We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fun @ Willies 1604”

Willie's Grill & Icehouse
Ranked #608 of 4,669 Restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
San Antonio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family Fun @ Willies 1604”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Great atmosphere for the family. I got the BCB and fries and sat down with my drink. The kids got their corn dog baskets and the boss got the catfish. She usually tries something different and speaks well of them all. I always get the burger and try to find something different from the last time in the decor. The kids have graduated from the sandbox, so they gravitate towards the arcade corner. They return with "unbelievable" stories of how they couldn't win at the claw machine (they will learn someday - I hope). All sorts of Americana on the walls and vinyl floor tiles on the table. It is definitely not a sterile environment, but it is lively and super casual. Feels good to relax and not worry about the kids talking too loud or getting bored. The fried pickles and burgers are good, although I prefer the Longhorn for freshness. I prefer Willies for the atmosphere. Parking can be tight, usually packed when we go there. Waitresses friendly and food is served quickly in your basket and utensils and condiments on table. Huge assortment of bottled beer in coolers on your way in and several on-tap. Enjoy

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    32
    14
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Food is good, service is sketchy.”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This review is for the Leon Springs location... I like the ice house atmosphere, the burgers and shrimp subs are good. We ate on the patio and the service was sketchy... I don't understand why I need to leave a tip when we had to refill our own beverages. The only thing the server did was bring our food and bill. This is the service I get at Taco Cabana.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laredo, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Upside Down Pool Table”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Willie's really has a road house atmosphere. They feature an ice box enclosure featuring their fresh catch and cuts as you walk in to place your order. The place was clean and the music was nice and loud. They have a nice sized outdoor patio for those who prefer the outdoor venue. The blackened tilapia was good. The fried appetizers were not too greasy. I thought the pool table on the ceiling was a nice touch to the ambiance. Their waitresses wore booty shorts.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“good value”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

great marketing good friendly environment the food is inexpensive. there is plenty of room for large groups and something for everyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kayto163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAN ANTONIO, TX
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Family Atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Willie's consistently delivers quality dining at a moderate price. If you are into a rambunctious crowd of families and quick service, this is a good place to eat. Offering standard fare for a family, this restaurant will give most diners adequate choices to satisfy their appetite. A good selection of adult beverages and some outside play areas will satisfy both ends of the age group. The serving staff handles the chaos quite efficiently and with a smile.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DR_DAN2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Willie's Grill & Icehouse also viewed

 

Been to Willie's Grill & Icehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing