We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Ranked #44 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I was a little concerned when we pulled in considering the outside however, once we were in our room I was very impressed! The hotel is clean, the staff is VERY FRIENDLY, the breakfast was good and their coffee WAS GREAT! Would defiantly stay there again!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Christopher D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Judging a book by its cover...but I know we need to do better. We are actually getting landscape lighting installed to freshen up our evening look and make us pop a bit more. Thank you for your input. On the good note, I'm so happy that the staff were fantastic and the room up to par. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights March 11-13, 2014. Beautiful overly large room with uniquely styled furniture. Breakfast was wonderful each day in a separate room. Located away from the hustle and bustle of the Riverwalk area but close enough to walk to the scene of the action. The value received for the price paid was exceptional.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 697MIke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Fantastic. The furniture is solid oak mission-style to keep with the theme and history of the property...only the best for our guests. It has been a busy month, full every night, and it's wonderful to hear so many good feedback. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

At check in computers were down at check out still not working when arrived back in Canada found out charged twice. spent 2 days trying to straighten bill no luck yet .Office staff seemed lost. Hotel was perfect other wise .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank protruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

So sorry about the computer glitch but O know all is now taken care of with your billing...unfortunately TripAdvisor doesn't list the reviewer by name so not sure if there's still a billing issue, please call me if necessary but I know the one we're thinking of is already resolved. I am glad that the rest of the stay was good and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was our first trip to San Antonio to visit the Riverwalk and Botanic Gardens. We are Best Western rewards members and have stayed in Best Westerns across the country including Fisherman's Wharf, CA and Jackson Hole, WY, what we feel are the top of the line in the brand, along with numerous others across the country. This one is just about up there in the high-end category of Best Western's, and the value is incredible for the area.

We arrived via AMTRAK from Dallas, at 9pm. The train station is only 2 blocks from hotel, and just north of the ALAMODOME. There were plenty of cabs to take you to hotel. We chose to walk . Hotel Lobby is nicely decorated; check out the historic photos on the walls. Check in was smooth, and they have 2 sided maps of San Antonio to take with you (something I treasure, even in this digital age). Hotel also has a brochure rack by front desk filled with informative brochures, and visitor magazines as well - all great for this traveler to help learn and navigate the city. "Destinations San Antonio" magazine, my favorite.

Our room was spacious as others have reviewed with a "Prairie Theme", bed, desk area and sofa. Good size bathroom as well. Comfortable bed. Breakfast was incredible for price paid, serving make your own waffles shaped like the state of Texas (fun for kids and adults alike) and freshly made scrambled eggs! Other options included waffles, fresh fruits, pastries and yogurt. Breakfast area was clean and comfortable.

Check out was smooth, and again, the staff was most professional, helpful and friendly.

Location; a few short blocks to the start of the Riverwalk Visitor Center. The Riverwalk extends for miles. Enjoyable morning, afternoon and evening. The spring blooms were just beginning to appear. The river was dyed green for St. Patrick's day, just like Chicago, and the Saturday before St. Pat's day - there were festivities and live music everywhere!!

Favorite restaurants - on the Riverwalk; Mexican Manhattan (second floor, outside viewing the walk-yet more quiet area with delicious authentic food), and just north of town El Mirador (authentic Mexican Restaurant). Also enjoyed dining at The Chart House at Tower of the Americas, in revolving restaurant viewing the entire city at sunset and at night.

If you have a car, nature lovers and birders must stop at the San Antonio Botanic Gardens. I need to return to spend more time here, as by the end of the day, we only had 30 minutes (ouch; needed 3 hours at least for a good visit). While maybe not as large as the Chicago Botanic Garden, or possibly Dallas Botanic Gardens - what I saw in my quick visit was most impressive, with variety and beauty.

The day after checking out we realized we left our camera battery charger for our camera. A short call to the hotel - the front desk contacted Housekeeping, who very promptly found the charger. The charger was waiting for us on our return to San Antonio, before heading back home to Chicago.

The staff was incredibly helpful, understands travel and tourism, and how to treat guests. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there if we return.

Tip: If you go during spring break, expect crowds and reserve well in advance. ENJOY!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Fantastic review and great tips for all travelers, thank you for taking the time to let everyone know about ALL the sites in San Antonio. We are also very happy to be listed at the top with Fisherman's Wharf, keeping good company. Really, you said it all so nothing for me to add :). Please come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We were there on Spring break and the hotel was very good. Close to the things we wanted to see. Free and quite large breakfast, couldn't make the waffles fast enough,and best of all free parking in an expensive area. My granddaughter kept saying how big the room was. Beds were comfy and we never heard any noise even though there was some construction going on outside on the street.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 613deborahp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for bringing the family...your grand daughter has good taste :), takes after Momom. Your feedback is very important, and your compliments mean a lot to our staff. Thank you and hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights last week. (Mon/Tues/Wed). Very reasonable price paid of $117 (plus state and city occupancy taxes of approx. $19). Then the price was jacked up to $161 on Thursday so we checked out and went a short trip down the street to the Red Roof Inn Plus for about $100 less for that night.

Hotel is nice-lobby was comfortable. Good selection of breakfast items each day. Our room (#301) was huge. Problem was, we checked in at 3pm-computers were down. Gave us our room cards but room was not finished being cleaned. Lots of apologies but should have been compensated as we had to leave in order for them to finish. My travelling companion was far too generous and let the staff off easy-I would have pushed it more.

Wi-fi was Terrible! Very slow--not impressed at all. At one point, I needed some info and basically gave up with the wireless and went down to the lobby where they had 2 computers for guests. Internet speed was fine there.

Overall-good hotel. Location was great, free parking. I would stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms at the end (201,301,401)-close to elevator (but it wasn't noisy at all) and la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtravellr15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback. Notes taken and we'd be sure to fix the couple of issues that occurred, but the good news is that there were many positives and that we'll have you back...we're looking forward to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We spent two quiet days at the BW Plus Sunset Suites. It is a short walk to the start of Riverwalk. Since we were escaping from the frozen north we didn't mind the walk at all. The rooms are very nice - large with high ceilings. We had a king bed, couch, chair and desk along with a 4 cup coffee maker, frig and microwave. everything we needed! This mission style furniture was very nice. Parking in the main lot did fill up the 2nd night so we had to park in the overflow lot about a block away. Again, not a problem as the weather was nice. Overall a great experience and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank marksC1254WX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

We're so glad we could be an escape from the frigid cold...but more than that, happy we could accommodate you at our beautiful property. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Best Western Alamo Suites
#93 of 357 in San Antonio
522 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#10 of 357 in San Antonio
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Best Western Premier Historic Travelers Hotel Alamo/Riverwalk
East Side
Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Address: 1103 E Commerce St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £70 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, on-site parking ($12.95+tax per day), vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing