We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If it weren't for the pipe break, the trip would have been perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Ranked #35 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
College Station, Texas, United States
1 review
“If it weren't for the pipe break, the trip would have been perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Great location in walking distance of the Riverwalk area. Rooms were nice and spacious. Hotel allowed us to check in early. Unfortunately, there was a pipe break that probably ended up causing some extensive damage and we checked out for a full refund (Friday night February 22nd). The staff that night (one gentleman at the counter and another on maintenance) did the best they could while dealing with a horrible situation. They did a terrific job and should be commended. We'll definitely try this hotel again should we return to San Antonio. A suggestion: adjust the hinges on the doors so they don't slam so loudly when people enter and leave their rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Oh My God, what a terrible accident. Yes the pipe burst did a huge damage, the Staff were all over it but unfortunately it was much greater than anyone could have imagined. We are putting everything back together and luckily only 9 rooms went down. But, we HAVE THE GREATEST GUESTS EVER..everyone was so fantastic and understanding, hopefully realizing that we did everything we could to make up for the inconvenience. We do look forward to seeing you again and we promise to ensure a wonderful stay. Thank you for your understanding and truly honest support...I will let the Staff know their work did not go unnoticed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    343
    87
    46
    43
See reviews for
285
454
58
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

Wow ! What a clean hotel ! First thing I noticed was no strange smell ! Just super clean n shiny ! We had a King size suite which was tastefully decorated , the bed was very comfortable and had exceptionally good quality linens ! I was very impressed n I'm a little picky ! Nice n quiet and a lovely breakfast to help yourself too ! It was also in a great location , just a short walk to the Riverwalk !we will definitely be going back , great value for your money ! Puts many other more expensive hotels to shame !

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Fabulous, we love "picky" guests, especially when we please them :)...thank you for letting us know. Our Housekeeping Staff does a fantastic job, led by our Executive, Norma. I will be sure to share your comments with them at our breakfast meeting tomorrow. We do put those high-end hotels to shame don't we, although we feel pretty high-end ourselves...affordable chic :). See you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Excellent hotel. Selected as I was on a very tight budget at the time of booking and this hotel was a good price and reasonably centrally located. I was a little concerned as I read various reviews that as it was very close to the intersection and it was very loud and disruptive to sleep- so I went prepared (took ear plugs) - didn't need them, yes the main intersection is just across the road, however I was not aware of this, ever. Staff excellent, friendly and helpful. Excellent, inclusive breakfast. Room had a mini kitchen - microwave/sink - so you can eat in if you wish. Rooms very clean and tidy. Good size with a separate seating area. Well located- a couple of blocks from the centre of town,5-10min walk max. Free parking. Loved it. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. I am hard of hearing, or at least I get accused of that by my wife :), but it's good to get confirmation that the convenience of being on the main drag has no effect on the inside noise. We are glad you enjoyed the convenience of the location and vicinity of downtown, the free parking, the fabulous breakfast and the over-sized (all-suites) guest rooms...did I miss anything :). So we hope to see you back soon and be sure to leave the ear plugs at home. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

We arrived at 5:00 pm after a 4 hour drive with 4 children under the age of 6. Within 20 minutes of our arrival, we received a phone call from the front desk saying they had already had a "noise complaint" from the room below us. Remind you.... This was at 5:30 in the afternoon, not 9 or 10 pm!

When making the reservation I clearly stated that we had 4 children with us & yet the staff chose to put us on the 4th floor? We were then asked to move to the first floor, which was no small feat with 4 kids & all of our luggage. In neither room did the remote control work unless you literally punched in the numbers and in room 401 where we were initially placed, the sliding windows had broken locks on them & the windows opened completely!!!! No child safety locks there!

The walk to the Riverwalk consisted of having to cross several awkward freeway exits and a stroll underneath the freeway.

All in all, not a good experience whatsoever! We will be staying at the Hyatt on each and every single visit back to San Antonio. Their location is wonderful & they are VERY family-oriented!!!!! This Best Western is best saved for those people that need to be in bed by 5:30pm!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
We love the little guys and always look forward to your return. I am sure the front desk was only following your request when they placed you on the first floor...we do all we can to cater to your requests. We do hope you visit San Antonio once more and do take advantage of our hospitality anytime you choose to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belvidere, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Super location, covenient to everything downtown and easy freeway access. The room was spacious and clean, nice living area for entertaining. There is a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The staff was courtious and always ready to help with any needs. Great breakfast buffet, everything is fresh. And amazingly the parking is free! Definitely will book with them again,and will certainly be recommending them to any family and friends who venture down that way. Best hotel experience I've had in awhile.

Room Tip: Any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Wow, fantastic news...so glad you enjoy your trip to San Antonio, and that we were a key part to your enjoyable visit. We believe are Staff are GOLD, so kind of neat that they were referred to "a hidden gem" :). Thank you and see you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denison, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

I stayed at the Best Western Plus Sunset Suites - in September of 2012 for a Nursing Conference. The location was convenient with a short walk to the conference and local eating places. Room was clean and hotel was quiet and staff was helpful... Breakfast was simple but hot and again staff was very helpful... Room was a little dark due to lighting.. free parking was a plus.. will be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Thank you for your wonderful compliments. We're glad you enjoyed the convenience of the free parking and close vicinity to the Convention Center. We hope you had a successful conference and we thank you for your service to the community as a medical professional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Far West Side
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lackland Hotel & Suites
Crockett Hotel
#21 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites
#95 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
East Side
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Address: 1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, on-site parking ($12.95+tax per day), vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing