We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice of hotel, not too far from the Riverwalk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Ranked #34 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
jaguar7777777
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A good choice of hotel, not too far from the Riverwalk”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

One negative. A water pipe in the room opposite ours fractured and flooded the floor. At 6am 2 men appeared outside our room and placed a large, noisy fan on the floor to dry it. They then started a long and loud conversation for half an hour - with no concern about anyone they'd woken up and were keeping awake. The manager (we had to phone him up because he wasn't around) wasn't interested when we complained. The room was nice, the bed was comfortable and the people behind the reception desk were very helpful and friendly. It was also reasonably priced - probably because of the walk to get to the Alamo or the Riverwalk. I timed it and a fairly brisk walk will get you to the Riverwalk in 7 minutes and the Alamo in another 7. At first glance the walk does look a bit unsafe because you have to walk through the underpass of the Interstate, but after walking through a few times we agreed it was safe. The breakfast was about as adequate as all hotels/motels we stayed in during our 2 week USA road trip, but as a general comment the choice of cereal they all give is moderate, at best. Children's cereal, sugar frosties and Bran Flakes is about as good as it gets. If you like eggs then I hope you like them scrambled every single day because that's all we were offered on our trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaguar7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
The water pipe break was out of this world and turned out to be more than a temporary fix, but we're glad to say that our wonderful guests were so understanding and our staff worked diligently to correct everything. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your understanding. So glad you enjoyed the visit to San Antonio and the remainder of your stay at the property. We look forward to seeing you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    347
    91
    48
    43
See reviews for
290
460
59
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

We did a road trip around Texas and stayed here for three nights. We loved San Antonio and loved this hotel, it was probably our favourite place that we stayed in during the whole trip. It was easy to find, and close enough to the city centre to walk into which was great. We found the staff to be very friendly. The hotel had free parking which was a real bonus, and we didn't have any problems finding a space.

Yes, the rooms are a bit dark but this didn't spoil our enjoyment. The room facilities were great. We loved the look of the hotel, lots of wood and exposed brick, with solid wooden furniture. Our room faced the road but we did not hear traffic noise.

Breakfast was fine, although the morning of Thanksgiving it was busy and kept running out of items, and the waitress seemed a bit harassed but remained courteous throughout.

Close to shopping and attractions, we wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel, and hope that we can revisit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
It's our favorite place to work :). We're glad you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful city and our gorgeous property...it is gorgeous, isn't it. Historic flare with all the current amenities, free parking and only two blocks from the Riverwalk. Please do come back and visit us again soon; we look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudbury, ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

The location was a 5 minute walk to the riverwalk, great location
the cleaniness of the hotel was truly sparkling !!
the staff at the front desk can answer any and all your questions, even wifi problems

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank gittej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Yay, we're so happy we lived up to your standards. I will let the Front Desk know that all the boring meetings they attended on the local sights and attractions was for good use. Housekeeping will not be left out, we have the greatest staff all around and I thank them each day for the care and love they put into their work. See you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Stayed 1 night in room 203.
Pleasant and friendly staff.
The hotel is right next to the freeway, which made it easy to find. But once inside you would never know as there is no noise. Free parking.
The room was nice and spacious with a comfortable bed. Only negative in this regard was the size of the pillows – they were more like what I would call a cushion for the couch rather than a pillow.
Easy walk to the Riverwalk, Alamo, etc.
A storm rolled in late in the afternoon so we decided to stay in for the night and had a pizza delivered. It was a pleasant change to find a hotel in our price range which we actually enjoyed spending time in.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggie_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hate to brag but thanks to great customers who let us know how we perform, we hear so much feedback about our guest room furnishings; solid oak mission-style furniture and tiffany lighting in the rooms, hard wood floors and brass ceiling tiles in the public areas...and so much more. Great to have served you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
708 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Have stayed here before and it does not disappoint. From the friendly front desk staff, everything is top notch. Room we had was very spacious and clean, beds were very comfortable and it was almost like renting an apartment. Great location in that the Riverwalk, Alamo, LaVillita and Alamodome were within walking distance. Towels were larger than normal and not the usual threadbare leftovers. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HARRY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
We're so glad to have had you back and happy we lived up to expectations once more. The All-Suite rooms are larger than standard; furnished with solid oak mission-style furniture and Tiffany lighting, high quality bedding and bath linen...we do not skimp, our guests deserve the best!!! I will pass on your wonderful compliments to the Staff and hope you will continue to visit us year after year - free downtown parking and only blocks from the sites, we can't be matched :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Don't let the outside fool you. This hotel is off the chain. We enjoyed outselves because the rooms were excellent and worth the money. We were able to walk to Almodome for the concert we were attending. We were able to walk to Denny's for late meal after the concert. You can park you car and not move it. But, also there is limited parking, but the staff is very accomodating in seeing about you being able to park. The staff is friendly and helpful. I am very choosey about hotel quality and being comfortable and clean. I had no complaints and will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria e g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed the Free Parking, and the short walk to the Alamo Dome (2 blocks)...the other direction is another 2 blocks to the Riverwalk and Alamo, I know you already knew that and took advantage of it. Thank you for your compliments, we love picky guests, it just makes us much better than the rest when we stand out. See you soon for the next concert, or visit to the Riverwalk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Far West Side
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lackland Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Address: 1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, on-site parking ($12.95+tax per day), vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing