We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel and Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods
Ranked #98 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Harker Heights, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Hotel and Good Value”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I recently stayed at the Hampton Inn Northwoods in San Antonio. The property is a Hampton Inn versus "Inn and Suites", so it does not necessarily have many of the amenities that you find in an "Inn and Suites". However, it is close to the major North-South artery (Highway 281) as well as the outside loop around San Antonio (Loop 1604). The king size bedroom was very nice and well taken care of. I like staying on the south side of the building (facing the bank) as it is a bit more quite than the North side (facing the access road of 1604 and the "Tilted Kilt" restaurant. Staff were very pleasant, professional and helpful - which is always a big plus. I appreciated their attention to my questions and their immediate service.

Room Tip: As I mentioned - the side towards the bank (South side) of the building is a bit quieter. I always a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donktex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    77
    46
    25
    20
See reviews for
146
54
24
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Excellent place to stay in San Antonio. Easy access to the city, shopping, etc. Easy on and off the freeway once you get the freeway system in San Antonio. I would definitiely recommend this location. We kind of stumbled on to it and it ended up being the nicest place we stayed during our 10 day trip to Texas. We have always liked Hampton Inns and this one exemplifies why we like Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Weekend visit to SA. Thought it was a very nice place. Checked in around 3pm, my room was on the third floor and it had a king size bed with Tv, microwave and small coffee maker. Room smelled clean and fresh. Only real issue was the pool, the number of blooms from the live oak trees made it look kinda green and it was not fitering them out properly.Elevator moved very slow, could have walked up to my room faster. Slept well that night and the curtains made the room almost pitch dark, with very little light from the hallway,very quiet too. Breakfast was ok, person working that area was very nice. Overall one great place. Staff was very friendly too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cds72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acworth, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I visit San Antonio a few times a year for business. I always stay at this Hampton location, friendly staff, clean rooms and many restaurants and shopping to choose from. Great location for the business traveler.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I used to stay at this hotel a lot during the 2007 – 2010 period when I was traveling to San Antonio for work. So, when we were passing through San Antonio one Friday evening on the way to Fredericksburg, we decided to crash here rather than driving the entire way there. It was like “coming home.” Paying the higher price for the night in Fredericksburg for the first night did not make sense given how late we would be getting in. For its location in San Antonio, the price is reasonable compared to many other choices. Overall this Hampton Inn is at the top of its game. The room was nicely decorated, crisp, and clean.

The location is on the north side, but not far from the airport. The hotel is set back from the freeway so will not experience traffic noise. There is plenty of dining in walking distance if you don't have a car. Since we got in around 10pm and wanted to grab a bit to eat and a drink we just popped into the Tilted Kilt next door. The food and drinks were reasonably priced and they treated both my wife and I well. You also get a 10% discount by showing your room key. Also, nearby if I recall is a Firehouse Subs, Pei Wei, Red Robin, etc....all within easy walking distance


Our room had an acceptable but not great, king sized bed that tended to creak, but most concerning, the pillows were really subpar, they need to work on that. We had a small couch, HDTV, etc. There were PLENTY of charging ports and plugs around the room. The free internet seemed to work well. We were not able to leave the blower motor on for white noise, but other than that the heater worked well, as it was rather cold out. Curtains did a good job of blocking out the light. The bathroom was nothing special but had everything that we needed. The blow dryer could use a boost, even for people with short hair. Wake up call was on time, and they even did a backup call.

The outdoor pool is average. The workout room is tucked in a corner and a bit small. There are also good sidewalks around the hotel to run. They do not have a real business center, but do have a PC and printer in the lobby you can use as a business center.

Breakfast and lobby area is nice, (though a bit small), breakfast is typical Hampton (pre made egg products, biscuits, sausage, breads, pastries, juice, coffee.) The attendants worked hard to keep everything refreshed, and if something ran out the addressed it quickly.

The staff was welcoming and friendly, for the most part....with the exception of the night clerk who checked us in. We asked to apply a gift card and she said "oh morning people have to do that" which I know is not true, as was confirmed by the morning staff. She just seemed bothered to have to check us in, but I wont let one soso person derail the location.

Overall its exactly what I remembered, and the price is still right.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcsanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were making a weekend visit to San Antonio to visit family and needed a room for the night, preferably close by. While calling several hotels in the immediate area, we found Hampton Inn to have a couple of rooms available and one of the lowest rates for a Saturday night stay. The location was perfect for us and within easy drive of restaurants and shopping. We got to the hotel later in the evening, and the hostess at the reservation desk was very friendly and efficient checking us in and giving us our room key. We found our room to be clean and spacious and the king-sized bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was also roomy and had plenty of fresh towels. The shower had plenty of hot water and the water pressure itself, was excellent.

While there was a complimentary breakfast the next morning, we only opted for fresh coffee and juice. The dining area looked clean and well stocked, with fruit, cereal, juices, pastries, etc. When we checked out, we found the day hostess to be just as cheerful and efficient as the evening clerk had been. We have found Hampton Inns to be a very clean, dependable and convenient and this location lived up to our expectations. We'll definitely stay here again when we come back to visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators, as the people getting on or coming off them, can be a bit no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTourist2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Very friendly staff, always something hot for breakfast. Convenient location on the North side of town. Close to several restaurants. I showed up very early on check-in day and they got me in right after lunch. I'll stay there again. Better than average exercise room as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragon-spike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far North Central
Comfort Suites San Antonio North Stone Oak
Far North Central
Holiday Inn San Antonio N - Stone Oak Area
Far North Central
Best Western Plus Hill Country Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Anton...
#221 of 356 in San Antonio
92 reviews
Far North Central
Courtyard San Antonio North/Stone Oak at Legacy
Far North Central
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport North
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio ...
#166 of 356 in San Antonio
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods

Property: Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods
Address: 2127 Gold Canyon Rd, San Antonio, TX 78232-1701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far North Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#70 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near theme parks, golf courses, historical landmarks and an array of shopping malls, the Hampton Inn San Antonio-Northwoods provides a range of thoughtful amenities. Relax in one of the modern guest rooms and take advantage of free high-speed Internet access and an in-room coffee machine. Reward yourself with a movie on the 32-inch flat-panel T.V. Corporate guests can stay focused in the business center. Free high-speed Internet is available in the meeting room along with a range of professional staff on-hand to offer support. Stay energized with a workout in the fitness center or a dip in the hotel pool. Wake up with Hampton's free hot breakfast - offering a delicious range of options to get you off to a good start. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods Texas
San Antonio Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing