We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #10 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Taylor, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I wouldn't stay again”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My husband took me to San Antonio for an early Valentines Day get away. The hotel is quite a ways from the lively part of the riverwalk. We paid extra for the river view, however the shutters they have infront of the window wouldn't open due to the celing. When we looked out there were homeless people hanging around the walkway. The following morning, we found a cockroach crawling across the restroom wall. The staff was great, but we feel we overpaid for the room.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burnstx32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear burnstx32,

We really appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to complete the review. It is disappointing to see you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We apologize for the insect issue as well as the issue you had with your shutters. The first is a rare occurrence and we assure you we will properly follow up and address the issue. There are a few rooms in the hotel where, due to the configuration, the shutters don't open all the way. We will be addressing and correcting this issue in the near future.

We hope you will consider a return visit in the future. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to express our sincerity and restore your confidence in us.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,023
    551
    217
    132
    72
See reviews for
467
1,222
84
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chcago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

But that rating is off the scale - as my stay was. Great job Wayne! The service was impeccable! If your considering a moderately high end hotel - don't bother, this is THE PLACE you want. Convenient to everything in downtown. Rooms very clean and updated. "Texas friendly" staff. Can't wait to return and visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pss_offd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear pss_offd,

We'll be happy to take the "6"! We are glad you had the opportunity to stay with us. Thank you for the review, and the kind word about Wayne. He is an awesome part of our management team and we are fortunate to have him.

We look forward to having you return soon, if your travels bring you back to San Antonio. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance until then.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wharton, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Hotel is very nice, and very close to the Riverwalk! Stayed the 2nd weekend in January and was not overly crowded. Service was good, staff was friendly and very helpful. Would recommend to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Miranda H,

It means everything to us to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to mention the staff.

We hope to see you in the hotel again. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I enjoyed the room and the hotel was nice and clean. Staff was friendly and fast when we needed anything. This is our new home away from home when in San Antonio. We would recommend this hotel to any one that is going to San Antonio for business or fun.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lsal14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Lsal14,

We really appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to complete the wonderful review. You "Love" the fact that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I actually heard about this hotel 10 years ago from a great friend and so I was fortunate to stay at the hotel for a business trip during the week of January 15th. The hotel lighting and arrangements from when you enter the hotel to when you camp out in your room are all delightful. It has a nice set up subdued colors that invite you to relax. The board room for the hotel is well appointed and sharp. Some of the rooms have a view of an inner courtyard, which had a south western look. We ordered lunch from the restaurant. The food was great, and tasty- the seafood was fresh and enjoyable. I would definitely go back there for business or a vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeC31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear LeeC31,

The 5-star review is greatly appreciated. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with others. We are glad to see we could live up to 10 years of anticipation.

We hope to see you in the hotel again soon, for business, or leisure. Please let us know if we may be of any assistance until then.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed at the Valencia for 3 nights. The hotel is very trendy. Right on the river walk and near several areas. The staff very attentive. Their restaurant "Citrus " was good and their M'adre d Adam was great. Only to negative: a) no hotel sundry store to purchase goods ( snacks, cold medicine etc ) and b) no spa especially when the weather was horrible.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear dr214,

We appreciate you staying with us at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk and taking the time to write your review. Adam is an essential part of the management team and it's great to see his efforts acknowledged. We wish we could have done something about the weather while you were here.

We hope you have the opportunity to visit when it's a bit warmer. Please let us know if we may be of any assistance until then.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Loved this hotel. On our honeymoon...they put iced cava in our room and arranged rose petals in a heart across our bed, along with strewing them on the floor in a pathway around the bed! Everyone friendly, love the decor, and I agree with another reviewer - the soap products were fabulous!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulasforlunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear lulasforlunch,

We are honored that you chose to stay with us for such an important occasion and It means everything to us to see you enjoyed your visit with us. Special occasions are our specialty.

Thank you for completing the review and sharing your experience with others. We hope to see you in the hotel again soon and we'd love to have you back for some anniversaries. Let us know if we can be of any assistance whatsoever.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,641 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,125 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 355 in San Antonio
1,446 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 355 in San Antonio
2,788 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the San Antonio River Walk, within walking distance of the Alamo, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is a short walk from the San Antonio Convention Center, downtown attractions and only a short drive to The Pearl, theme parks and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Naranja bar and dine in Dorregos Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing