We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not on the River”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Ranked #46 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

The name of this hotel is "Riverwalk" but there is no river. Good and bad:
Good: older hotel but very clean with huge rooms. Full breakfast in very nice dining area.
Bad: in a strange location. Right on hwy 37 so road noise might bother you. If so. Ask for an odd # room to be as far from it as possible. If you don't have GPS be sure you plan ahead because it is hard to spot even if you know where 37/Commerce street is. Worst thing is parking. Somebody didn't do the math. I think it has 68 rooms but only 26 non- handicap parking spots. Otherwise, you have to park on the street curb or 1/4 mile away (literally).

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThaJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback. Not too often that I need to put everything in perspective :), the overflow lot (still ours) is right across the street, not 1/4 mile away :), the original building that the hotel was built around is "Historic" not old :), it actually dates back to the 1890's but the guest suites were built in the new annex in 2000...River Walk, OK I'll give you that but a two block walk with free parking in a beautiful property with great customer service is a real deal in San Antonio. We look forward to having you back, give us a call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

659 - 665 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Room was spacious and clean. Professional staff. Located next to freeway, but requested quiet room. Hotel is NOT on the Riverwalk as name suggests---2 1/2-block walk. Only had freeze-dried coffee on breakfast bar; that was a negative. Overall an okay stay.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank lovetotravel_836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

We want all our stays to be great...come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel on Mother’s Day. I chose this hotel because it had a favorable rating and because I had to conduct business in the city the next day. I will tell you that staying here on Mother’s Day, or any other day, is a mistake that I will never again make.

You would think that in this day and age when a hotel promises free Wi-Fi that they would ensure that there customers who spent $128.00 a night would indeed have access to the Internet as promise. Apparently I was wrong and foolish to expect what they advertise would be available regardless of their overpriced room fees.

After pleasantly bringing it to the receptionist attention several times that I couldn’t get the Wi-Fi to work in my room she basically told me that there was nothing she could do, since it was “Mother’s Day” and she had no way of knowing how to connect a guest personal computer to the hotel Wi-Fi services.

I explained to her the 3rd time I spoke to her, that there was a placemat on the desk in my room that stated that there were instructions to access the Wi-Fi in some sort of room/directory “guide” that was suppose to be in the room but wasn’t. I asked her for a copy of the “guide” since none was in my room thinking this would help me connect to the net, and she had no idea what I was talking about. Showing an incredible amount of apathy she responded by telling me that since she had never been in the room so she couldn’t help me.

I then asked her was anyone else in the hotel having problems with connecting to the net and she responded “yes, everyone”, clearly unmoved and indifferent to any need that I or any other guess had for connecting to the net. I then asked her was there anyone she could call for help or guidance. Her response, “no, it’s Sunday, Mother’s Day”, and since it was late (4:30pm, check-in being at 3pm) there was nothing she could do.

At almost $130.00 a night you would think more effort and care would have been made to provide a basic service that they promise. Oh well, while I desperately needed to conduct business research that night and was unable to I guess I should at least take heart that with all the fruit flies in the room, (I closed the window curtains), trying to get rid of them did give me something to do all night.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

No, No, No...I'm horrified. The Internet has been fixed but the response from the desk was completely inadequate and it WILL be fixed. Please accept my apologies. I hope you'll visit us again soon and see our true service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Was in San Antonio to help move our Trinity University student home from college. Location is just a few minutes drive from the school. Loved the old building restoration for lobby and breakfast areas and up to date comfortable rooms. We felt safe walking to the Riverwalk area on Commerce Street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Congratulations on your college grad...Thank you for choosing us for your big move. Please come back to visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Overall a clean basic hotel with helpful staff . Good Value when compared to hotels right on the Riverwalk. About 1/2 mile from the Riverwalk. No restaurants nearby unless you walk to the Riverwalk. Free parking

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John7382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Good value is always a winner in our books, and the free parking is the gravy on top. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel was within walking distance of River Center Mall. Very nice rooms and decor, but the internet was not working for half of our stay. Our room had a smoke odor, and we were told someone would be up to check on our complaint, but no one ever came. We finally told front desk to cancel since the odor was not as strong, and we needed to leave the hotel. That is poor customer service in my opinion. The rooms were nice and loved the water pressure in the shower! I would still recommend staying here, but would reccommend the internet problems be corrected. Staff said it was a common occurrence.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank sks0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Completely out of the ordinary, I will check on the lack of response and will look at the Internet connection to see if there was an issue with service in the area. Please accept my apologies...I am glad you'll be coming back and we'll make sure it will be a great trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel is reasonably priced, cheaper than the Laquinta next door and Best Western doesn't charge you $ 20 to park in their own parking lot. It's an easy .08 mile walk to the Riverwalk. You have to walk under an overpass, but it's well lighted and absolutely no one bothered us when we walked around. Very safe hotel. We enjoyed a full breakfast the next morning. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tabatha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

We agree, why would anyone have to pay $20 for parking, plus the outrageous rates downtown? We're glad you chose us over the rest and look forward to having you back real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Best Western Alamo Suites
#89 of 357 in San Antonio
528 reviews
East Side
Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Best Western Premier Historic Travelers Hotel Alamo/Riverwalk
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Address: 1103 E Commerce St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £82 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, on-site parking ($12.95+tax per day), vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing