We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel with a lot of heart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Northeast
Ranked #111 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel with a lot of heart”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

For more than a decade I spent one or two nights away from home for work, mostly in Europe. I had more than enough of business hotels full of suits, who *never* talk to you. Also had enough of high-end hotel staff who see you every week, but don't remember your name.

This is NOTHING like that.

At this small cheap hotel (if I'm honest, just a small step up from a motel) staff are always very friendly and helpful. The other residents are likewise friendly - lots of families visiting loved ones in the Military (there are several large military camps in the area) and also troops in transit. I had more friendly chats in this hotel than in any of the $300-a-night places I used to stay at back in the day.

Downsides: in the middle of nowhere if you don't rent a car
Upsides: room rates include big cooked breakfast and free 3 x beers and snacks each evening

Room Tip: Lifts are slow, so I would suggest a 2nd floor room (to escape the noise) and then take the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_of_Henley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    28
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
17
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Bliss,TX
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We checked in on Tuesday the young lady at the front desk was very nice and she explained everything to me as far the pool and the kickback and the free drinks! When we got to my suite it was very nice and clean. The kickback was pretty good and the young lady serving the food and drinks was so friendly,loved it!!!The best part of this stay was when i made my reservation i forgot to tell the lady that i have a dog,so i went back to the desk to let them know and i pullled out my card expecting to pay a pet fee but she said there was no fee.So I was supprised and relieved that a hotel that looks this nice and offers so many extras would not charge a pet fee,I love the Drury Inn!!!!

Room Tip: Call the toll free number and ask about the specials such as EZ Saver
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgoodwin1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I stay almost exclusively at Drury Inns. The Northeast San Antonio location had the same consistently high level of service and room fit-and-finish that I've experienced elsewhere. One big problem: it's near an active railroad line. Was woken each night a few times by the sound of a train horn. This issue has been noted by a reviewer of the next-door Pear Tree Inn (a sister Drury Inn property). San Antonio has several Drury Inns. Will pick a different location next time.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank heyheymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Some of the previous reviews are NOT for the Drury Inn Northeast, but for the Drury Inn on the Riverwalk. That being said, this Drury Inn provides the basics for a traveler: clean room with a hot meal in the morning. We arrived Sunday night, Jan. 30, and there was a hot meal. Monday morning, Jan. 31, there was breakfast. Again, the basics, but good coffee, scrambled eggs, cereal, yogurt, bananas, etc. The room was very clean, and the staff was friendly and courteous. I would stay here again. Don't get confused by the other Drury hotel in front of this one that sits directly on the I-35 access road.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWell040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, NC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

What a great hotel! Character, undercover parking, lovely accommodations, and within walking distance to everything! For the money, you can't do better than the Drury adjacent to the River Walk. A perfectly suitable breakfast with great coffee, and an after-5 happy hour that features outstanding hotel, heavy hors deauvers that can easily substitute for dinner. We sampled the local cuisine at lunch (with considerable savings,) visited the hotel happy hour, then went out for late-night snacks. Worked out beautifully. You DO pay for parking, but with what you can save on restaurants, the over-all value is as glood as it is going to get.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LuvThe'Banks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stayed at this Drury Inn for 2 nights. The room was extremely clean, fresh and comfortable. Bathroom was sparkling clean and had good lighting for applying makeup. Beds were comfortable and everything (TV, lights, AC, faucets, and drains) were in good working order. The breakfast was wonderful, with a larger than average area to dine, and the light snacks and 3 drinks (wine, beer or margaritas) allowed per person that were provided free from 5:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. were adequate enough for a light dinner. All of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and there were many employees on duty making sure that everything ran efficiently. This place was better than many of the more exclusive hotels in which we have stayed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wine0wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

I'd never even heard of Drury Inns until our recent tour to San Antonio. Stayed there 3 nights, and was very impressed. Clean, comfortable, quiet rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. Free happy hour (and no tip jar either!), free snacks, hot breakfast, soda and popcorn available all day - what else could you want? Wireless internet was very easy to access. Will definitely look for Drury Inns for future travel.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K9pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio
Northeast San Antonio
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio / Northeast I35
Northeast San Antonio
Comfort Suites North IH 35
Comfort Suites North IH 35
#188 of 355 in San Antonio
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast San Antonio
Best Western Windsor Pointe Hotel & Suites-At&T Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Northeast

Property: Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Northeast
Address: 4900 Crestwind Dr, San Antonio, TX 78239-2454 (Formerly Hampton Inn San Antonio Northeast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Northeast 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Northeast features comfortable rooms and many free extras every day, like a hot breakfast every morning and hot food and cold beverages every evening at our 5:30 Kickback(R). It is just a short drive away from the city's biggest attractions including the San Antonio Riverwalk, San Antonio Zoo and Splashtown San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Northeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites San Antonio Northeast
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Northeast Hotel San Antonio
Drury Inn San Antonio
Drury San Antonio
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Northeast Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing