. There were cars parked in fire lanes, curbs, handicapped spots... you name it. We complained at the front desk and their solution was to park in the "gravel lot" where the employees park. The lot is not improved nor lighted and there is no sinage telling you that it is even a lot. I agreed and once parked there noted that there was only ONE vehicle parked in the lot. A hotel that size must have had 15 -20 staff on had at that time, yet only one vehicle parked in the lot. We then complained about that and recieved agreement from the front counter staff and promises that "management" would be informed. We got a free smores kit for our trouble. The next morning there were still cars parked everywhere including illegal places, yet our car and one other were the only two in the gravel lot.
The rest of the time the staff was attentive, pleasant, even chatty at times.
I would definitely stay there again, but if parking was an issue I would just give the front desk my keys and ask them to figure out the parking situation.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yardhippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#17 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Far West Side
Courtyard San Antonio SeaWorldR/Westover Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lackland AFB/SeaWorld
Far West Side
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lackland Hotel & Suites
Far West Side
Staybridge Suites San Antonio Sea World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa

Property: Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Address: 9800 Westover Hills Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78251-4125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#60 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#60 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in one of San Antonio's premier communities, Hill Country Hotel & Spa is close to San Antonio attractions such as SeaWorld, Fiesta Texas, dining and golf.Take in the views of beautiful courtyards, indigenous plants and lush landscaping at the Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa. Appreciate a hotel that fosters a relaxed atmosphere featuring a massive flagstone fireplace and cozy sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Radisson San Antonio
Radisson Hill Country Resort
San Antonio Radisson
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing