We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Ranked #48 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Clean rooms and friendly staff. It was a good location for a visit to the river walk. Hotel was nicely decorated and the cost was reasonable. They had the standard breakfast like most hotels that offer breakfast. We would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Julienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

looks like we did all the right stuff...So glad to hear back from you and we look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

800 - 806 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

Request room on side opposite of Commerce St. Parking lot is small though we experienced no issues due to we checked in on a Sun when others chck'g out. Breakfast was good with plenty of seating. We were told we could take our breakfast to our room if so desired. Is within walking distance of Alamo Plaza. However, due to const & a few undesirables about when we would be walking back at night we decided to drive. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your wonderful comments...so glad that you would be back to see us again. The construction to beautify and make the downtown area more accessible will be over soon, the City has promised us. Many o our guests enjoy the short walk to the River Walk and the Alamo as you did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

For visiting the Riverwalk or traveling on Amtrak I can't recommend a better value... this lovely hidden jewel is a beautiful little hotel on the outskirts of San Antonio that is tucked away in an area that seems to be revitalizing itself with some interesting shops and theatre that appear to be open primarily on the weekends... however, the Riverwalk is close enough to duck under the freeway and walk to... and the Amtrak station if you are traveling by train is certainly at your front door... the hotel itself is lovely... the staff is very friendly... the rooms are spacious, the decor is beautiful... we didn't get a chance to try out the breakfast buffet but from the looks of the large restaurant area I'd say it must be good... I'd certainly recommend for the very reasonable price of our stay that this was a wonderful value and we will certainly be staying here again and again and referring friends, family and business associates.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Fantastic. We're so glad you used the Amtrak to visit our beautiful city...it is a beautiful ride if anyone is looking for other than the normal air or car travel. Yes, we're a block away from the historic Sunset Station (rail stop - BUT NO TRAIN NOISE, I promise), and just two blocks from the River Walk. So glad you enjoyed the accommodations in a historic 19th Century structure will all the new amenities...the guest suites building is actually only 13 years old and recently renovated. Come back and see us soon, and if you do decide to drive, the parking is also free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This hotel is right off the freeway exit, very easy to find. The building is in the historic district, so you will be near popular and delicious restaurants. I loved being within a walking distance of the river walk. I was able to have a few drinks and walk back to my room. I highly recommend this room if you want to pamper yourself with a quite relaxing room, and still be close to the action.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tezcatlipoca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Not only are we within walking distance, you save money with the free parking. I am so glad that we were the perfect spot for you. Park your call for the entire stay and walk the couple of blocks to the Riverwalk, the historic Alamo, the Convention Center and even the Alamo Dome for concerts and sporting events...it's a breeze, right? Come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were very impressed with our stay and the staff was every knowledgeable. Checking in was easy and quick. The room was clean. Plenty of food for the morning breakfasts. The ladies kept the total area neat and orderly. I wish that I had the name of the lady at the counter, I had an issue at the business center and gone to the front counter. The lady at the counter had a very difficult person and your employee handle the problem and rude person in a very professional manor. Then your employee looked at me and ask if she could help me. I could see in her eyes, she need a break. I told her of my problem and with a smile handle my problem. From the time that we enter until the time we departed, it was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kenneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Fantastic...so glad we hit everything on the mark; perfect rooms, perfect breakfast, perfect staff; sorry I got carried away, it's just we know it and it's always good to hear that someone else noticed it :). Seriously though, we loved to read your feedback and have shared it with all our staff. Thank you so much for your business, your kind words ,and we hope to see you nack soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We booked a room at this Best Western as a stop on a cross-country trip (to relocate to the West Coast), and had a car full of personal belongings.

I called the hotel in advance to ask: 1) If it was in a safe neighborhood (I was told yes, that it was easy walking distance to the lovely Riverwalk area); 2) If there were places that one could easily walk to for dinner (again, same answer as above - that it was just two "short blocks" to the Riverwalk); 3) MOST IMPORTANTLY if the parking was gated. (I was told no, it was not gated, but that there was a lot, on site, behind the building, and that they had security on patrol.)

Upon arrival, we found that this hotel is on the wrong side of the freeway to the Riverwalk. One has to walk (or drive, so not as convenient) through an unsavory bit of construction/freeway ramps, to be at the very edge of the Riverwalk -- which is still several blocks from where all of the restaurants and businesses are. But the real problem was the parking. The lot was tiny, and completely full. We were then directed (only after we checked in) to an overflow lot - which was located a little over a block away, behind an industrial building, totally out of site from all street traffic, in a not great neighborhood. It did not feel safe, and we could not leave the car there with all of our stuff packed into it. The woman at the front desk told us there was nothing she could do.

Because we booked through Expedia, the hotel refused to authorize a refund -- even though they had misrepresented the facts over the phone (the woman I spoke to said she didn't know why I wasn't told about the overflow lot, as all of the employees know about it -- but CLEARLY I had not been, otherwise, we wouldn't have been there -- why would we want to go through this experience purposefully??!). Because the hotel refused to authorize the refund, Expedia likewise refused to issue a voucher. Bottom line: spend $25 more and book on the other side of the freeway and do your booking directly through the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank EmGeeCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Very rare...although we don't see negative comments such as yours often, it still hurts to know that we had the one guest we missed in pleasing. I know we have had several conversations since, and realized that sometimes third party agents do not have all the hands on information we have at the property...we will fix that. But know that your concerns are always considered valid, and although we reassured you that the St. Paul Square District is one of the safest areas in San Antonio, we will always continue to find ways of satisfying all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The hotel is located conveniently next to US 281. It is about 3-5 blocks from the Riverwalk and the Alamo, which can be a difficult walk in the summer heat and humidity. The road construction in August, 2013 made the sidewalks difficult to use (and added distance to get to the Riverwalk). The breakfast buffet was better than expected. The scrambled eggs were actual eggs, and not made from powdered eggs. There were also the usual assortment of cereals, fruit juice, waffles, and breakfast muffins. The parking is free. The neighborhood, while safe, doesn't have many visitor facilities (like restaurants)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

The City work across from the property will only add to the amenities of downtown San Antonio, and we're working with them to ensure that the immediate impact is minimal; although we haven't heard much negaitve about the sidewalk enhancements they are doing. On even more of the positive side, the things we CAN control, we're overjoyed that you loved the property, the free parking, and the fabulous breakfast...yes REAL FOOD does make a difference and we hope that sets us apart from everyone else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center
Best Western Alamo Suites
#89 of 358 in San Antonio
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
East Side
Best Western Premier Historic Travelers Hotel Alamo/Riverwalk
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Address: 1103 E Commerce St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £81 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, on-site parking ($12.95+tax per day), vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing