We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute WORST”
Review of Alamo Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alamo Inn Motel
Ranked #280 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We (two single moms and four kids) booked two rooms before we left for a San Antonio zoo and family fun trip. The pictures looked nice and their were some decent reviews. We got their to find that it was in a questionable part of town and the rooms had bars on the windows. It was a filthy mess! NO WAY were were staying there with our kids. The "owner" refused to cancel the reservation stating that 3:00 was the deadline and it was 4:15. Had I been informed of that over the phone, I never would have reserved! I could not find information on a website that stated a cancellation time. Not only is the hotel an unsafe family dump, they customer service and management is rude. This place exploits anyone looking for a decent deal. In the end, I have a $164 charge for rooms we did not stay in for the safety of our children.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CristieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlamoInnSA, Manager at Alamo Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2011

Hello
Here is our explanation to this review.
Above customer called and reserved 2 Rooms at our Inn a day before arrival at 69.99 dollars each room with two beds for four people. Being a Spring Break weekend, our Inn was full, and those were the last two rooms that was Reserved by the above customer. Our Cancellation policy is at least 24Hr Prior to check inn day by 3 pm., which in this case was not workable as she booked the room within 24Hrs. But still out of courtesy we did give her chance to cancel by check-in time. We had closed down our Online Reservation availbility and also turned lot of walk-in customer away since we were absolutely booked. According to the policy which was clearly explained and understood, a customer has to cancel the room in timely manner, if a customer fail to do so, they will be charged for at least one Night, which in their case it was 69.99 each room for two Rooms with 2Queen size bed for Four People. When the above customer called with the complain about the charge, we explained the policy and apologise for inconvenience, she threatened the management to write Bad reviews online even though they did not stay here and did not experience our superior customer service. Also she asked to give full Refund or she will complain in BBB. We are just following our policy, if we gave her Refund, it will not be fair to others who did not get our lowest rate and Superior customer service, and paid triple the amount elsewhere. If they did not stay here how can they say bad things about our rooms??
We are all about Customer service and Cleanliness, and thats what reflects in lots of the Reviews here and other places online.
We apologise for any inconvenience, but we are just following the Company Policy.
With Regards
Alamo Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Alamo Inn Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2011

The proprietor of the establishment was extremely helpful in everything I asked. I went up at least three times and each time there was no hint of aggravation and he was very helpful. The room was cozy and had an extra bed, for no extra cost for some reason. The room could have been just slightly cleaner but it was overall very clean. The location was easy enough to find and it was about a ten minute walk to a convenience store, which was nice. The wifi was pretty quick and the tv had an hdmi port, which was an added bonus because I could watch my movies in HD. What I liked best was the helpfulness of the proprietor and privacy of the room.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaja_Saetieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Stayed at this place with a buddy. We're late 20s / early 30s and not too picky about accommodations. We both thought this place was fine. Room was clean, amenities we expected in the room were all there, and there was a handy binder filled with notes on local tourist attractions, transportation, and services offered by the hotel.
The motel was quiet at night, and the owner will drop you off downtown if you give him about 15-20 min usually. Just no stores or places to eat around the motel area.

The motel is in a 'rough' part of town, according to the taxi drivers who drove us there.
The further east you go on commerce street, the rougher it gets. But we never saw anything that made us feel unsafe during our stay. Just don't wander outside the motel area at night. Take a taxi when you return to the motel. It's about 1km from the outskirt of downtown to the motel. Taxi fare cost about $10 each night when we were returning from one of the large hotels downtown - eg. Marriott. That's the best way to go.
Paying $10 a night to get back is no problem since the hotel is priced so well for its proximity to downtown. Owner is a nice guy too.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacaycay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

This is a simple motel for the budget conscious traveller. Not too many amenities around (no swimming pool, fitness centre, etc), but if all you're looking for is a place to sleep at night after spending the day exploring San Antonio, this motel is good. Rooms were clean as expected, and the owner is quite pleasant and friendly.

The neighbourhood around the motel is not a nice area - it is not recommended you walk around especially at night. However, the motel itself seems safe. Going to and from the riverwalk is also easy. During the day, the owner will give you a complimentary ride there upon request. When you're done at night, you can return to the motel by cab for as little as $10.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaperAssassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

The Alamo Hotel where we stayed was really quaint and friendly, it was clean and quiet. We had a really great time.

Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
Thank DebraG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

The room was very clean and was very quite. The price was great. Rick the owner was
great and very helpful with anything we needed. We really enjoyed staying there and made our first trip to San Antonio great.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayceeArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

The other area hotels I attempted to reserve were booked for the July 4th weekend so I looked on the internet and found the Alamo Inn on Commerce Street. On the internet, it looked and sounded like a good deal but when we pulled up to the motel; we were very disappointed in what it looked like and more importantly, where it was located. It is not in a very good part of town. Although they offer a shuttle to the downtown area, there was nothing at the motel to do. It did not have a pool and because of its location, you could not go for a walk around the surrounding area and the breakfast area is very, very small. We were booked for two nights but only stayed one night. If you decide to reserve this hotel be very careful about their cancellation policy. You pay for your stay up front and if you do not inform them right away about your intentions, you will not be given your money back. We had decided to leave the area after the first night and we were not given a full refund for the second night. Live and learn I guess. I do wish there was a good way to get more details about a motel or hotel when reserving a room in an area that you are not familiar with or don't know anything about. I would not suggest staying at this motel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lovetraveling71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
La Hacienda Inn Alamodome/Riverwalk
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtow...
#164 of 358 in San Antonio
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Super 8 - San Antonio at I-10
Super 8 - San Antonio at I-10
#239 of 358 in San Antonio
191 reviews
BEST WESTERN Plus Downtown North
#106 of 358 in San Antonio
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Inn Motel

Address: 2203 E Commerce St, San Antonio, TX 78203-1901
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: £50 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alamo Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alamo Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel San Antonio
Alamo Motel San Antonio
Alamo Inn Motel San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing