We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in San Antonio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Ranked #36 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in San Antonio”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Very reasonable rates and delicious breakfast for only $5! It was cheaper and easier to eat breakfast at the hotel than try to get something in town. The staff is very accommodating and helped us plan our stay in San Antonio - arranging tours, etc. This hotel is within walking distance of the Riverwalk and shopping mall and much less expensive than those right on the river. It is on the "edge" of the city center but was very nice. The lobby of this renovated historical building, originally built in 1896, housed a speakeasy during prohibition days. The decor is old mission style in keeping with the historical properties. It is right off the expressway so easy to get around to Wal-Mart and grocery stores if you have a car. Parking and Internet are free. The rates on line seem to be higher now but we paid less than $100 (around $80 I think). We actually were there in March of 2010 but this site wouldn't let me go back that far to post a review. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: When you come out of the hotel - turn left and you can be at the Riverwalk in a few blocks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaprivaMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Wow, looks like you hit all the key points about the Hotel including the Old Speak-easy that existed where our laundry room is now :). Thank you so much for your review, and thank you for your persistance to try to get on Tripadvisor since March, to post your remarks. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again very soon. We'll keep the Speak-easy open for you :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    353
    95
    48
    43
See reviews for
294
466
61
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Actually it is on the other side of the highway from the Riverwalk. The area where this property is located is trying to gentrify, but the economic bust has left the potential unrealised. The Ruths Chris Steakhouse is less than a block away, but once you cross the tracks you are in a fairly scary part of town. Our room was huge, but also the darkest hotel room I have ever stayed in. The room was equipped with a fridge and microwave, but there is not a grocery store or even mini-mart within walking distance. The WiFi did not work in our room, nor in another room that managment suggested that we try. It faded in and out on an iPhone and our Dell laptop would not connect in either room. The breakfast was OK, but was an extra charge. This was annoying but reasonable. The room was clean and as mentioned huge. I switched back and forth between a 3 and 4 rating, but decided on the 3 because of location, darkness of the room and the lack of dependable WiFi.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CdnWarthog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
I am sorry about the confusion in the name. We are actually only two blocks from the Riverwalk, three blocks from the Alamo and the Convention Center and one block from the Alamo Dome. We do have discounted Trolley Passes that allow you to use the transit system ALL-DAY for only $2, very covenient. Also have a Rental Bicycle Station right across the street from us for the more energetic site-seers. The FREE Parking at the Hotel and short walk to the sites has made us a favorite of travelers to Downtown San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qatar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Sunset Suites for four nights. The morning buffet for USD 3.45 (16 and under is free!) was excellent. The rooms are well-maintained, and spacious. There is a mini-fridge and microwave in the room. I would highly recommend this for families who wish to explore San Antonio.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Thank you, our breakfast does offer a lot more than other hotels. I will let the Staff know you enjoyed the hearty start to the day :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Just stayed here three nights. It's a small hotel, in close proximity to the downtown / convention center / Alamo.

Pros: Very well-priced rooms, friendly staff, cheap breakfast buffet (free if you have elite status). Room has fridge and microwave too. And free wifi.

Cons: Rooms were kind of dumpy-looking, with old furniture. I was hoping for an upgrade but they were sold out for the weekend. Fitness room isn't very well equipped. My room was on the top floor but facing the main road, and the traffic was rather loud.

Still, it was great overall, and I'll quite likely return if I'm back in the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bvnathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I hope you don't think I'm being coy, I say this with a smile...our furnishings are solid oak mission-style furniture, they are immaculately maintained (sanded and varnished since they are oak, instead of the cheap hotel furniture you find with others). They are actually fairly new, but designed as antiques to replicate the styles of turn of the 20th Century era. We are pleased that you did enjoy the property and stated you will be back for another visit...we're very much looking forward to seeing you again. My Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reynosa, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I consider that the room was very clean and comfy, it had everything we need, employees at the hotel were very kind and with a great attitude. Even if we had to walk under a pass by the expressway, it is very near to river walk, we liked a lot.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oirame79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Yes, We love this hotel and especially the great service we get there !!!!!
Greatly staff and breakfast is GREAT !!!! THe location is wonderful, we go to the river walk, Riverwalk Mall, and of course the RIVER WALK, and at night if we want to get a couple of drinks we just walk outside down the side walk and we find great places to hang out. I do recommend this hotel and all their great services and location.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigdaddy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
We agree, why pay $50 more when you can park for free at the hotel and walk five minutes to the Riverwalk...thank you for stating the facts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center Moriches, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

the gas lights at the front entrance were a nice touch that you don't see.Nice hotel,clean with friendly staff,all smiles.Good breakfast and only a short walk to riverwalk.Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Movine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
The Gas Lights, Glass Doors, Brass Ceiling Tiles and Hardwood Floors are all part of the embiance of the late 1800's, when the original building was erected. Although the main building housing the guest suites is only a decade old, it still carries the decor of the old magical days. Thank you for your feedback. Hope to see you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Far West Side
Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Property: Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Address: 1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, on-site parking ($12.95+tax per day), vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing