We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very Nice Hampton Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods
Ranked #100 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hampton Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

A second trip to the area landed me a different hotel that my first (Staybridge Suites) as it was booked by a client. This location is not as nice as the Staybridge, but was a nice stay. For those of you that are familiar with Hampton Inn and Staybridge you understand that these are two totally different hotels and are designed for different types of travelers. The purpose of this review is not, however, to compare them to one another. This is a very nicely setup hotel. The room was typical of a Hampton Inn, but this particular Hampton Inn seemed to be cleaner, better maintain, and/or more newly renovated than some others I've stayed in. It has convenient shopping nearby and a restaurant right next to it. I would stay here again as it is nice, but would not be my initial choice for a business trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaPon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    71
    42
    24
    17
See reviews for
128
50
19
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We are a family of 5 made reservations for 5 but hotel room can only sleep 4. The city of San Antonio does not allow roll-away beds or cots. 3 kids had to sleep in a Q bed. Hotel did not disclose this in advance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Wade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We've stayed at this location a couple of times for weekend trips to San Antonio and I have no problems recommending it. The staff is always friendly, the rooms are decent and clean, but it's nothing extravagant. The rooms have a refrigerator and microwave, which we like. There's free wi-fi for one device per room per day, which is also nice. The hotel is also very close to the freeway, shopping strips and restaurants.The best thing about this place is the breakfast. The have a mixture of hot and cold items, and it is replenished regularly.

The only thing I didn't like was during our last stay was that there was a hair in the tub and there was visible dirt/soap scum which I cleaned with Clorox wipes (I don't travel without them!). Also, it was difficult to get the temperature in the room to balance between freezing and muggy. The hotel only has three floors and there's two elevators but for some reason, it sometimes takes a while when waiting on an elevator. The pool is somewhat small but if you're the only ones in it -- like we were -- then it's ok. I don't mean to sound negative because it is a good hotel; I just want people to be aware of everything. We had a pleasant stay and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GG929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This particular Hampton Inn is not as nice as some of the others I've stayed with. However, it's convenient to Six Flags, great place for families traveling with kids and suitable for the price. I wouldn't recommend this one for business travelers, but it's perfect for the leisure family stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pachuca, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Rooms were big, breakfast and lobby areas are large and well decorated. There are plenty of tables for guest to have their breakfast in peace with out having to fight for a place to sit. Breakfast is flavorful and hot. There is great fresh coffee 24/7 at the lobby, fresh baked cookies are available in limited amounts in the afternoon.

Location of this hotel is about 6 miles from San Antonio´s International Airport, it is with in the Northwoods plaza. There is a cinema, an Academy sports store, other small shops and restaurants as well as an HEB all with in walking distance if you want to give your car a break.

My wife and I chose this hotel based on a budget and location. We got exactly what we were looking for. The hotel was almost fully booked and yet it was quiet an comfortable. On a side note, I went down for breakfast on my PJ`s with a Ninja Turtle Tee shirt and the woman at the front desk (who was extremely pleasant to talk to) and I talked about 5 minutes about how great the Teenage Ninja Turtles are. Unfortunately I did not get her name.

I recommend this hotel weather your are traveling with family or on business.

Oh, and the elevators require service and or maintenance. The inspection card is visible and up to date but every time you use them it seems as if they are going to break down and doors open and close really slowly.

Room Tip: There was free wifi, for email browsing and other simple things, you can pay 5 dollars extra for hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David Alfonso A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel looked very nice. I had no real problems with my stay, but the hotel staff were rude and arrogant. The breakfast was also very sub-par compared with other hotels in this price range. Overall it is an average hotel but it is nothing spectacular. There are definitely better hotels in the same price range.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Could not have been better. Hotel was clean, staff were extremely helpful, great location and access to all of San Antonio. We will be back. We have already made three more reservations for future stays. Special thanks to Johnny Evans for all of his help and assistance. We have not experienced this type of service ever before. Recommend this hotel for all visitors to San Antonio.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank dancer010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far North Central
Comfort Suites San Antonio North - Stone Oak
Far North Central
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hotel San Antonio North
Far North Central
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill Country Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far North Central
Courtyard San Antonio North/Stone Oak at Legacy
Far North Central
Days Inn Suites San Antonio North/Stone Oak
Far North Central
Hyatt Place San Antonio-North/Stone Oak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods

Property: Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods
Address: 2127 Gold Canyon Road, San Antonio, TX 78232
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far North Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#70 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near theme parks, golf courses, historical landmarks and an array of shopping malls, the Hampton Inn San Antonio-Northwoods provides a range of thoughtful amenities. Relax in one of the modern guest rooms and take advantage of free high-speed Internet access and an in-room coffee machine. Reward yourself with a movie on the 32-inch flat-panel T.V. Corporate guests can stay focused in the business center. Free high-speed Internet is available in the meeting room along with a range of professional staff on-hand to offer support. Stay energized with a workout in the fitness center or a dip in the hotel pool. Wake up with Hampton's free hot breakfast - offering a delicious range of options to get you off to a good start. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods Texas
San Antonio Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing