We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“San Antonio” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salado Creek Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Salado Creek Villas
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“San Antonio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We spent Memorial Weekend at the Salado Creek Villas. It was nice the staff was friendly. The place was clean. It was rustic decor nicely updated. We had a two bedroom end unit with lots of privacy. I would have not wanted to be in the pool area where the room are across from each other. It looks like a motel with rows of rooms on one floor. Continental breakfast was ok pancakes and sausage and white English muffins juice yogurt juice cereal milk coffee tea. Similar to spring hill suites breakfast. The best part was free Internet everywhere in the room pool area lobby. I was also able tp print my boarding passes. The area is a little scetchy I wouldn't go for a walk at night. But close to the freeway and downtown. Grocery stores restaurants and Walmart near by.i would come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bevsroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    13
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

As Shell time share owners from Toronto, we drove to San Antonio to stay at the Salado Creek Villas. Our biggest problem was finding the property as it is off the main highway and the GPS does not know that the exit to be taken is an earlier one so that a driver can access the collector lanes. It took us about three days to figure out the Highway turnabout system.
Apart from that , the property is conveniently placed for access to downtown. We had a 2 bedroom unit that was spacious and comfortable. As it was a timeshare we were surprised that breakfast was available every day.
The only negative is that the picture of the outside of the unit with a porch and rocking chairs does not show that the view from the porch is of the asphalt parking lot and the units opposite

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank reynbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown
Level Contributor
144 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Girls at front desk were friendly,helpful. Continental breakfast was ok. The first 2 small plates we got out, still had food on them, had to scrub pots & pans before we washed them. Got the metal spatula out to do eggs, it too had small chunks of food on it, THAT WENT STRAIGHT TO THE FRONT OFFICE!! Got a new one, & a apology from manager. Whirlpool tub broke. Around each water jet was a line of black "mold", where tub meets the wall, more "mold?" First 3 days there the computer located in the main lobby did not work. The round kitchen table, had glass on top of it, food between the table, & glass. The resort had a social meeting, tue.-thur. Free beer,wine,
soda, chips,pretzels. I sure hate to bi@%$, at a free beer party, BUT, my beer was not cold,& pretzels were STALE!!! I have some pictures to back up my words. Just telling it like it is!!!!

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of resort, less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SamMiddletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris County, NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

I wish there was an option between Average and Very Good--the accommodations were good, but there were other aspects that were average.

My husband is a Shell Vacations Club member and owner, and we have stayed at several of their properties around the country. I think this was not the best. The room was comfy and roomy and adequately appointed. The hardwood floors are beautiful and the granite counters were the same as we have at home. With that said, the bed is very small. I'm not sure if they call it a King, but it is not. It's probably not even a Queen. The pillows were also horrible squishy things. A plus was having two televisions and plenty of drawer and closet space. The couch was very comfortable too, and the location is great right off the 410 loop and very close to the airport. We were easily in downtown within 15-20 minutes.

The hot tub was nice and my husband enjoyed using it. It was too cold to use the pool but it was a nice size with lots of space around it. There is a large playground area for children near the pool.

The negatives: the housekeeping service. We stayed here for three nights and all three days we were gone from early in the morning until later in the afternoon. Each day we would return to our room to find it hadn't been tended to yet. Moments after sitting to relax, the maid would appear at the door. This was very annoying and inconvenient, because then we had to disappear for some time. Furthermore, they only refilled towels and emptied garbage, so not sure why it should take all day for them to come. In other Shell resorts, the beds were made. Here they were not. The complimentary toiletries were tiny little bottles. Bring your own conditioner.

The ice machines are located around the property in little huts. That is, if you can find one. I had to go to three different huts before finding an ice machine.

Two of the days we had to leave our room for the maid, we ventured down to the main building to use the computer and sit. Each day it was 4pm (the time for the evening reception) and nothing was being set up. If this took place, it wasn't in a location that we were aware of. We assumed it was where breakfast was, but we never saw anything of the sort.

The breakfast was adequate, and a plus considering most Shell resorts don't include anything. Here it was a variety of cereals, juices, bread and bagels. Also yogurt and packets of oatmeal, peanut butter and hot chocolate.

The only other issue I saw, that wasn't really an issue for us, but might be for others---if you opt to bring food in and cook for yourselves, there is no table and chairs to dine at in the one bedroom unit. There is a desk with a chair, and a couch with an ottoman. While the kitchen is fully furnished, not sure where people are supposed to eat, unless they go outside to a picnic table. There are also BBQ grills located around the property to use.

If we return to San Antonio, we would definitely stay here again, only now we'd have more realistic expectations.

Room Tip: We were in the very back and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tracylesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We spent 7-nights @ Salado Creek and were very happy with our stay. Everything exceeded standards to include the maid service that even showed up on Thanksgiving! We made sure to leave a nice tip for their outstanding work ethic. My only complaints were the room was missing a broom which really sucked because the wonderful wood floors were always getting dirtied by my children and the bathroom which was awesome could have used something in the shower to keep the water off the floor as it was partially open. The rooms were a nice sized and slept my family of seven. The free breakfast was simply - juice, coffee, bagels, bread, oatmeal, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, etc. The employees were friendly and the onsite pool was nice with the pavilion and nearby playground. An easy 5-stars.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melvin3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at this Shell Vacations Club timeshare for 3 nights last week. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit. It was clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. It included an equipped kitchen if you want to prepare meals. I was surprised, considering it is a timeshare, that they came each day to empty the trash and provide clean towels. You definitely need a car, as it is not close to any tourist sites. It is on a busy highway, so be sure to request a room in the back. The continental breakfast was just basic juice, coffee/tea, cereal, toast/bagels and fruit. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: For less highway noise ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 1ParisLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely condo complex. Our unit was clean, quiet, and comfortable. It was easy to get to the highway and to any place we wanted to go. I especially liked sitting on the porch and drinking coffee while watching the squirrels play. We hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: All the units are one-floor condos and fully equipped. I don't know if there are different size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northeast San Antonio
Travelodge Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport
Wyndham Riverside Suites
#179 of 353 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#17 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lackland Hotel & Suites
Northeast San Antonio
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salado Creek Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salado Creek Villas

Property: Salado Creek Villas
Address: 2383 NE Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78217-5602
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northeast San Antonio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Speciality Lodging in San Antonio
Number of rooms: 155
Also Known As:
Salado Creek Villas San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing