We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Craftsman style deluxe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Ranked #42 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Craftsman style deluxe”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

The moment we entered through the leaded glass doors we knew we made the right choice. This hotel is in a historical district away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown area but easily accesible by the transit system, which is less than a 1/2 block away. The wood floors gleam and the crew keep everything looking just right. Daniel, who was at the desk, greeted us with a friendly smile and, Jessie helped us wheel the luggage cart into the lobby without our asking. I don't know how old the hotel is but it appears very new in every way. You can tell the staff takes great pride in what they do. I had read other reviews about the low-lighting in the rooms but to me it's the ambience of that period. Your eyes do adjust and I just moved one of the bed-side lamps onto the half-wall so it was higher and cast more light for reading on the sofa. There was a floor lamp at the side of the accent chair, which was very comfy. All in all, there were 5 lamps, a ceiling light and wall sconce over the full-size mirror. In accordance with the Craftsman period the walls are painted a deeper green, which probably doesn't reflect as much light as a lighter color would. The king-size bed was extremely comfortable with 4 pillows and nice bedding. A nicely tucked-in wet bar area also housed a small refrigerator and microwave along with a coffee maker. A full-breakfast is $3.45 a person, which is well worth it and again the staff is very attentive to any needs you may have in the dining area. If the hotel were full there would be an issue with parking, which is free, as it only has about 20-25 spaces. I do believe there is additional parking close by?? Once we parked our car we didn't get back in until we left after two days of sightseeing as we used the Transit system. The front desk offers discounted day passes (limited number) for $3.00 per person which is good for unlimited usage for the day. The normal per person cost is $1.10 per ride and exact change only. Even though Sunset Train Station is a few blocks away I didn't hear any whistles. In fac,t there is a sign at the RR Crossing that says "no train horn" meaning that they don't blow the horn at that crossing. Although the hotel is close to the freeway we heard no freeway noise as the windows are a very good quality. The air-conditioner was a bit noisey when it started, but my husband noticed they were replacing them (some or all??) We stayed on the top floor being four -- the odd numbered rooms are the quieter side of the building. I would say this is more like a boutique hotel being smaller in size with a very attentive and friendly staff. We would definitely stay here if we're ever in San Antonio area again. And, we came upon a great Mexican restaurant named Adalco's which is located in the renovated train station which is within walking distance -- about 2 blocks--GREAT food, plus there was a coupon for an appetizer credit of $7.99 in a small San Antonio brochure found in the rack at the hotel. We had a great visit and our stay at this Best Western was top-notch!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sij003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BexarHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
My Goodness, you covered EVERYTHING :). Can't say much more other than share a little history with you. The lobby building dates back to the late 1800's and we even boast about an old 1920's "Speak-easy" which used to reside in our basement (our current laundry room) where the likes of Louis Armstrong used to play. We will give tours of the site upon request. The Guest Room Suites are all NEW, about ten years old, but as you mentioned the entire hotel is decorated with Solid Oak Mission-style Furnishings to maintain the ambiance of the era.

There is additional parking across the street, FREE. This is parking we pay for to the city but it is unlimited and completely free to the guests.

As far as the rest, I'd say, "Yes, Yes, Yes" and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    358
    98
    49
    47
See reviews for
302
474
61
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Diamondhead, Mississippi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Even though we arrived at the hotel a little early for check-in we were checked-in and given our room key in a very gracious manner. Our room was a King suite and we were on the first floor. What a magnificent room. I especially liked the wet bar. It was unexpected. The bed slept superbly. The room was exceedingly clean and fresh smelling
.
We asked at the desk for a nearby restaurant and they recommended Aldaco's in the train station (authentic Mexican fare) , Spaghetti Warehouse and Ruth Chris. All are within a few minutes walk. We ate at the fabulous Aldaco's and Spaghetti Warehouse during our stay.

I was a little apprehensive when I made our reservation online because the usual free breakfast was not listed. To my surprise, a woderfully delightful breakfast buffet is offered for a very, very modest cost.

Checking with the front desk revealed that we could purchase extremely cheap trolley passes at the desk and not even have to move our car from the parking lot to see all of the wonderful attractions in the downtown area.

The hotel location is terrific. Easy access to the Interstate system, trolley stop on the corner and quality dining nearby. The Alamodome is just a few blocks away.

I would reccomend this hotel to anyone that has reason to visit the downtown area of San Antonio.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the parking lot side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSMan1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BexarHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I congratulate our Housekeeping Staff on a job well done...they work very hard and do a fantastic job.

The BREAKFAST is fresh and hot, made with fresh products daily, not freezer eggs or refrigerated pancakes...my only regret is I DON'T GET TO EAT any of it :). Glad you enjoyed the buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Some BW hotels in the USA have in our recent experience been a bit seedy, but this one is really excellent. The front desk staff are especially helpful, the room was lovely - spacious as well as sparkling clean - and we enjoyed our two night stay very much. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the start of the River Walk, so you don't even need to catch the shuttle into town - you can leave your car in the free parking at the hotel for city visits. When we arrived none of the rooms were quite ready (they'd been full the night before and cleaning was still unfinished) but the efficient and helpful woman on the front desk suggested a nearby restaurant for lunch, and offered to keep our luggage for us. This is a great place - even the rate we got was outstanding. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a BW card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trudy219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BexarHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Thank you for the great advice...yes, make sure you do sign up for the Best Western Rewards Program, many free nights are in your future as you travel and stay at BW around the World.

As far as our property, we are proud to have been a recipient of the President's Award and are now a Best Western Plus which separates us from many other of our sister properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

this was the hotel me and my wife selected to use for our honeymoon for a weekend.My mom in law booked this ahead for us as part of our wedding gift. I start with the pro's the lobby was very beautiful with natural hardwood floors and a look of a bed and brakefast, the room was really roomy and a huge california king bed that was not new but we sleep like a baby and had plenty of privacy and dark enough at night to block any light, very close to most everything including the mall which was very nice to where we didnt have to go far to travel . Ok at the cons , first problem we ran into was traffic its right off the interstate had a little noise from the road, the next thing was the problem with parking after the parking lot fills up you pretty much up the creek without a padle the guy at the front desk was totally a jerk and clueless i asked him 2 times about where we could park because there was no parking he said across the street which was the bus station and clearly had no longterm parking after 2 hours tow trucks could be sceen going in and out towing cars because of this reason. Giving that we spent nearly 300 bucks for 2 night i think hilton or other hotels right on the riverwalk would of been nicer and beter for this reason. the other con i had was a smell in the hallway it wasn't near as bad as some hotels ive seen but still not plesent to have to go through and on the last night there we came back to find a maid never came into our room to clear or leave fresh towles i was totally disapointented in this. The last con can say is that you can get lost very easy in this part of town and that there is alot of homeless people near the hotel but they have hired a great secuirty team it seems. i have to say for the money that this hotel acutally was not worth it and failed in my thoughts to live up to the best western name

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank cwa8807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BexarHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Thank you for your feedback. Although we met some of your expectations, it seems that we do need more training at the desk regarding the availability of parking. The Agent should have let you know that the parking across the street is completely free and for unlimited hours. Yes it is a city managed lot BUT the Hotel pays over $1,000 a month to secure additional parking (unlimited as long as you place the guest pass in your window) for our guests.

Please write me at mgmt@bestwesternsunsetsuites.com; I would love to get your dates of stay with us so I can check into the hallway scent and continued training with select staff.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem,OR
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

This was an oasis after an atrocious experience in El Paso. Clean, restored-old-building charm, fair sized room with comfortable, period looking furniture, attentive desk and support staff.
It's a less expensive alternative to a River Walk hotel, and is only 3 (safe) blocks from the Walk.
There are a few problems -- we had a torrential downpour and the window frame leaked. There was also a water leak in our bathroom ceiling from the room above us. Staff was attentive when we told them of both -- explained the rain problem and noted the bathroom leak.

Wish I could give as nice a review to food in San Antonio.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsmaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

The hotel itself is tucked away in St. Paul's Square a charming little nook just 3 blocks off the Riverwalk and across from the Sunset Station - San Antonio's recently remodeled and revamped train station. We stayed 2 nights and never once had a train disturb us but saw them coming and going at all times. Ruth Chris steak house is across the street plus several quaint bars and eateries are within walking distance - there was also a bicycle rental station as well as a bus and trolley station located just behind the hotel so that was very convenient. The room was a great size with fridge and microwave and also had a walk in shower. Only drawback was that the mattress was too soft for my husband's back but we'll consider that a non-issue. The night staff was very helpful and friendly and I could not imagine a more pleasant stay. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Booking online got us the best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCoopers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Great Value, Great breakfast, 3 blocks from riverwalk and alamo

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melzy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 356 in San Antonio
1,110 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#22 of 356 in San Antonio
1,908 reviews
Best Western Alamo Suites
#85 of 356 in San Antonio
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Property: Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Address: 1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, on-site parking ($12.95+tax per day), vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing