We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Location!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Salado Creek Villas
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible Location!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The property location is an unbelievably poor choice on Shell Vacations part! Who on earth puts a timeshare on the same property as a Travelodge??? Within 100 yards of a major highway?? It doesn't help to have the gentleman's clubs, tattoo and body piercing parlors on either side of the street either. The condition of the so called "resort" was extremely poor. The bar-b-que outside our unit was falling apart, literally. The pool has scum on the tiles, and band-aids discarded by "guests" stuck on the concrete. As you lay by the pool trying to relax you have the road noise of a MAJOR highway only 100 yards from the pool. (You are adjacent to the 410 Loop.) The "villas" are nice enough-- aside from stains on the upholstery, and the carpet in need a good cleaning. The furniture is nice, and the kitchen and bathrooms have been updated nicely too. If you moved this property to a desireable location I am sure I would have enjoyed my stay. We checked out 3 days early and went to a hotel. I feel duped by the lovely pictures of the unit on Interval International's web-site--if you plan to stay inside and never leave, the pictures paint an accurate picture. But I wanted a vacation by a nice pool, in a relaxing environment....not off a major highway, sharing the property with an extended stay motel with clientele who don't know the proper disposal of a band-aid is in a trash can. My husband even fished a pen broken into pieces out of the pool at one point. I am shocked someone would actually purchase this property as a timeshare....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Always_have_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    13
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is the first time I have ever written a review, but this needs to be said. This is one of the worst resorts we have ever stayed out. There is nothing I can say that is positive. RCI rates this motel (and I mean motel) as a Gold Crown Resort, with a trading power of 22. We were staying with friends who had booked this condo for a week. It is a Travel Lodge, and not a good one.
The guest bedroom had no chest, no where to put your clothes. The guest bath was filthy. The dinning table was glass top and when we wiped it off, the cloth was black. The wood type floors were sticky and if you were in socks, they turned black. Internet was down all week. The pool hadn't been cleaned in ages. Full of debris and how knows what. One of the jacuzzis was half full on some liquid that was dark brown in color. Had to asked for towels twice. They were suppose to change the linen midweek, not done. The neighborhood has a strip club down the street, and a motel next door where you rent rooms by the hour. Good family place. And the view, the front was a parking lot, and the rear was dirt and a fence.
We have written RCI about this dump and want to know who rates these places.
Please trust me, this place is terrible, I can't imagine anyone with taste rating place above one.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. It's 15 minutes to the River walk and parking is $18.00
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Davidpmac1146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Yes, this is a Travelodge turned into condos, but it is a lovely spot. Although parts of the facility are tired, there were many unit renovations going on in April 2014.The location is great, 10min drive downtown, and close to restaurants and shopping. The outside of each unit is like a cabin with a front porch and two comfy rocking chairs. The unit had everything you needed for a week's stay. A welcome gift of wine, chips, salsa and fruit was waiting. Each morning a continental breakfast was provided in the main lodge. Daily housekeeping was provided and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: An end unit, furthest from the office or facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank npbCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We started out in a time share at the Salado Creek Villas. They had only 1 bedrooms available and it was, as advertised, small. It was adequate, but as we were exchanging a 2 bedroom lockoff so it was a disappointment. However, there was nice Welcome Basket of wine, dip, chips and fruit. There is a continental breakfast served every morning.
We needed to be in San Antonio another week so they rented us a 2 bedroom condo unit. The staff and maids are very friendly, but the place was not clean. The carpet was swept, never vacuumed, so it was very dusty. White slippers were soon very dirty. Towel service was sporadic. I do not believe the spreads/blankets were ever washed, and the decorative pillows were very dusty. We asked them to remove some that were particularly bad as the dust was very irritating and we constantly sneezed until they were removed. Some of the drapes and blinds did not function, some are very broken, we showed the maintenance people as some of the problems are simple to fix, but nothing was done with the easy fixes. We did not expect the needed replacements to be done while we were there, but things like re-connecting the sheers could easily have been fixed in 30 minutes.

It is really too bad, as the staff tries very hard to please, the place is old but has charm, there is a very nice playground for the kids. a barbecue area, a nice pool (large part and kiddy pool unheated, the 3 1/2 ft end overheated. it is a very convenient location. They are in process of remodelling the hotel rooms as old furniture was being hauled away and new put in place. We were in the condo part and probably the owners need to do the repairs.

Room Tip: Not one up front or on the pool. Those can be very noisy. Rooms toward the back are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thepanamakids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, NC
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is not a resort. It is a Travelodge turned into condos. The 2BR condo we stayed in was decorated nicely and it was clean. The beds were very comfortable. The outside of the buildings could stand some remodeling. They told us we had daily housekeeping (included in price). On the 3rd day, I had to pull the sheets off the bed in order to get them to put new ones on when they came in to clean. There was still a small amount of trash around the condo they did not pick up while cleaning. The staff was very helpful and promptly attended to all request. Overall, it isn't a bad place to stay if you aren't looking for overall luxury.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the front of this hotel. It is right on the I-410 loop access road and the traffic c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelcrazy1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We traded a timeshare week from Interval Int. For here. They provided daily continental breakfast, daily maid service, daily newspaper. Also had a bottle of Merlot, bag of chips and bottle of salsa in unit upon arrival. Very clean, everyone very nice. Units need updating. About 3 miles from airport on 410 east frontage road. Heated pool and 2 hot tubs. Our porch faced parking lot, but we had unit in back, so noise was not a problem.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank CSB7152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had a wonderful time in San Antonio and found Salado Creek Villas an excellent place to stay. The service was fantastic with several little extras. The location was close to the sights we wanted to visit but far enough away to be peaceful in the evenings. The kids enjoyed swimming in the heated pool, and we all enjoyed the secluded hot tubs. We also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast each morning. It was crowded but after the first day we just brought it back to our room to eat. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing place, then Salado Creek Villas is an excellent choice!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cindy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northeast San Antonio
Travelodge Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport
Northeast San Antonio
Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South
Northeast San Antonio
Courtyard San Antonio Airport
Courtyard San Antonio Airport
#139 of 356 in San Antonio
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast San Antonio
Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport
Crowne Plaza San Antonio Airport
#224 of 356 in San Antonio
253 reviews
Northeast San Antonio
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio Airport
Uptown Broadway
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport
#157 of 356 in San Antonio
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salado Creek Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salado Creek Villas

Property: Salado Creek Villas
Address: 2383 NE Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78217-5602
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northeast San Antonio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Speciality Lodging in San Antonio
Number of rooms: 155
Also Known As:
Salado Creek Villas San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing