We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What do you expect from a Motel 6?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 San Antonio South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel 6 San Antonio South
Ranked #226 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Trafalgar
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What do you expect from a Motel 6?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

I do not book stay at Motel 6's and neither did I this time. This booking was made for me before. The last time I stayed at a Motel 6 was over 10 years ago and it was not a good experience. I must say that this week long stay was not that bad. This is a typical Motel 6, economical and cheaply kept. However, the owners give you the best service they can for the price. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. The bathrooms were clean and spacious. The A/C worked great. There was a swimming pool available but we did not use it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rangellalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

I was very disappointed in this motel. For the price, you don't get much. We always stay in budget motels and this was $30 more than the last place we stayed and we got far less for the money. Plus it was the noisiest room we have stayed in the past 10 years, and we travel a lot.

Rate was $69 per night plus tax for a double bed, around $82 total. No fridge or microwave in the room. There was sufficient area to move around in, but after 10:00 pm, the noises actually woke me from a sound sleep. First was a popping noise in the wall (pipes expanding?) that lasted several minutes and I could hear water draining through the sewage pipes in the wall by my head. Neighbor next door was making a 'rhythmic banging' on the wall for around 10 minutes. Could hear kids' pounding running footsteps above plus a woman shouting at them.
This was a smoker's room, the bedspread and blanket all had burn holes in them. Stains on the hand towels. The bathroom faucet couldn't be shut off completely; bathroom light took several minutes to illuminate; no kleeex available.
Front desk staffer was noticeably friendlier to Spanish speakers.
If you're driving up from the south and ready to 'fall out' at the first place you'll see (this motel), you'd be better off to keep driving a few more miles no matter how tired you are.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cunneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Overflowing garbage bins, heavily-stained carpet in the hallways, grimy glass on exterior doors... an overall sense of griminess, especially in the common areas. One plus was the front desk staff--courteous, quick and very helpful both times I interacted with them. I have not stayed in a Motel 6 for 20 years and probably will not ever stay in one again based on my experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LivingIcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmaus
Level Contributor
595 reviews
236 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

Not a bad room in many ways; good size, clean, and nice beds, but the walls were so thin we could hear the neighbors every movement. On the plus side it had nice beds and a fridge, and is in a nice neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bern666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbrier, Tennessee
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2007

After a long and treacherous drive from Dallas in never-ending rain, we arrived in San Antonio weary about our stay. The motel was located near some lower income housing but the area was equipped with an average shopping mall. The room was moderately clean, some grime located in crevices of the shower. I had to ask for some new blankets, because the others had some hair and hardened spots on them from over-heating in the dryer. This motel was furnished with a laundry, located on the second floor, but much to my dismay, the washers were either broken or filthy. If you are trying to locate a cheaper motel in San Antonio, you are going to have much luck. The "nicer" motels are located near SeaWorld or the Riverwalk, which are both great attractions to visit except for the $50 entrance fee at SeaWorld. These motels are quite nice, BUT EXPECT TO PAY BIG!!

  • Liked — inside corridors
  • Disliked — location/ value
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laredo, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2007

Coming back from Japan, I was in no mood to take another 2 hour drive back to my hometown so I booked this motel to stay the night. Right off the bat, the lady on the phone was a screaming, rude and nasty person. She gave me the third degree about cancelling once I reserve the room and started threatening me with things like if I brought more people over, I would be charged. I said "Ok, we'll be right over" and she started yelling NOT to bring more people over! I proceeded to correct her by saying my friends would be helping me with luggage and I hung up the phone.

When I arrived, she did some more yelling and said that if I even had one person set foot into the room, I would be charged. I was offended because naturally, I had a lot of heavy luggage and my friends were merely going to help me take it down into the room (they both lived there in san antonio). The receptionist just yelled that no, she would not allow even that.

So once I finished filling out all the paperwork, the lady proceeded to threaten me one more time by saying "and don't you DARE bring anyone into that room, we'll be watching!" I simply nodded and went to my room, being that i coud not cancel my reservation. Needless to say I had a very restless night wondering if I was being watched in my own room.

When I checked out the next day, there was a different receptionist and equally rude (YOU BETTER have cleaned out your room!). I dont know, but I do not like being yelled at like if I was a child. I felt treated like a criminal even though I had no intentions of having my friends over.

The room itself was very nice and spacious, very clean and tidy - everything in tip-top shape. I would have stayed there again but the owners are just so rude that I would never set foot in this hotel ever again. I wrote to Motel 6 to complain and I just recieved a "we're sorry." Personally, if you can tolerate rude and nasty people, go ahead and stay here, if not, find another hotel that will treat you well.

  • Liked — Clean, tidy rooms
  • Disliked — The Staff!!!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Delita_chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2005

A brand new property, clean, nice. One of the nicer Motel 6's we've stayed at and worth the money. Definitely recommend it. The only problem with all the Motel 6's we've stayed in is that they have paper-thin walls...every last one of them, new or old. If you have earplugs, always take them. But this one was fairly quiet and we got a good night's sleep...so no complaints. And it was clean also, and that counts a lot.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites San Antonio South
WoodSpring Suites San Antonio So...
#235 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio South Hotel
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio ...
#191 of 353 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn San Antonio at Palo Alto
Days Inn San Antonio at Palo Alt...
#245 of 353 in San Antonio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Antonio Brooks City Base
Holiday Inn Express & Suites San...
#190 of 353 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
6.9 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#154 of 353 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palo Alto Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Antonio South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Antonio South

Property: Motel 6 San Antonio South
Address: 7950 South Pan Am Expressway, I-35 at Zarzamora Street, Exit #150-A, San Antonio, TX 78224
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Motel 6 San Antonio South 1*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 San Antonio South is conveniently located to South Park Mall, Southwest General Hospital, Texas A&M at San Antonio, and Kelly AFB. We offer Free Wi-Fi in all of our modern rooms, coin laundry facility, and an outdoor pool open year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Six San Antonio
Motel 6 San Antonio South Texas
San Antonio Motel Six
San Antonio Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing