We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location good, rooms good, avoid the breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest
Ranked #136 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location good, rooms good, avoid the breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Hotel generally good. Rooms are nice, front desk staff pleasant and helpful.

The breakfast was absolutely appalling - rude and slow service, and terrible, terrible food. Avoid this - there are plenty of other places to eat close-by.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear James L,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our front desk staff and rooms.

However, We’re sorry you about your poor breakfast experience. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    29
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
60
11
2
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Here 2 nights on a family vacation. The hotel is near many restaurants and Walmart is conveniently next door. The room was CLEAN, and that says alot. The young lady at the front desk Holly was friendly, but when asked about the HOT TUB she almost evaded the question. The hot tub was not working and they were expecting a repairman out the next day. Well, no repairman ever. I asked Holly what Holiday Inn planned on doing for their guests that should have access to that hot tub and she politely talked over me avoiding giving a response. I haven't stayed in a Holiday Inn in quite some time and I was honestly impressed by the "appearance", but I do feel as though the guests should have been compensated in some way.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Barb V,

Thank you for leaving us a review. It is pleasing to know that you found our location to be suitable for your needs and our room accommodations comfortable. However, I would like to apologize that you found your stay to be less than satisfactory due to the hot tub malfunctioning. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Despite your disappointment, I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

This would be my family's second time staying at this hotel. We were trying this hotel out after faithfully lodging with another hotel chain for years. The first time everything was great! On this visit, our experience started before we checked in, I called to see where was the nearest pizza place and was left on hold for over 5 minutes. I thought, no big deal, probably busy. We get there, there is hardly anywhere to park, so after midnight we are walking from behind the building with all of our luggage and children. Check In was easy! After being at Sea World & Aquatica all day, all we wanted to do was take a hot bath/shower and go to bed! Well......my kids went first and the tub took over 7 minutes to fill, the water pressure was HORRIBLE and the water was NOT HOT! We had the knob turned to the hottest setting and it was lukewarm!!! I was very upset, we called to the front and was told there wasn't anyone there that could fix it and sorry! So long story short, we spent the next 2 hours getting 4 people bathed/showered because of the low water pressure and non hot water! The next morning, a man showed up to fix the water and asked if we were sure we didn't have hot water b/c he has 6 boilers! We won't be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear S Z,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay and for the negative impression you had with the quality of the service you received regarding the condition of the water you encountered. We will certainly discuss your comments with the relevant department. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to serve you soon in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

We were here 2 nights on a family vacation. Overall this was just an OK visit. While I won't go out of my way to go here again, neither is it a place I would warn people away from:

The good:
- Location, location, location. 5 minutes from Fiesta TX, IMAX theater, and La Cantera mall, even at rush hour.
- Friendly staff
- Clean.
- Slightly upscale decor
- Beds comfortable, if a bit small for 2.
- Reasonably priced given the area
- Mini-fridge, tea/coffee maker, microwave are useful for a family

The bad:
- Very noisy. You hear the neighbors, and REALLY hear anything happening in the hall (which it was). Walls make very noisy pipe sounds if the upstairs neighbors happen to use the plumbing.
- Despite having only one person in front of me, it must have taken 15 minutes to check in on an existing reservation. The phones were going the whole time. Otherwise it didn't seem all that busy.
- After going out the first day at about 9 am, we came back at about 5 pm, and the room wasn't cleaned yet. The maid finished the room next-door and showed up at about 5:15. We said we were going out in a few minutes, and could she come back in just a few minutes. She said she'd do the room next-door first. We came back at about 10pm after seeing a movie, and still not cleaned. Not a disaster, but not convenient either.
- Room was booked for a family of 4 with 2 beds, but only 2 of everything in the room on arrival.
- Of course, no breakfast provided, since this isn't in the 'express' series. We knew this going in, but for the price, I would have expected something to recommend it over an 'express' motel. Pay more, get less...
- Slow internet.
- There is a pool, but it is very small and outdoors, the hot tub wasn't, and the pool view is of a Sam's club parking lot.

I realize reading this that it sounds like it should be worse than a 3, but it really isn't. It is a decent family friendly hotel despite my complaints. Location is quite good :^)

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor. Noise !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve4241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Steve4242,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am glad that you liked our location and found the staff friendly. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the overall dissatisfaction you have experienced during your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Can't say enough good things about the room - king size bed, sofa and lots of room. Very clean and all the extra's. Restaurants close by didn't open for breakfast so we tried the restaurant in the hotel - poor service and awful food. Only one waitress on duty but there were only 2 other people in the room other than my husband and I. We waited quite awhile before she arrived to take our order. Very simple - one hot tea, one decaf coffee and two breakfasts - eggs over easy, breakfast potatoes, bacon and brown toast. We waited a really long time before we got our drinks. One mug of coffee, one mug that was 3/4 full of hot water and a tea bag - nothing else. I asked if they didn't have a tea pot and she said it was easier to bring the mug. I opened the tea bag envelope it came in so I could at least put the tea bag down on something after it had steeped. After about 5 minutes we watched as she carried a tray of food and drinks over to the elevator to deliver breakfast to a room. We waited again for quiet a long time. Finally breakfast arrived. The eggs had a brown greasy film on them, the bacon was so overcooked and hard you could not even begin to eat it. We were asked if we wanted jam for the toast - and we got it, one little packet of grape jelly and one packet of butter each. We carefully divided the jelly into 4 equal pieces to spread over the 4 half slices of toast. When the food was delivered I asked for my second mug of hot water, and I must admit she brought me a second tea bag which was very nice. Food was not worth the price and it took an hour for breakfast. They really need to improve service and quality of their restaurant or they might as well not have one. It was not very busy so I think people try it once and don't go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c0untrygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear c0untrygal,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room the room and cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the restaurant experience and service which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

This is a great hotel in a good location. Rooms were clean and staff was friendly. Beds were comfortable. The kitchenette comes in very handy. There is a Wal-Mart next door for getting drinks and late night snacks to keep in the room. The location is great convenient to downtown and theme parks. This was our second stay and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: 2 room suites are fabulous for family of four
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lady913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort worth,tx
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We booked two nights here (two adults, two tweens) to visit family. The room is very nice, and the staff was very nice and helpful. The beds were very soft and the pillows are super fluffy. The room and bathroom were very clean. However, there were not enough towels for 4 people, and two of the ones we had had a hair stuck in them. Yuck.

There was a mini-fridge, microwave, and a coffee maker in the room which really helps keep food costs down. The flat screen TV was nice and there were many channels to choose from. The shower was awesome, very spacious and really good water pressure.

Kids eat breakfast for free in the in-house restaurant. It's very small, but it works for the size of the hotel. The breakfast buffet was really not great. There were several choices of hot and cold items, though, so it was decent for the price, but we probably would not eat there if they kids weren't free. You have to get a voucher from the front desk for each child for each night of your stay.

The only other complaint I have is the noise from the room doors. Unless you catch it, the door will SLAM shut every time it opens, and it's enough to shake the walls in every room around you. We had a serious problem with the people next to us who were coming in and out literally all night long the first night. The front desk tried to be helpful, but there's only so much they can do. Luckily we were told they were checking out that next morning, so the next night was much better.

Overall, this was a nice stay. I would stay here again, but be sure to check every towel before you use it!

Room Tip: Room 402 is on the end of the building at the far end from the elevators, but it's only a king s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cozumel_my_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Antonio Medical Center North
Northwest Side
Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio At The Rim
Northwest Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest/Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Near La Cantera Parkway
Northwest Side
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fiesta Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fiesta Inn
#44 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Northwest Side
SpringHill Suites San Antonio North West at The Rim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest
Address: 5535 University Heights Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#64 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest. Discover all that San Antonio has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest near UTSA. At our hotel, you will find modern luxury and contemporary southern hospitality. The Holiday Inn & Suites San Antonio near Six Flags is located at the heart of shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts in the Northwest corridor of San Antonio. We are located minutes from Six Flags Fiesta Texas, The Shops at La Cantera, The Rim Outdoor Mall, La Cantera Golf Resort, UTSA, USAA, Medical Center, Valero, KCI, NuStar, FBI Regional Offices, and many more. Getting here is fast and convenient too. Out Hotel boasts easy access to IH-10, Hwy 1604, Loop 410 and IH-35. We are about 10 miles north of the San Antonio International Airport, Downtown San Antonio and the Riverwalk. Whether you are coming to San Antonio for business or just for fun, your room at the Holiday Inn & Suites San Antonio near UTSA is your personal retreat. With amenities such as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet Access, outdoor Pool and Hot-Tub and Kem's, our full service restaurant and bar; you'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing