We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dark hotel with slow internet wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #7 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very dark hotel with slow internet wifi”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Stayed here for a week for business. Hotel is located by the riverwalk, few blocks from theaters, etc. Starbucks and Walgreens nearby for convenience. Stayed in a room on 12th floor. Rooms are very dark. Bathroom wash stand/sink had very slow drainage issues. Wifi was so slow, sometimes it was difficult to even check work email. Not sure if I would stay here if I was paying for the rooms out of my pocket.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soyanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,074
    555
    218
    132
    73
See reviews for
476
1,243
87
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our last trip to SA. Staff were very friendly & helpful, room was beautiful! The layout is a bit confusing when you first arrive, as the front desk is actually ABOVE the entrance, on the second floor- The lobby & common areas are very nice, the whole place has a great vibe/ atmosphere about it. The rooms are quite dark, as others have mentioned, which wasn't an issue for me, but watch out for the bed frame! We loved the bar & restaurant, service & food were excellent. Richard, the bartender, is a very nice guy & does an awesome job! Valet was great, we never waited more than 5-10 minutes for our car (be aware that valet parking is $30/ night- worth it to us, but we weren't told ahead of time). The one weak point that needs to be mentioned was the bathroom. The tub was a bit older & run down (again, not a horrible thing, just not what we expected from a hotel of this caliber)- chips & rust spots in many places. Also, we found many hairs in the bathroom that were not ours (there when we arrived), especially in the sink. But when mentioned to the front desk, corrected... The courtyard was beautiful, especially at night, with the "fire".

Overall, a beautiful hotel and a pleasant stay! I would not reccomend it for families with small children (no pool or real "kid-friendly" areas), but great for a romantic get away or business trip. We visit SA at least 4-5 times a year & enjoy trying out the various accommodations. Hotel Valencia was a treat. For a short stay, we would defiantly return. For a longer stay we would probably choose a location with a pool & more casual atmosphere. So, depending on what you are looking for, this "could" be a wonderful choice!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdh713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Converse, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

A nice high end hotel located on the Riverwalk. First and foremost be aware that there is no swimming pool at this property. My wife and I spent our anniversary here this year and were pleased with the size and quality of our room. The room offered great solitude and was very very quiet. It has a great downtown location with access to verything downtown San Antonio. There was a mild mix up when my luggage was taken to another room with another quest's luggage that was mistakingly placed in my room and then removed to the correct room. Everything was cleared up in short order though.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EISMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Land, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed at the Valencia for two nights at the beginning of November, and we enjoyed it. The location is good, the hotel was nice, and had very friendly, helpful staff. We did not care for the darkness of the lobby and rooms, but they were attractive and clean. We had drinks in the bar and breakfast in Citrus, which was really good. It's a good location for doing all the tourist stuff. We really enjoyed San Antonio, the Alamo was really interesting and the Riverwalk Cruise (evening) was lots of fun (bring your own wine/beer). Also, spend some time in the hotel inner patio area, it has a great fireplace, nice place to sit with wine and mingle with other guests. All in all, it was a very nice time

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosgirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This hotel rocks!! It's a hidden Spanish retreat in the center of touristy San Antonio. I loved the decor, ambiance, and the restaurant was to die for! Couldn't have asked for more!
Great gym, location, and minibar selections.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrszatopek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I personally liked this hotel. But, there is one warning, if you like bright light, it is not hotel for you. It is very stylish, however for somebody it will be too dark. I saw a number of negative reviews only for this reason.
Location: Excellent!!! One of facades is on Riverwalk. Huge amount of bars and restaurants nearby.
Valet parking. Not cheap and one time we were waiting for 10 minutes for our car.
Service good and helpful. We arrive for New Year and didn't book any restaurant. The concierge helped us to fix this issue to our satisfaction).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldMoscower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This hotel is really a first-class place that makes you feel fantastic just for having chosen it! The interior is beautifully decorated and boasts a really cool outdoor patio with a waterfall on the third floor. The morning breakfast is worth paying for, and the beds are super comfortable. The location can't be beat - it's right on the RiverWalk! The breakfast is a bit slow to come out to the table once you've ordered, and it takes quite a while for the valets to bring your car around once you request it. Just plan accordingly and call for your car 30 minutes before you need it!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieLynn2158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 356 in San Antonio
3,727 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 356 in San Antonio
3,177 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 356 in San Antonio
1,477 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#12 of 356 in San Antonio
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the San Antonio River Walk, within walking distance of the Alamo, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is a short walk from the San Antonio Convention Center, downtown attractions and only a short drive to The Pearl, theme parks and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Naranja bar and dine in Dorregos Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing