We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room was unacceptable! breakfast sucked!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hill Country Suites
Ranked #112 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“room was unacceptable! breakfast sucked!”
Reviewed 2 July 2011

The bathroom floor was covered in black hair, we are all blonde, not ours! The comfy chair in room was tore & worn out. The hotel itself is nice & the rooms are large. The full breakfast was a joke though, everything was out, cold or stale. It was just a small continental breakfast, really no waffles even?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    89
    51
    16
    25
See reviews for
164
87
11
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

As the title states, my spouse and I stayed here for a wedding that occurred on the North side of San Antonio last weekend. The location is convenient, at the intersection of 281N and 1604. We got a discount for the block of rooms reserved for the wedding so the cost was around $99 a night. I'm not sure how this compares to regular rates. We had a king room and it was nicely appointed, large, clean and quiet. The bathroom was also large and clean. The hotel has a pool and whirlpool, but we weren't able to use either since the wedding party returned after the 10 pm closing time. The pool's next to guest rooms so it has to close early in order to control the noise. We didn't stay long enough to use, or even see, the fitness center. The staff were friendly and check-in/check-out were quick and painless. The continental breakfast was alright, with bacon, eggs, pastries, cereal, coffee, juice, etc, but not able to accommodate the number of people who needed it towards closing (9-9:30 am). The staff eventually caught up. One thing that detracts from the hotel: it's not really convenient to nearby places for dinner, drinks and such. It's not realistic to cross 281 in anything other than a car. In all it was a nice, clean hotel and I'd stay here again if I had business in this part of San Antonio.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shutter_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Fantastic location: close to the airport and north side businesses; as well as restaurants and shopping; and golf courses.
Lobby is well appointed; and so are rooms. Clean and comfortable. All rooms are suites.
They serve a full hot breakfast and a happy hour.
Conference and meeting room available for business.
High speed internet is good.
It was too cold to use the swimming pool and hot tub.
I would recommend this hotel for either business or leisure travel with a family.
Amenities offered and convenience make this an excellent price-value compared to other brand names in the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

The B/W Hill Country Suites is convenient to the Airport and convenient to the freeway system. When I checked in the Front Desk agent was very informative about the area, where to grab a bite to eat and the best ways to get around the area.

My room was large, clean and well equipped. I liked having the extra seating area and the spacious desk. Free internet access and a well equipped fitness center were a plus.

FREE BREAKFAST.. Wasn't expecting it but what a treat, a great way to get my morning started right.

Thank you to the Staff at the Best Western, I will return my next visit to San Antonio

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichNAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nimisha824, Manager at Best Western Plus Hill Country Suites, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Thank you for your nice thoughts. It is always nice to hear feedback from a visit to our hotel. We will look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Freindly staff, good sized rooms, comfortable beds but a shame about the two massive cockroaches waiting to meet us in the bathroom the next morning!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daviddewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salesbwhcs, Manager at Best Western Plus Hill Country Suites, responded to this review, 5 October 2010
I would like to clarify the issue about "roaches" in my hotel. First, thank you for the high marks you gave us. We do have a beautiful and clean hotel. Unfortunately, San Antonio and much of South Texas had a horrible time with CRICKETS this summer. We were diligent about keeping them out of our hotel. We have never had an issue with roaches and because of our cleanliness and attention to pest control, we never will. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa Park
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

This hotel was fabulous. We used the Sea World Family Package and the rates were fabulous, they included the Sea World tickets. We had a baby and an 8 year old. The hotel provided a play pen, and the room had plenty of space for all of us. The staff was fabulous. And every morning a full hot breakfast was served. Close enough to everything, felt incredibly safe. Would definitely stay again if we go back to this area.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Hubby and I stayed here for a weekend getaway. We could not have been more pleased with the hotel. It was very clean, rooms were made up very nicely. The front desk staff were very pleasant to do business with. They had a manager's special that evening, and served sodas, wine, and beer, and some snacks. We ate breakfast there the next morning, and the food was good, and hot. We will stay here again on our next trip to San Antonio.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lonestarbassclarinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far North Central
Comfort Suites San Antonio North Stone Oak
Far North Central
Hyatt Place San Antonio-North/Stone Oak
Far North Central
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hotel San Antonio North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far North Central
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio North Stone Oak
Far North Central
Staybridge Suites Stone Oak
Staybridge Suites Stone Oak
#179 of 358 in San Antonio
105 reviews
Far North Central
Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hill Country Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hill Country Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Hill Country Suites
Address: 18555 US Hwy 281 North, San Antonio, TX 78258-7600
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far North Central , Stone Oak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#79 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hill Country Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an all-suite hotel in North Central San Antonio Stone Oak. Each room features a sitting area with sleeper sofa, 2nd television set, refrigerator and microwave and many other amenities. We have luxury rooms with Jacuzzis or kitchens as well as an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, business center and sundry. Your stay with us is sure to make you feel right at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Hill Country Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western
Best Western Plus Hill Country Suites San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing