We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #12 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Have stayed here before. Nice hotel on riverwalk. FYI - If you are light sleeper choose court yard view rm. The court yard closes at 10pm and the only thing I heard was the water feature, soothing. Rooms here have nice balcony with 2 chairs & table, however, they are not private. Service is great here. Hotel is in nice area with restaurants & shopping nearby. You are in walking distance to so many things....Market Square (Mexican Market), Alamo, fun attractions for the kids, etc. Beautiful lobby to meet friends or just relax. Hotel Valencia has a calming zen-like feel to it. I will return!

Room Tip: Court yard view rooms are quiet. City view and riverwalk view rooms can be quite noisy late at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Becky C,

We are glad you enjoyed your trip to San Antonio and your time in the hotel. The comments regarding the features and décor of the hotel are greatly appreciated. Thank you for sharing your experience with others.

We look forward to having you back when you make it back down. Let us know if we can be of any assistance until then.

Thank you,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,877
    527
    212
    132
    72
See reviews for
432
1,171
78
528
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a very hip and cool hotel located right on the river walk. The staff is friendly and the manager was very attentive. The weight room is small but very nice and they have two restaurants and a bar. Rooms are nice, clean, and my girlfriend was impressed she could charge her iPhone 5 in the room after leaving her charger in the car. Valet parking only.

This hotel is right on the river walk with access by stairs or elevator. The elevator was very handy in our case because we were traveling with an elderly woman with limited mobility. Just take a left and you are a short walk to the Alamo.

I reserved two rooms through Hotwire for a one night stay on 04-23-14. I called ahead to ask for a handicap accessible room since we were traveling with my girlfriend’s elderly mother who has trouble with mobility. When we arrived at 3:00 PM they had two adjoining rooms reserved for us with one a handicap room. Our room was ready but her mother’s wasn’t. The second room was ready an hour later but unfortunately smelled like smoke. In the end we wound up with rooms on two different floors, but we did have another accessible room.

My girlfriend and her mother were very agitated because of the wait, smell, and necessity of moving to another floor. Rudy was the manager on duty and he handled the situation and guests with professional ease. He calmed them both down, apologized for any inconvenience, and gave us a complimentary breakfast. Everyone was happy after that and Rudy even saw us off the next day opening the car doors for the ladies.

What impressed me was the way the staff went out of their way to accommodate the room request. Sometimes when I book through Hotwire the staff is very inflexible

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Ray N,

What a great Review! Thank you for staying with us and sharing you experience with others. It's disappointing to see we didn't get your room right the first time however good to see we recovered. Rudy is a valuable asset to our hotel and he and his team are relentless in their effort to provide exceptional service.

We hope you have the opportunity to make it back down to the Riverwalk again soon and hope to see you in the hotel. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance until then.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I was here for a business meeting and had a most relaxing stay. The rooms are very spacious and free from clutter. I had a room which opened onto the interior courtyard - loved the fountain and flames. The low level of lighting in rooms and public spaces is very soothing. The bar/lounge areas are very comfortable too. The best thing is the location, right along the Riverwalk. I'll be back if I return to San Antonio.

Room Tip: Rooms that open to the interior courtyard are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beau S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Beau S,

We appreciate you staying with us at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk and taking the time to write such a great 5-star review. We also believe we have the best location on the Riverwalk, just around the corner from the noisier part, and walkable to SAMA and the Pearl. Thank you for this and the other kind mentions.

We are happy to have had you in the hotel and look forward to your next visit. Let us know if we can be of assistance until then.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Overall, we had a great stay. My kids loved the room.

Valet service was great, lots of friendly staff ready to meet your needs. The bell hop delivered our luggage while we checked in, very convenient! The room was nice (two beds) but my only complaint would be the drawer space. There was a 3'x4' closet and only two inlaid drawers below the room safe, not counting the bedside drawer. The room had a nice long countertop/shelf that was very useful but the space underneath was empty. Perhaps the management should consider adding more drawer space there. Breakfast at the Citrus was great, they have a buffet with lots of options. My kids loved room service as well.

Great location! Away from the main Riverwalk activities but close enough to get there (about one block away). There is a drugstore (Walgreen Drugs) a block away on Houston (to the right as you exit the main hotel entrance), along with two coffee houses (Starbucks and "Sip"). On Houston there several dining options as well.

I would definitely consider staying here next time in San Antonio.

Room Tip: If you don't like overstuffed pillows consider packing your own. The bed and linens were in goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Mike L,

It was great to have you as a guest at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful survey and share your experience with others. It means everything to us to see you enjoyed your stay.

Please let know the next time you plan on visiting San Antonio. We would love to have you return to the hotel.

Thank you,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

The person who posted the comment about the wifi below was correct, and even got a response from management. But,I'm staying at the hotel right now and the wifi is either not working, and when it does is super slow. I've called three times and in all instances I've been told they don't know of any problem. I will not stay here again, and will not recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Jose V,

We really appreciate you staying with us and appreciate your feedback. We understand that effective, consistent Wi-Fi is an essential when traveling and we apologize for the poor experience.

We are in the process of upgrading, as you saw from my response to the previous guest with the same issue. We have received the new equipment for the install and are just awaiting the install date from the service provider. We look forward to having this up and running ASAP.

We hope to see you return to the hotel in the near future and get your feedback on the upgrade. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance until then.

Thank you,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Delighted with our stay on March 16-18. Staff recovered nicely from Spring Break/SXSW festival held in nearby Austin last week. Our room was even ready for an hour early check in on a Sunday. Nicely done and much appreciated. Five stars for the attention to small details and in room amenities. Genuinely friendly folks, as we have come to expect everywhere in San Antonio where hospitality is an ingrained cultural value. We WILL do it again. Soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. A limited number are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Rick S,

The 5-star review means a lot to us. We are glad to see you enjoyed your experience. It is easier to run a successful hotel when you fill it with people engrained with Texas hospitality. Thank you for taking the time to mention the associates.

We look forward to doing it all over again the next time you make it up to San Antonio. Please reach out to us if we can be an any assistance whatsoever.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a quick trip to the Valencia and was very happy with property. Fantastic location right on the river, with friendly staff and good dining options right on property. Comfortable, clean and stylish rooms, that could be a bit quieter, if your on the river side. Overall, very satisfied and would definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Drinkwater11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Drinkwater11,

The pleasant review is greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with others. Your mention of the staff means a lot to all of us..

We look forward to seeing you again when you return. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance until then.

Thank you,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,381 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the historic San Antonio River Walk, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in San Antonio located in the heart of downtown. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo and other downtown attractions and only a short drive to Sea World, Six Flags Fiesta Texas and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Vbar and dine in the acclaimed Citrus Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary high speed internet and newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing