We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)
Ranked #80 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel very much. The staff members were very accommodating to all my needs, & they made the trip a real pleasure for me. The hotel was clean, the breakfast was great, AND it meets the needs of just about every diet! Close walk to the Alamo & the San Antonio Riverwalk. Very close to the freeway so great access. I'll go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Renae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel over Memorial Weekend and had over $2000 of personal items stolen from our room. Hotel security is a joke, housekeeping leaves the master keys unattended on their carts. Front desk is willing to make new room keys without any form of identification. Would not suggest this hotel or chain to anyone.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
9  Thank tickedoffguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Easy walk to downtown, Alamo and the Riverwalk. Clean & comfortable. $15 parking fee is a negative. One of the better Hampton breakfasts. Nice value! That's all folks. It this 200 characters TripAdvisor?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I've stayed here several times. Always a clean room and a friendly staff. The breakfast is good too. I like that this place is close to the River Walk and I can also park in a secure lot. Good walking distance to everything. Would recommend to anyone looking for an affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDF501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

4day conference spent there with good amount of time in hotel room just because I liked it. Am finicky about my mattress but the bed was so very comfortable. I had a corner room with a view of the river!

Room Tip: Corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackstarryskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I reserved a King room with double sofa sleeper however I checked in to a standard king (we had 4 adults staying). I was told they were completely booked so nothing they could do to help. Had to call customer service (the staff suggested I use my cell when I asked for a phone) after filing a complaint a room opened up. It had a single sleeper and one of our party had to sleep on an air mattress. Old hotel, not worth the $290/night they charged me

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
5  Thank 279craigj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed for 4 nights on business. I was impressed with the 3 corner mirror in the bath, it made getting ready easier for a very nearsighted person. The bath was quite compact but efficient. The room has a nice touch of uplighting behind the wall containing the desk and closet. The light is great for a night light when you return or just to have on with the television. The air conditioning unit has an unfortunate rattle that occurs in the middle of the night and I kept forgetting to mention it to the front desk. It only happened at night. The room overlooks the pool and is well away from the elevators. I am used to a softer bed and found these just a bit hard. The bedding was nice with 4 decent pillows. It is away from the river walk and my friends that were staying at the Marriott insisted on walking a single older lady back to the hotel as the neighborhood doesn't feel safe later in the evening. I was very comfortable walking to the hotel in the day time but did appreciate an escort at night. The breakfast room was spacious and had a good assortment of standard breakfast food and make your own waffles. It was a wonderful scent in the morning. the coffee was good too. The staff did a great job of greeting the guests and I overheard many compliments about how helpful they were.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xterrared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Best Western Premier Historic Travelers Hotel Alamo/Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)

Address: 414 Bowie Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#64 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £72 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 blocks from the River Walk, Rivercenter Mall,and the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. Around the corner from the Alamo, the Hampton Inn San Antonio-Downtown (River Walk Area) is ten minutes from the San Antonio International Airport. Settle into a comfortable guest room with thoughtful amenities for work and relaxation. Enjoy free high-speed internet access, type away on the handy lap desk or curl up in front of the in-room TV. Start the day right with Hampton's free hot breakfast served daily from 6a to 10a. Stay connected on the lobby computer with free high-speed internet, fax and photocopying. Enjoy a workout in the fitness center or swim in the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk) Hotel San Antonio
Hampton Inn Downtown San Antonio
San Antonio Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk) Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing