We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient stop on the way to the summer camp drop offs and pick ups near Kerrville, TX”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill Country Suites
Ranked #100 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
loveslakes
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Convenient stop on the way to the summer camp drop offs and pick ups near Kerrville, TX”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were late scheduling a stay over near Kerrville for summer camp drop off/pick up and decided to stay here instead on the way west from Houston. We didn't find the two jug handle turns to get to the hotel too difficult, and the hotel amenities worked well enough. The two queen room was comfortable for two adults and two siblings, with a sofa and desk and fridge/microwave. Bathroom was comfortably sized. We did not use the pool which was small, busy and just outside the hotel back door enroute to parking lot. Breakfast was along the path from the pool so wet feet did create some safety hazards in the lobby breakfast area. Breakfast was hot with bacon one morning, sausage the next, 'powdered' scrambled eggs, decent biscuits, gravy and grits (neither of which we tried). Compulsory waffles were fine and the wait staff friendly and helpful. The rest of Best Western's breakfast selection (raisin bran, fruitloops) was less appealing. The only fresh fruit was apples. On the 2nd trip for pick up we stayed in a king room which was also comfortable.

Room Tip: The pool is in the back of the hotel so might want to avoid 1st/2nd floor there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveslakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHCS, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill Country Suites, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for the comments, we are looking into healthier breakfast items, please be sure to tell us how you like them when you come next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    80
    43
    11
    21
See reviews for
141
80
11
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

hotel was typical good BW hotel, but location was difficult to get to and there was very few easily accessible walking distance amenities. Everything required auto transport, and hotel surrounded by inconvenient one way streets.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHCS, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill Country Suites, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
The one way streets can be tricky, our staff is always available for easier directions and guidance. Thanks for feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had two rooms reserved for our 5 night vacation. We had to change both rooms. One we were notified before we checked in that the a/c was broke and we had to go to a king instead of two double. We could make that work. The other room...the a/c began leaking all over the carpet after all the luggage was unloaded and put up. They provided us with two other rooms. Both of these rooms had a terrible odor and the beds felt like they had bed bugs. No one slept well...up most of the night looking for another hotel for the remainder of the week. The manager only took $20 off each room. Not enough for the lack of sleep we got.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Leroy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHCS, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill Country Suites, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We have already addressed your concerns, thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Great value for the price. Quiet hotel, very convenient to the freeways. Far enough out of town to avoid traffic. Breakfast was good, but I would have preferred a few more healthy choices. Biscuits and gravy are not my thing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHCS, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill Country Suites, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We have already started looking into healthier breakfast options, thanks for the suggestion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Had reservations for family to stay with rooms that to be together and a separate room. Well that didn't happen, the family ended up separated and on a different floor that originally asked for. Had an A/C that did not function properly, a microwave that was not working, hairdryer in another room. Showers were mildewed inn all 3 rooms. I could go on but....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DAN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHCS, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill Country Suites, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
So sorry you were not able to get rooms together, we try and accomodate requests to the best of our ability. All other issues have been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had everything we needed and were very comfortable. Even with our dietary restrictions, we had plenty of options to choose from during breakfast. The staff was friendly and available to help. The facility was well maintained. The location was very convenient to our particular needs. Access on and off of the highway took some getting used to, but overall it wasn't so bad.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Belma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHCS, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill Country Suites, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
So happy you had a wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I are seasoned travelers and stay in hotels about 30/60 times a year. We are diamond members of Best Western - which means we stay at their chain a lot of times, during the year. We are looking for a comfortable bed, a safe environment, bug-free, clean towels and reliable WiFi. Weren't too lucky on any with our recent stay, here.

We checked in on Saturday afternoon (Jun 7), received our diamond member "gift" and went to our room - a nice-looking suite. We were surprised that the swing bolt was set so the door wouldn't close, but didn't think much of it. We set our computers down and tried to connect to the Internet through the hotel WiFi. No good. Our two iPhones, iPad, and two computers would not connect to the Internet. Not a big deal as we had to leave for an engagement. Got back at 1 AM, with no empty parking places - all completely full. Asked the front desk clerk what we should do - he said park your car under the porte cochere. We did. Up to our room with no Internet, again. It was late, so once again just brushed it off. Got up Sunday morning to no WiFi (we always travel with an Ethernet cable so we at least had Internet on one of our computers). Went downstairs to talk to the front desk (nobody would answer the phone) Came across an immature "sweet young thing". She giggled and said, "Yes, since they installed the new modem, WiFi is a hit or miss proposition." This young lady had no idea what customer service is. No suggestions on how we could fix "OUR" problem. Just keep trying (which I guess, is a suggestion). Since our car was parked under the porte cochere, I thought I'd move it into a now vacant parking spot. After I moved the car I, I walked in front of it and found a damaged front end. It appears (from the marks left on the license plate) that a vehicle with a hitch tried to park where our car was already occupying a space - pretty much crushed the license plate so I guess we got hit pretty hard. And here I thought that parking under the porte cochere would be about the safest place we could find to park.
Now back to the open door, upon our arrival. I took my shower and when finished I went to get a towel. THERE WAS NONE! We had one wash cloth and one hand towel. Obviously the room we were given wasn't released by housekeeping. I dried myself off with hand towel and went on a search for some towels.
Still no WiFi.
Tuesday morning, as we were preparing to leave, we were greeted with a HUGE roach! The kind you find in Florida that they call palmetto bugs.

So the bed was comfortable - check
Safe environment - fail (damaged vehicle)
Clean towels - fail (there were none) and the housekeeping lady I found didn't have any wash cloths on her cart! And this was early in the morning - I wonder what she was going to do for the rest of her shift?
Reliable WiFi - fail (none, until just before checking out on Tuesday morning)
Bug-free - fail (roaches)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhodeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHCS, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill Country Suites, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We appreciate the feedback. Please be assured that all your comments have been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far North Central
Comfort Suites San Antonio North - Stone Oak
Far North Central
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio North Stone Oak
Far North Central
Hyatt Place San Antonio-North/Stone Oak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far North Central
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hotel San Antonio North
Far North Central
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio North Stone Oak
Far North Central
Holiday Inn San Antonio N - Stone Oak Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill Country Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill Country Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill Country Suites
Address: 18555 US Hwy 281 North, San Antonio, TX 78258-7600
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far North Central , Stone Oak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#38 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#79 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill Country Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an all-suite hotel in North Central San Antonio Stone Oak. Each room features a sitting area with sleeper sofa, 2nd television set, refrigerator and microwave and many other amenities. We have luxury rooms with Jacuzzis or kitchens as well as an outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, business center and sundry. Your stay with us is sure to make you feel right at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill Country Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill Country Suites San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing