We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caring staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Ranked #48 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Best Western. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and accommodate the guests. I appreciated the smiles and genuine friendly banter with staff. Breakfast was always ready on time and had a good selection, including fruit which is so important. Thank you for having this be a safe, clean place where I could rest and enjoy time when not at the conference.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Fantastic. So glad the conference was a success and we were able to accommodate all your needs. Thank you for you feedback and we appreciate your business. The Staff loved having all the conference attendees (breast cancer conference) with us...we truly enjoy spending time with our guests and getting to know them for the time they are here. We do hope you come back and see us again very soon, now that you know you have family right here at the BW. Happy Holidays and the best for the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

745 - 751 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk from 10/28/13 to 12/2/13. We had a great experiience. All the employees were so nice and friendly. The room absolutely gorgeous, we had a King
room, with a living suite. Had a couch, chair & desk & chair.. The ladies that clean did an absolute wonderful
job and made the room look so nice everyday. Had parking right out side with no charge. We could see
our car from the window. The breakfast each morning was delicous and wonderful. The ladies did a wonderful job keeping everything filled upand the tables cleaned. We enjoyed visiting with Jeremiah at the front
desk and he would always answer our questions. The bus goes right by the hotel, so we usually walked, took
the bus or the tram wherever we wanted to go. It is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

We're so glad you spent your Thanksgiving weekend with us. I bet the Holiday Lights at the River Walk were beautiful. Great to hear that we made your trip perfect...yes, we're very proud of our staff and accommodations, the free parking and the freshly prepared full American breakfast is always a hit with our family travelers. We wish you the best during the Holidays and a wonderful New Year...come back and see us soon, in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This 50+ room hotel has free parking for 32 lucky cars, others park on the street or 100 yards away. Still a good deal for the area. Almost all other hotels have a hefty parking fee (Marriott $25/nite). Another freebie is the hot/full breakfast. Typical of most Best Westerns. The room we stayed in was suite sized, with two queens, a sofa, chair, coffee table, and a full desk with chair. It is approximately one city block to Riverwalk/Mall/Denneys from hotel. The only negatives I had for the hotel was small on site parking lot and 'commando' shower head. There was no way to vary the water flow as the temp control was part of the faucet handle and it was full flow only from cold to hot. The high flow coupled with the fine stream (non-adjustable) shower head would literally sting more sensitive areas of the body. In addition to this, my wife thought the scrambled eggs were terrible and the room was noisy. She is a very light sleeper and will avoid all fast food restaurants at all costs. I had no problems with the food or noise, but what do I know about good food and noise ........having spent two years in the Army and eating an occasional Jack-in-the-Box hamburger. I have to rate the hotel as excellent for this local and what it offers. We paid $130/nite over Thanksgiving nite and the Friday nite after, .....and mind you, this was the festival of light night at the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tr1pperdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. The free parking is a definite plus, and although we rent the additional overflow spots across the street from a very high-classed condominium building (with security), that cost is never passed along to our guests. As far as the difference in taste between the better half and yourself, I tend to agree with you more on that one, but will never say it out loud in front of the opposite sex :). IMPORTANT - Before signing off, I do need to thank you for your service to our country. I look forward to your future visits with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Our stay started with help from Jeremiah on our reservations, he was so helpful when it couldn't be found, he helped and was able to give 2rooms close, even though we had reserved the rooms with booking.com.

On arrival the young man at the desk was helpful and answered questions with a smile. All staff were friendly, introduce themselves, and generally made the stay enjoyable.

Beautiful rooms that were very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite if you do not need 2 beds, it gives you a nice seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcjchmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

We're so glad everything worked out...Jeremiah gets a pat on the back from all of us for making us shine. Come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed here for three days with my new husband and we thoroughly enjoyed it! The room was very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good. This hotel is excellent for the price that is paid and it is in walking distance of the riverwalk with free parking. Let's not forget that this hotel is housed in a renovated building from the 1800s making it quite unique and beautiful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a good value and a nice stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erical337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Congratulations on the "New Husband", did you get the extended warranty :). Lame joke, sorry...but we do wish you the happiest moments in your future, and hope that your stay in San Antonio with your loved one was truly memorable. I don't want to take away from your moment with a simple response, so I will just thank you for sharing this time with us and look forward to your second honeymoon at our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is a wonderful hotel; wonderful location; wonderful staff; Break is good; close to convention center; close to riverwalk; good friendly staff; Good price; close to nearby restaurants; close to shopping centers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

So everything was good...perfect :). We like to see that. Thank you so much for your compliments, I am very happy we met your expectations and we hope you'll come back to see us very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We wanted a hotel in walking distance of the riverwalk, without having to pay too much for that, and without having to pay for parking (which the nearby Red Roof does !). This place was excellent. Very beautifull, a combination of a renovated old building where they have put in the (very spacious) lobby and breakfast area, and a new building besides with the 60 or so rooms in it. The nicest decorated rooms I have ever seen, very very beautifull stylish wooden furniture furniture, everything is very classy. Also a nice thing is that breakfast is served on real plates, with real knives and forks, no plastics here. The warm ham at breakfast was very much appreciated. Except for the slowliness of the extremely friendly trainee Jeremiah (over 20 minutes to check in 1 couple ....), nothing negative to report. Very beautifull place, very well decorated, I fell in love with the lobby and the rooms.

Room Tip: Prefer higher floors on the parking side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kortenbergtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. Many people choose us for the close vicinity to the River Walk and the Free Parking, but you hit the nail on the head...we ARE a beautiful property; solid oak mission-style furniture and Tiffany lighting, hard wood floors and brass ceiling tiles in the main historic building take you back to the early 1900's in Historic St. Paul Square District. And there is no reason why you should be treated with less just because the breakfast is complimentary; that's why our full American buffet breakfast is fresh prepared daily by our chef (no out of the bag eggs here), served on real plates with real silverware. Jeremiah - everyone loves him...his speed has picked up and we have doubled him up with added staff, but when it comes to CUSTOMER SERVICE he can not be beat. We look forward to seeing you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center
Best Western Alamo Suites
#86 of 357 in San Antonio
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
East Side
Best Western Premier Historic Travelers Hotel Alamo/Riverwalk
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Address: 1103 E Commerce St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £82 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, on-site parking ($12.95+tax per day), vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing