We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, horrible internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #10 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
1 review
“Good hotel, horrible internet”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Enjoyed the hotel. The word swanky, used in other reviews, seems to describe it well. Had a lot of nice touches, such as bathrobes, nice shower products, a magnifying mirror, a minibar, etc., that I appreciated! It is a bit dark inside, including the rooms. The breakfast room service menu is great, but the dinner menu is fairly limited (and fairly pricey). The walls are also fairly thin, meaning that hallway noise is easy to hear. One night I could clearly hear my neighbor's TV for several hours, though it may have been turned up. This was not otherwise a problem during late-night hours. My 4-day stay was, unfortunately, overcast with the horrible internet. I was traveling on business, and needed reliable, consistent internet in order to launch my work's virtual desktop system. The internet was slow, spotty, and kept going out completely, which made it near impossible to work. While this poor connectivity was apparent even when doing some light internet browsing (cnn and facebook pages even failed to load, or loaded slowly), it was hugely amplified when trying to do work remotely through the virtual desktop system. I will be traveling back to San Antonio in two weeks, and would love to return to this hotel, but will stay elsewhere due to this issue. If you're stay will only require some light internet browsing, I'd recommend Hotel Valencia. If you will be reliant upon a good internet connection, beware.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear KatieM99,

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk and taking the time to write such an informative, objective review. We understand how important it is to have functional Wi-Fi and we apologize for you having had such a poor experience.

We are all very happy to be able to say that we are currently in the process of upgrading our entire Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, a process that will be complete in the next few weeks. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit again and see the improvement.

Please let us know if we can ever be of any assistance .

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,991
    548
    216
    132
    72
See reviews for
456
1,209
83
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Four days at the Valencia and first time in San Antonio.

Gorgeous city, great restaurant and the Valencia is extremely well located on E Houston Street. Full of history.

Great décor, perfect doorman service, cleaning is great, décor and furnishing great as well.

CONS:
Awful wireless, you cannot work nor browse.
Uncomfortable bed and even worth pillow for an hotel of this category.
Very small room, no possibility to open the windows.

I guess not a great place for summer as no pool, a tiny courtyard and very dark room.

Won't come back to this hotel but yes to san Antonio.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChefChristophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear ChefChristophe,

We really appreciate you staying with us at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk. As with all of our guests, we strive to create a flawless experience for you throughout your stay. It is disappointing to see we fell short on so many marks and we apologize for the less than ideal experience.

We are taking the mention of the Wi-Fi to heart and I assure you we are addressing this with our service provider. Having reliable, high-speed internet access in a hotel room is a minimal expectation and we will it shore up immediately. We will be addressing the other items you mention and will address each to the best of our ability. All feedback is important to us and again, we appreciate you bringing these details to our attention.

Hopefully we can see you back in the hotel if you make it return to San Antonio. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The valets were very attentive and I'm pretty sure I didn't have to open the door myself all weekend! Its proximity to the Alamo and the Riverwalk make it the perfect place to stay if you're there to see the sights & don't want to do a lot of driving. I signed up for the VVIP program & was delighted to receive a couple of complimentary beers delivered to our room. My only complaint is that on both nights we were there, some other guests had decided to move their parties to the courtyard and the noise woke us up. Someone must have complained because I heard an employee requesting that they keep it down but then the noise level escalated again and they were asked to leave the courtyard. It wasn't that late (11-11:30pm) but I chose the courtyard room because they told me they tend to be quieter. One word of advice, give the valet plenty of notice to get your car. The wait can be quite long with so many people checking out at the same time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Victoria P,

We appreciate you staying with us at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay and thank you for all your feedback. We apologize for the noisy neighbors. We have had some other guests mention the same recently and we will be monitoring the area more closely on the weekends to mitigate the issue.

We hope to have you stay with us again the next time you make it to San Antonio. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in the mean time.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Right from the greeting from the front door staff this hotel has great service and an over the top staff. Just a few moments before arrival we passed by the Majestic Theatre and noticed that Hall & Oats had a concert that night. The outgoing "ISRAEL" the senior bellman asked if we needed luggage help etc and we said yes and mentioned the concert that night and he said "would you like to go to?" we responded YES He first suggested going to the box office but if no luck see him as he could call a ticket reseller and get us tickets......briefly he arranged the tickets.....had them delivered to the hotel....made a dinner reservation at a great restaurant The Palms for us and could not have been more helpful............needless to say we had a great time and think that Israel should be commended by the hotel management for his efforts.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Brian T,

We truly enjoy reading reviews like yours. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share you experience with others. It means a lot to us to see on of our team members mentioned by name. Israel is an integral part of our operation and he is very good at what he does. Thank you for taking the time to recognize him.

We look forward to seeing you in the hotel again if your travels lead you back to San Antonio. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance until then.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Very disappointed in this supposedly wonderful hotel. The rooms were nice but if you wanted to watch TV from bed it was very difficult due to the fact the bed faces the windows and the TV is on the side wall and can't be turned at all. Also when one pays the price for this hotel you would expect maid service but this didn't happen. I am fine with not changing linens every night but I didn't know that meant no clean towels, no coffee and full garbage cans. Also we found the remote control under the sheets in a "clean bed" which makes one wonder. Also the prices for the room goodies like water was off the top. $6.00 for a bottle of water(20 oz.). I have gotten better service a big chain hotel with nothing special. The only positive was the restaurant and the wonderful service we had and the door men who were always there to open the door.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aztek62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Aztek62,

We really appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to complete your review. We apologize for the disappointing stay. Your feedback is very important to us and we will use it in our efforts to provide the best hotel experience possible. Our housekeeping team is addressing the service issue and we can assure you we will improve our consistency in this area.

We hope that the next time you are in San Antonio, we will see you in the hotel again, and you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with the 5-star, Amazing experience you should have received. Please contact us if we can be of any assistance whatsoever.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Valencia for a random overnight stay in the Traditional Riverview King. Upon arrival the valet was very courteous and attentive. The hotel has an upscale urban vibe with low lighting and is chic without being pretentious. The room was very clean and comfortable, and there is great attention to detail when it comes it amenities. The linens were very soft, even down to the towels (which were by far the nicest I have ever used). The noise control is excellent, I never heard people down the hall or my neighbors next door.

The only complaints I had was with the room service menu which is a bit sparse, and didn't have very many options. Also, I called 15 minutes ahead for my car in the morning, only to be greeted with no car and a very grumpy valet (maybe it was too early?).

This is a great hotel to stay at and well worth the money. If I had any recommendations I would spruce up the bathroom tub, it was very standard and boring for a hotel of that prestige.

Room Tip: Get the river view, it worth the extra money, and the courtyard isn't very impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaTexan2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear JaTexan2004,

Thank you for the great, objective review. We appreciate you staying with us. We are currently in the process of updating the Room Service menu, something we are eagerly anticipating. "Grumpy" on the Front Drive will also be addressed. While we appreciate the lighthearted approach, this is something you should never experience in a hotel, much less our hotel.

We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you need a night out of the house. Please let us know if we can ever be of any assistance whatsoever.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We just spent 3 nights at the Hotel Valencia and very much enjoyed this wonderful property. The hotel is staffed by some of the most attentive and accommodating folks you will ever encounter. The location is outstanding and from the Valencia you can easily walk to Alamo Plaza or the Mercado. The hotel has a great feel to it and the V Bar is awesome. One last tip, try a burger while sitting at the V Bar and pair it with one of the craft beers on tap. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kwk367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear kwk367,

We really appreciate you staying with us at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your experience with others. Seeing you recognize our staff as they are, "attentive and accommodating", means everything to us. Of course we also appreciate you mentioning the burgers in the bar, beer too.

We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in San Antonio. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance until then.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,561 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the San Antonio River Walk, within walking distance of the Alamo, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is a short walk from the San Antonio Convention Center, downtown attractions and only a short drive to The Pearl, theme parks and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Naranja bar and dine in Dorregos Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing