We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Asian food Downtown.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai Lao Orchid

Thai Lao Orchid
Ranked #631 of 4,597 Restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: East Side
San Antonio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Asian food Downtown.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

Mmmm Neum. Authentic Thai and Laotian flavors. Unique dish with crispy rice, fresh green onions, nicely minced chicken breast served with fresh crisp lettuce and cilantro. Delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertAlva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Outstanding Little Downtown Thai Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

This restaurant moved to downtown San Antonio about 9 months ago. What looks like a little hole-in-the-wall restaurant is actually a superb little Thai bistro just north of Houston Street at 116 Broadway. It is just a few steps away from the Alamo, the River Walk and the Majestic Theater. The website is www.thai-laoorchid.com. My wife noticed it on a recent trip downtown and after looking at their website we decided to try it before a SA Symphony concert. Wow, we were very surprised! The quality of the food, freshness, and the presentation was exceptional. Most meals are abour $9-12. Of course the sauces and curries are what make a Thai restaurant great and we were not let down on these. We definitely look forward to coming back here again. (They do close at 8:30 so you can't come here after concerts, etc.)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SanAntonioTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London & Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Bangkok in San Antonio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Have just come back from the Thai Lao Orchid. Not much to look at from the outside, but the food was exceptional and didn't disappoint. I had the tom yum chicken soup, lovely and spicy followed by the neum which was so tasty and delicious. We finished with the mango and sticky rice which was as good as the last time I had it in Koh Samui. Have been to Thailand many times, and eaten in lots of thai restaurants in London but this was up there as one of the best I have been to and very reasonably priced too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ARKIngdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great urban restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Delightful flavors. Well prepared.

Restaurant moved to 116 Broadway. Near the Alamo.

Very friendly service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertAlva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wish we found this restaurant sooner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Service was exellent and the food was incredible. I had the Punaung Curry my favorite dish and I was not disappointed. The dish was flavorful and nicely presented. The tom yum soup was perfect in every way. About eight of us went and when the entrees were served we asked for 8 spoons and absolutely everything we tried was excellent.

If you read my other reviews I can be pretty picky about things - so know this restuarant is worth it in both quality and price. Our new favorite Thai restuarant in the Stone Oak area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank tevetv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Lao Orchid also viewed

 

Been to Thai Lao Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing