We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff was so friendly and location was great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
Ranked #166 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The staff was so friendly and location was great”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We spent our spring break in San Antonio. With a special needs son it's hard to find a hotel that's a true suite where there's a door on the bedroom. Our son doesn't sleep much so it's nice to be able to close the door. We were greeted by the nicest front desk gentleman. ( the day we left he asked how we liked Morgans playground - which we didn't get to go too as they were closed;(. But the fact that he remembered we had planned to go was nice).One do our lamps didn't work and they fixed it right away. I hate to say anything negative about this hotel because it was a nice stay. But the rooms felt dark.( not a lot of natural light especially in the living room) The wireless wasn't the greatest. So if you need that I wouldn't count on it. The rooms were clean, beds were a little hard but not bad, pillow were good. The elevators but you have to figure that since there's only one.The drier didn't do a good job drying our clothes. The pool was nice. Not heated like they said but still nice. I was really impressed that the GM in her dress was out there helping the other staff move new chairs out to the pool area. Again super nice. Breakfast was pretty good. They kept everything filled. The location was FANTASTIC! Easy to get everywhere. They were close to the river walk. Over all a nice place to stay. Even though I had a few complaints we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey07w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Stacey07w Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Market Square. We were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the property. Thank you for the feedback on some of the issues that you experienced. We take feedback seriously and we're always striving to improve guest experiences. We look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you to the San Antonio area. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express North Downtown Market Square.

Cindy Albano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    69
    49
    30
    27
See reviews for
100
47
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
loveslakes
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Reasonably priced, short drive to Riverwalk area of San Antonio. Plusses: Great friendly service by front desk and breakfast managers. Suite set up in room provided 2 queen beds and TV in one room and sofa, bathroom, kitchenette 2nd tv in other room, with a sliding door between. Clean and well appointed -- full set of toiletries and towels, and a nice touch was including a roll of paper towels and a set of Styrofoam plates/utensils for using the microwave/fridge set up. HVAC unit quiet and accurate. Cinnamon rolls and 1 minute pancakes, hot sausage/scrambled egg products also a plus. Compact Hotel pool heated and clean, with lounge chairs. Could improve on: Bed sheets are thin and minimalist, beds and pillows just 'okay'. Bath sink is small and lights are dimmer than desired --investment in LED lights could brighten it up. Breakfast could use some additional fruit options, and better coffee. Our room was quiet with the brief exception of remote train whistles and one morning the trash truck handling dumpsters was pretty loud. This hotel has free parking -- a definite plus!

Room Tip: 3rd floor away from elevator was quiet, but elevator is slow. We took the stairs a lot which were ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveslakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Loveslakes Thank you so much for the fantastic words about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Market Square. It is not often that someone goes into that much detail in a review and let me assure you it is greatly appreciated. It was great to hear all the things you enjoyed about your stay and that you enjoyed the property and the rooms. I cannot wait to share this with the entire staff of the property so they can see what a stellar job they did for your stay. I must say the entire management team here at the property is very proud to hear what you had to say about the staff. Thank you again for taking so much time to give such a thorough review of the property. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in San Antonio.

Cindy Albano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

It is enough for sleeping, but beds are not so comfortable as in others Holiday Inn Xp. Breakfast good, you can find eggs, coffee, juice, fruit, biscuits, sausages, etc.

It's a shame that pool temp is cold.

Staff atention and service is regular, not that kind.

The rest is very good. Location is good, not in the very downtown but close.



  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Sandral Thank you for taking the time to let me know how your stay was. We here at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Market Square strive on a daily basis to meet the needs of each and every guest. Your feedback is very useful to me in that I can detect trends or how I can improve situations. If you would like to discuss your stay with me in detail, please feel free to contact me directly at hotel. Your "feedback" matters.

Sincerely,
Cindy Albano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed one night on our way to the beach for spring break. We had a travel trailer with us and had no problem parking it in the street next to the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and big and clean!! We all walked to the river walk and the Alamo not far at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aspensong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Aspensong I wish to Thank you for letting me know how awesome your stay was. I also wish to Thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Express Downtown Market Square for your lodging needs. It is not often that someone goes into detail in a review and let me assure you it is greatly appreciated. It was great to hear all the things you enjoyed about your stay and that you enjoyed the property and the rooms. I cannot wait to share this with the entire staff of the property so they can see what a stellar job they did for your stay! Once again, Thank you.

Sincerely,
Cindy Albano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed one night only and generally happy with the hotel, for its location, for the kind staff and the quality of the room. The only thing that I might complain is that, the windows really need to be renovated or upgraded. Noise from the street is almost like we have the windows opened. Also, the breakfast area is pretty small but I believe that it would not be so crowded if it were not Spring Break.

Room Tip: Had the room 419 which was in the back of the hotel near the highway, so, avoid the back of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William6249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
William6249 Thank you for taking time to let me know how your stay was. I appreciate your feedback and will use it to better future stays. I also wish to Thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Express Downtown Market Square for your lodging needs. If you would like to speak with me, please feel free to contact me directly here at the hotel.

Sincerely,

Cindy Albano
General Manager
The Holiday Inn Express Downtown Market Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My husband and I headed to SA for a quick weekend getaway to see a Spurs game. we were checked in by Carlos who was very welcoming and kind. We told him it was one of our first weekends away since our little one was born and wondered if there was any chance of an upgrade. The hotel was pretty booked but he did have a jacuzzi suite available and it was ready for early check in. He also told us he would give it to us at no extra cost!!! We both appreciated his kindness. The room was clean and well stocked. The only issue was the windows may not have shut all the way because anytime the wind blew it howled in the room. BUT, as first time parents we slept right through everything! We would choose this hotel again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tlrojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Tirojas............... I would like to Thank you for taking the time to let me know how "fabulous" Carlos was. We strive on a daily basis to meet the needs of each and every guest. I also would like to Thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Express for your lodging needs.

Sincerely,
Cindy Albano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springville, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We went as a family vacation to San Antonio at the end of January 2014 and were looking for a centrally located hotel. From the first phone call with them I knew we had the right place to stay. They were courteous, friendly and very helpful. They gave us detailed directions from the airport, recommendations on where to eat and sites to see while we were there.
The room was immaculate and comfortable. There was enough space to move around and not feel like we were on top of each other. The maids were very friendly and efficient.
The breakfast they served was very fresh and the 2 servers, Marie and Santa were EXTREMELY helpful and friendly.
The location was great! We were only 15 minutes away from downtown San Antonio, the Alamo and the River walk.
Our family would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling to San Antonio.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
VickyP,Thank you so much for the fantastic words about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Market Square. It is not often that someone goes into that much detail in a review and let me assure you it is greatly appreciated. It was great to hear all the things you enjoyed about your stay and that you enjoyed the property and the rooms. I cannot wait to share this with the entire staff of the property so they can see what a stellar job they did for your stay. I must say the entire management team here at the property is very proud to hear what you had to say about the staff. Thank you again for taking so much time to give such a thorough review of the property. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in San Antonio.

Cindy Albano
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Market Square
102 El Paso Street
San Antonio Texas 78204
(210) 277-1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#123 of 354 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
Address: 102 El Paso St, San Antonio, TX 78204-3101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Downtown Market Area welcomes you. Located in the heart of downtown San Antonio, our all suite hotel has recently been renovated and is just a few miles from The Alamo, the downtown market district and the scenic River Walk, offering convenient access to the San Antonio International Airport. Our hotel is perfect for your next San Antonio vacation. This San Antonio hotel in the downtown market district provides easy access to area attractions including Sea World of Texas, the San Antonio Zoo, Six Flags Fiesta Texas and Splashtown Water Park. Many popular shopping destinations are also nearby, such as the Rivercenter Mall, El Mercado Market Square and the North Star Mall. Other area attractions not far from our hotel in San Antonio include the Alamodome, the San Antonio Convention Center and the AT&T Center, home of the San Antonio Spurs.Business travelers will enjoy a stay at our newly renovated hotel in downtown San Antonio due to its close proximity to companies such as Tesoro, Xerox, Washington Mutual, IBC, Toyota and SBC. Our San Antonio hotel is just 15 miles from the San Antonio International Airport.During your stay at our San Antonio hotel, enjoy the 24-hour fitness center, heated, outdoor pool, relaxing whirlpool and complimentary hot breakfast bar. Check out the discount rates on our quality San Antonio hotel rooms by the River Walk and start planning your visit today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
Holiday Inn San Antonio
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing