We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property/resort fee questionable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #15 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I recently stayed at the Eilan, a hotel located within a new real estate development at La Cantera. The property itself is beautiful and the rooms are well appointed and luxurious. I understand that the hotel recently opened this year and it appears that they are working to get things organized. The real estate mixed land use development in which the hotel is located incorporates an Italian theme. Basically, the entire development is empty for the time being. The location of the property is conveniently located close to the La Cantera shopping center. While the common areas of the hotel are wonderfully designed and furnished, I don't understand why they have described the property as a resort and charge a $25 daily fee by virtue of such description. There is a swimming pool adjacent to the front entrance, but other than that, there is nothing that I could see which would justify labeling the property as a resort and charging such a high daily fee. Perhaps the property is in development to add other features which might justify the description, but other than that, I don't get it. Having said that, it is a beautiful property and a good alternative to the Westin La Cantera; however, the resort label fits better with that property. Overnight parking is also expensive. The food at the restaurant was very good and all of the personnel at the hotel were friendly. Housekeeping did neglect to replenish the room with supplies for one of the nights, but overall, the room was very clean and comfortable. I think this property should continue to improve with time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveladvice4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe L, Lead Concierge/Guest Service Supervisor at Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa at Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Thank you for choosing Éilan Hotel Resort and Spa as your Getaway Destination. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and appreciate your wonderful comments about our property, signature restaurant Sustenio and our staff. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

807 - 813 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

The Eilan Hotel is a new hotel with beautifully decorated spacious rooms the gym is state of the art it is a little small but not many people were in the room during my work-out so I didn't mind. Also, they have an indoor lap pool available to all guests which is awesome :D The Pool outside is beautiful with nice fountain lights at night. The hotel is across the street from Six Flags Fiesta Texas and a short drive from the shops at La Cantera shopping mall.

Room Tip: Using AAA will save you a lot of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVSICSPHERES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe L, Lead Concierge/Guest Service Supervisor at Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa at Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thank you for choosing Éilan Hotel Resort and Spa as your Getaway Destination. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Our family of four (my husband and two teenage children) stayed at Eilan Hotel in late July/August this summer. We had a fantastic time. From the time we pulled up to the front door to the time we departed, the staff was outstanding. Upon arrival, they escorted us to our room and then gave us a preview of all the amenities in the room. We were quite impressed. We spent the majority of our second day at the outdoor pool. It was very relaxing. We occupied the cabana's and being that there weren't many guests in the middle of the week, we were able to use three cabanas, all with different features. The poolside service was a plus. My daughter and I walked around the premises and even visited the dance studio. The instructor happened to be there at the time and invited us to attend the evening class.

The architecture of the hotel and surrounding property is beautiful. The grounds are manicured to perfection.

We did not get to indulge in the use of the Spa facilities but hope to have a girls weekend at the Eilan in the near future.

Thank you Eilan Hotel for a fabulous stay!!

Room Tip: Some rooms only have showers (albeit very nice). If you prefer a bathtub, you will need to request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texasgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe L, Lead Concierge/Guest Service Supervisor at Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa at Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thank you for choosing Éilan Hotel Resort and Spa as your Getaway Destination. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you and your girlfriends back in the near future to try our wonderful Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I had a fantastic stay at Eilan Hotel. The hotel staff was accommodating and very friendly. The hotel amenities were beyond my expectations! The location of Eilan hotel is wonderful. There are plenty of shopping and restaurants near, and SIx Flags is right next door. I really enjoyed the landscape around the hotel, I felt like I was in the Mediterranean with the building decor and the tall rock ledges. I definitely recommend staying at the Eilan Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe L, Lead Concierge/Guest Service Supervisor at Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa at Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thank you for choosing Éilan Hotel Resort and Spa as your Getaway Destination. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We previously visited for a tour of the resort. We arrived 9/1, got our room and went down to the pool. We requested a cabana and were told all were taken. We noticed more than half were empty; we were told they were reserved. I told them that when I inquired I was told they were on a first come first serve basis. After a bit we were told they found one for us and took us to one without a TV or Ceiling fan. The couple next to us were smoking (supposedly a non-smoking facility). We were off to a bad first impression. There was very loud thumping music playing, alcohol everywhere and neither I nor my husband liked what we saw or felt. The atmosphere felt sleezy. We returned to the front desk and spoke to the manager Lars. We expressed our concern and he said he would see what he could do; however a cabana with a TV/Fan were not a choice. Now we are in our mid 50's and have stayed at many resorts. A top Customer Service manager would respond; I am so sorry, let me get you a cabana to your liking; I certainly apologize for your inconvenience. Adding, here are 2 breakfast vouchers or similar. Lars was not even close. I told him I wanted to check out and not be charged for the nighty given the circumstances and the fact we had not been on sight 1 hour. Lars said if that's what you want that is fine. When the bellman arrived he could not believe he had just brought our luggage up and now he was taking down. We could not get out of there fast enough. Our three day Labor Day weekend was ruined. We will not return. 2 thumbs down.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe L, Lead Concierge/Guest Service Supervisor at Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa at Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thank you for choosing Éilan Hotel Resort and Spa as your Getaway Destination. Here at EIian Hotel, we take our guest comments very seriously. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that occurred during your stay. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My daughters (ages 3 and 1) met my mother at the Eilan Resort for a quick get away. I was extremely nervous having the girls with me, because they are quite energetic. From the moment we checked in the concierge, Joe Lopez, took amazing care of all of us. He booked a cabana by the pool for us where the baby and I could stay out of the sun but be close enough to watch the big girl play. They have an amazing kid pool that caters to the children of all sizes.
Room service was delectable! The entire staff was extremely polite and took wonderful care of my girls, my mother, and myself!
I have never stayed at a place that I truly didn't want to leave. I will be returning without the girls to take full advantage of the luxorious Spa. I will be recommending Eilan to all my friends and family! Truly an Exquiste place! Thank you, Eilan, for an amazing weekend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe L, Lead Concierge/Guest Service Supervisor at Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa at Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thank you for choosing Éilan Hotel Resort and Spa as your Getaway Destination. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we most certainly pass on your wonderful comments to the staff. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future to try our Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This was an amazing vacation and what made it amazing was the Eilan Hotel. We enjoyed the the luxury of what can only be found in Europe. It was very impressive also the staff very professional and polite. We have travel around Texas to different Spa and resorts this one by far beats them all. It's an Oasis in the middle of the dessert. We enjoyed the Pool with all the cabana's surrounded by palm trees. We used the lap pool several times and it was a great work out. We also used the virtual golf room......what an Entourage moment. The spa was heaven the steam showers were amazing,very calm and soothing such tranquility. The restaurant was great worth every penny. This is a must if staying in San Antonio the only warning is after you stay here no other Hotel will ever do.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isaac E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe L, Lead Concierge/Guest Service Supervisor at Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa at Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you for choosing Éilan Hotel Resort and Spa as your Getaway Destination. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we most certainly appreciate your wonderful comments. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,351 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 358 in San Antonio
4,131 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,216 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 358 in San Antonio
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 18603 La Cantera Ter, San Antonio, TX 78256-2520 (Formerly Eilan Hotel Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection)
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £175 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by picturesque views of Texas Hill Country, Eilan Hotel & Spa is San Antonio's finest luxury hotel. With the intimate feel of a boutique hotel, and the grandeur of Autograph Collection by Marriott, Eilan is ideal for both business and pleasure. The 20,000 sq. Ft. Of elegant space accommodates small meetings to large receptions. Sustenio, the onsite restaurant is focused on serving local and sustainable resources. Experience the fresh Ceviche bar, or sample it all with the 6 course-tasting menu. Relax and rejuvenate in the spa offering lavish treatments including Swedish massage, facials, and manicure-pedicures. Our state of the art fitness center will help you stay fit while away from home. Perfect your swing in the golf simulation room and be sure to lounge by our Texas' number 1 rated pool. End your evening in a luxurious guest room complete with floor to ceiling windows and marble bathroom vanities. Come stay with us and experience the luxury and beauty of San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing