We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni La Mansion del Rio(San Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mokara Hotel and Spa(San Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,248)
Filter reviews
3,248 results
Traveller rating
2,218
585
228
140
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,218
585
228
140
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnicole phillipsisrael gonzalezvalet supervisorthe river walkcourtyard roombeautiful hotelhouston streetvalet parkingmajestic theaterromantic getawayvalet serviceupon checkcitrusmouradvvipriverwalkacenar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,190 - 2,195 of 3,248 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It's relatively small. Initimate. And has a great bar. It has a spa-like atmosphere with some beautiful indoor and patio fountains. Has a few rooms that open up to an inner courtyard and is on the riverwalk so everything is in easy walking distance. Well worth checking out. Found the front desk staff a bit aloof and housekeeping needs a small bit of improvement but overall its a great place to stay although the overnight parking charges are steep.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisinSOCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear ChrisinSOCA,

We appreciate you staying with us and thank you for the 5-star review. It is disappointing to see your comment regarding the Front Desk and Housekeeping. We apologize for the shortcomings you experienced and we will take the opportunity to work on our consistency.

We hope you enjoyed everything about your trip to San Antonio and hope you'll make it back soon. Let us know if we can ever be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Trent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel is on a relatively quiet part of the Riverwalk. And the rooms are quiet and of reasonable size. The staff is really helpful and they know a good deal about San Antonio. The one point I would make that could be a negative is that the place is dark - -really subdued lighting everywhere even in the rooms. This is not necessarily bad -- but I alwways felt like I would bump inteo something -- it is that dark.

Room Tip: The Acenar restaurant below the hotel has excellent food. It is 'tex-mex' and some unusual items. But it can be noisy -- and may require a reservation.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QQ1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear QQ1234,

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk and taking the time to complete your review. It means a lot that you took time to mention the helpfulness of the staff.

We hope to see you in the hotel again the next time you make it down from D.C.. Please let us know if we can be of assistance until then.

Sincerely

Trent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The entire staff was wonderful. I received a complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates for my birthday. This hotel had the best service. I had stayed at the Hilton in the past in DC and the service was terrible. When I go back to San Antonio, Hotel Valencia will be my hotel of choice.

Room Tip: We stayed in a regular king size bed room. Since we are not the type to stay in a room all day it would not be worth spending more money for a room with river views. The rooms are semi dark, but it added a romantic touch for us. However, parking was not free, but we like convenience, so we didn't mind paying the $30 a day. We had in-out with parking so that was an added value.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picktay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear picktay,

We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate the 5-star review. Thank you for sharing your experience with others.

We hope its not too long before you make it to San Antonio again. We'll look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Trent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The hotel & staff are very nice. The main problem is the darkness of the hotel rooms. Dark furniture, blinds & poor lighting is a hazard! I hit my leg on the edge of the bed 3 times causing a puncture on my knee and bad bruising down my leg! Not good! Please get better lighting or lighter colored furniture!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bridget F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Bridget F,

We are glad you had the opportunity to stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to mention our staff. We apologize for the experience you had with guestroom lighting. While we are consistently known as the most romantic hotel on the Riverwalk, we understand that we should more light available for those who prefer it. We are currently experimenting with different lighting options and hope to roll something out soon.

We hope you will see you in the hotel again the next time you make it to San Antonio. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance.

Thank you,

Trent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Did not started well.
Upon arrival, I was told twice to go around the block by 4 valet parkers as there was no room for welcoming new checkins. I noticed there were more than 6 vehicles parked blocking access to the lobby an nobody tending to these cars.
At breakfast, when presented the tea selection tray, it was half empty .
Elevators were capricious, toilet was barely flushing in my room.
No fresh mint for a mojito on sunday night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreLexulois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear jeanvacances,

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your experience. It is disappointing to see you had an overall poor experience in our hotel. Every aspect of your stay is important to us and we apologize for falling short on the service provided, in so many areas. These are not issues you should expect to have when staying with us.

Please be assure that we will take your comments and improve our consistency. We hope to see you in the hotel again. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to recover your confidence in us.

Sincerely,

Trent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews