We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“San Antonio Riverwalk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Ranked #36 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Simi Valley, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“San Antonio Riverwalk”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel was disappointing due to the "two blocks from Riverwalk" statement. They were very long blocks and it didn't mention that you had to walk under a highway overpass (which I would never do after dark) and the sidewalk was closed but we had no choice. The hotel itself was okay but if you didn't walk to the Riverwalk area, you had to get in your car to drive somewhere to find a place to eat. As for the rooms and the breakfast, they were okay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank SassySan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Good news, bad news (although not really bad0...really happy that you enjoyed the accommodations, but so sorry that the two block walk wasn't what you had anticipated. There are a number of options. First, the FREE Parking at the property offers our guests a $30 savings over all the other downtown properties, there is a city transit (in the form of Trolley and/or Bus) that take you to all the sites for a mere $4 cost - all day. So not just the two blocks to the River Walk, but all the Missions in the surrounding area, including the airport, the zoo, Six Flags and Sea world are within your reach without ever moving your vehicle...and all this is available from the transit stop right next to the hotel. So we hope to see you back again, real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    353
    95
    48
    43
See reviews for
294
466
61
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san antonio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel is a value place for the price! It's very reasonable, within walking distance to downtown, very clean and the staff is super friendly. It also has free parking which is very hard to find in this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Best value in Town and Free Parking...love it. Thank you for your feedback. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Everything was excellent about this hotel, except that it didn't have a pool but other than that it was awesome! Walking distance to Riverwalk and other places..Staff was friendly. Customer service was very helpful! Beautiful rooms!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Norma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Can't beat the Solid Oak Mission-Style furnishings...we hope it gave a touch of class to the guest suite. So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed here to tour a nearby university. The location is fantastic. Very close to the riverwalk and Alamo. We drove downtown since we arrived late at night and were in a hurry to find a restaurant before they closed, but I would definitely recommend walking from this hotel. Parking downtown is a pain and expensive, not to mention all the one way streets. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a combination of hot and cold items-plenty to fill up on. All the employees were friendly, especially the maintenance man (can't remember his name) who was always sure to ask how our stay was and if anything in our room needed attention every time I saw him in the elevator. Other families on the university tour were complaining about either the location of their hotel (airport) or the high cost of parking ($24) for other downtown hotels. We didn't have any complaints other than the overflow parking lot that this hotel uses. Although the hotel is in a safe area, I still had someone walk with me after parking the car late at night, but this was merely a small annoyance with an otherwise fine hotel that even offers free parking downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peacenquiet2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Fantastic. We're so excited that we hit all the marks during your stay. The FREE PARKING is a definite plus at a downtown location, will save you anywhere from $20 to $30. I will be sure to thank the entire staff and let Ricardo and Jason (Maintenance) know of your special mention. We wish your new college bound family member much success...I know you are very proud. Come back and see us during your follow up visits.. By the way if your student is looking for a job, we may have the perfect position, or be able to refer them to other opportunities; I was a student once :). See you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Rooms are spacious and clean. Hotel parking is fine. The breakfast selection is adequate and the quality is good enough. The only drawback is that to get to the Riverwalk, you have to walk through a freeway underpass. The surprisingly good part is the involvement of the hotel manager. He doesn't hide like other managers -- although we didn't need to interact with him, we saw him come out from his office frequently. If he heard someone in the lobby speaking with an employee, he came out and observed. Considering this hotel was about $75 - $100 less per night than the hotels on the other side of the freeway, it is worth staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you so much for your compliments. The only way for us to ensure a great experience for our guests is to stay involved at every level and work hand in hand with our Staff. Good Service should not cost more, so I am glad that we met your expectations and the value for the $$ was exactly as you had hoped. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Customer service brutal. could not have room serviced as by 303 all housekeeping gone home. we had do not disturb sign on door for a couple hours and they never bothered to check back Answers to all questions were no or do not know Very noisy. would recommend you look for something else if staying in San Antonio

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
I am so sorry to see the review. We failed at the beginning to meet every request you had, but in subsequent conversations we have taken care of all your concerns, made internal adjustments and provided additional reward points to you as one of our valued clients...I thought we had done all since you RE-BOOKED WITH US FOR A FUTURE STAY. Since there was no request ahead of time that the do not disturb was temporary in order to keep staff on, we have now revised internal scheduling to be able to meet as many unforeseen special requests as possible. We accept the blame and will continue to serve in the way 99% of our client reviews have shown. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The location of Best Western is on the fringe of the Downtown Riverwalk area, a short 3-4 minute walk away on a dedicated sidewalk. BW's inclusion of free parking, Internet, tasty breakfast and spacious, clean, comfortable rooms makes this a great value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Fantastic, we're happy that all the complimentary amenities (BEST OF ALL - FREE PARKING) lived up to a better experience for your getaway. We give much more for a lot less than the rest of the downtown properties...short walk to the River Walk and the Alamo is a definite plus. Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Far West Side
Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Property: Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Address: 1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, on-site parking ($12.95+tax per day), vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing