We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Burger” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willie's Grill & Icehouse

Willie's Grill & Icehouse
Ranked #583 of 4,589 Restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
221 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good Burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

This review is for the Willie's at Leon Springs on IH-10. Excellent burgers and fries for $6.95. It's not fine dining, paper towels for napkins, silverware in paper sleeves, but if you want a quick lunch, it's a pretty good deal. Order at the counter, get your drink and find a table. Friendly waitress will bring your food and be your cashier. Rustic atmosphere, a bit loud.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 4gentexn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    31
    14
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
142 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“My Go-To for quick, reliable delicious catfish and shrimp.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Casual for sure, but excellent dishes at a very good value. Burgers excellent. Catfish excellent. Grilled shrimp salad excellent. One desert can feed a family...huge. I'm here once a week.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RK O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What you expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Came here for lunch and its about what you expect. The food is ok and for $10 not a bad deal. I'd go here again if invited for lunch...but I wouldn't chose to go here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CompactTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good burgers, good service !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We went a couple of times during lunch, got there early so it was not busy yet. I enjoyed the burger a lot. Not a big fan of ordering at the counter and getting your own drinks then sitting down, the service was very good for us after sitting down during our visits. We liked it and we will visit again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank billcoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great service, food and prices close to Camp Bullis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Willie's is one of a few restaurants close to Camp Bullis and Loop 1604, so more often than not it's a choice restaurant for lunch (sometimes it's the neighboring Italian restaurant). I find the entire system of ordering quite expeditious. You approach the desk, they take your order, and give it to you to be given to the server. You grab a drink among the ones lined out for your convenience, find a table (inside or outside) and wait. Your server handles everything from there on. I ordered grilled salmon with no salad and extra vegetables. My server (and each time I went I had a great server) brought out the dish that smelled heavenly. In fact, each part of the dish - salmon, sauce, rice, broccoli, carrots, it was all delicious across the board. Whether I'm in a hurry or not, my servers adapt to me, which I find amazing.

There's plenty of seating outside, which is good in San Antonio. You have everything you need on your table, from utensils inside small paper sacs, to paper towels, and salt and pepper inside emptied Corona bottles. All condiments are easily reached,and the staff is very responsive in case you need anything. At times it gets windy, some birds come into the area wanting some of your food, and dust flutters around. Those birds are somewhat unnerving, and make me wish I had a concealed weapon. But I don't.

For the food they're selling and service, this restaurant would have gotten the highest marks. However, it seems that it's not easy keeping the outside clean, so that's the only minus so far. Bon apetit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Willie's Grill & Icehouse also viewed

 

Been to Willie's Grill & Icehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing