We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Ranked #41 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good Value, Great Location”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is just off the freeway and a very short walk to the Riverwalk. A huge plus for us was that it was on the side of the freeway that is away from the Riverwalk, which meant we were able to get in and out much easier without fighting the downtown traffic. We weren't charged for parking because we booked way before July 1 when they started charging. That cost would have made the value not quite as good for us.

The staff was all very friendly. Our cleaning person was new, and she missed a few things, but it wasn't a big deal. She was fun to chat with and friendly.

We upgraded to a King Suite, which wasn't really a suite in my definition. It was a standard room that would normally have had two queen beds, but with a King bed and a pull out sofa.

The breakfast was good, with what I think were freshly cooked eggs, meat, and the usual selection of cereals and breads. I always like getting fresh fruit, and they had watermelon for us each morning.

The free WiFi was sketchy for mobile devices, but worked well on my laptop. The fitness centre is well appointed and spacious. I loved the historic feel of this place. I should have researched it, but near as I can tell, it's an old building (lobby, meeting rooms and fitness centre) attached to a newer building (most of the guest rooms). It might have an interesting history.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a King Suite. It's not a Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your stay with us and we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your San Antonio visit and glad we could be apart of it. We look forward to seeing you again in the future so please contact me directly for assistance with your next visit to our BEAUTIFUL city.

Regards,

Osbry Millender
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    356
    96
    49
    45
See reviews for
298
470
61
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in July. Excellent location close to all major tourist spots (walking distance to everything), moments from the Alamodome, friendly staff, clean rooms...no complaints. Reasonably priced compared to other hotels a few minutes closer to the major spots.

Room are well sized, quite large, in fact with a nice sitting area, kitchenette, and adequate bathroom.

Breakfast is good - decent selection, BW standard.

There is no pool, but there is a small gym.

Would definitely stay again when in town.

Room Tip: If you want absolute quiet, a room not facing the main street on a higher is probably a good idea, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerDavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
It's great to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and thank you for praising our service. We invest a lot of time and effort to train our team to ensure the highest level of service. Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visits to San Antonio, TX. We are wishing you all the best and hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baytown, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel is very clean and nicely decorated. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The concerns about this hotel and its location are: the hot and cold water are mixed up on the tub faucet, concern that a small child may get burned, and we took a cold shower before we figured out the problem. The lighting was dark in the room even with all the lights on. Guests need to be aware that if they are going to walk to the River walk they have to cross and on ramp and an off ramp of the interstate. We walked during the day and night with no problems, but each time I was concerned if it was safe or not. Parking is also an issue at the hotel. You pay to park at the facility, but often have to park across the street because the hotel lot is full. Wouldn't stay here again. I will spend $20.00 more dollars to stay closer to the River walk.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to me.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This Best Western is conveniently located close by everything the Riverwalk is only blocks away its close to the Riverwalk Mall and right outside down the sidewalk is the SA Metro bus service station where if u want to use city transportation its also conveniently locate right there

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cherritha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for choosing our Hotel and for sharing such a lovely review. It is always the desire of our team to provide the BEST experience for our guests from check-in to check out. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Overall this is a great motel. Outside look is a misconception, once inside this is a wonderful place. There is very limited parking at the motel, if you arrive later in the day and have a problem walking this is not the place to stay. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. Overall this was a very nice place to spend the night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Other travelers will benefit from your detailed review. We look forward to hosting your next stay in our Beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed for 4th of July weekend 2013. Hotel has >100 rooms, and maybe 30 parking places. Overflow parking is down the dark street and through the alley -- yes the alley. In an unknown city in the less traveled side of town. 1 block from the Amtrak station. Front desk personnel (at check-in and check-out) were unfriendly robots who tell you that the free breakfast is served until 10:30, until the maid starts clearing eveything away at 9:55. There were about 3-4 people under the same impression as myself. The maid and her housekeeper boss got angry when we followed the trays to a little room next to the breakfast bar. I guess we were taking the food from their families' mouths. Best Western needs to remove their name from this hote.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvgames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to me and I will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for you and the rest of our guest in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a Superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas City, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is my family's second stay at this hotel and we were more pleased than the first time. Check-in was a breeze, hotel staff are super friendly and accommodating, and this is one of the cleanest hotels I've visited. The location is absolutely perfect and parking, though limited, is complimentary. The daily breakfast isn't half bad but it's filling with great coffee. I still have a problem with adjusting to the firmness of the mattress but everything else about this hotel makes up for that. So we will always stay here. Keep it up Best Western!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Harold L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you so much for your stay. We hope you will come back and see us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#14 of 355 in San Antonio
1,095 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 355 in San Antonio
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Property: Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Address: 1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, on-site parking ($12.95+tax per day), vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing