We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for Business Travelers. Actually, Not for Anyone.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #10 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Lusaka, Zambia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not for Business Travelers. Actually, Not for Anyone.”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is simply not a business hotel and not set up for guests to work in their rooms (few outlets, poor lighting, un-ergonomic chairs).

The room I was given is in poor condition, the bed frame rattles terribly-- any small motion sets it off -- and the mattress is the worst I’ve slept on since college (a long, long time ago). A saggy, clammy puff-top. And you couldn't find the linens at Target, because they wouldn't stoop to selling this quality. The air conditioning is erratic as well. Worst night's sleep I've had since I had malaria in Guinea Bissau in 1992.

I travel, primarily for business, about 150 nights per year. Reading the positive reviews, it seems like those folks are staying somewhere else or, in some cases, they must have been too inebriated from celebrating on the Riverwalk to notice their surroundings. I can't fathom why, except for the dramatic decor and friendly staff, this hotel gets any positive feedback at all.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Herb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Herb G,

We appreciate the feedback and will weigh it into our decisions as we move forward. It's disappointing to see that any of our guests has a less than ideal experience. We absolutely agree with you that our dramatic decor and friendly staff. It is what sets us apart from the other hotels. Our sheets are 250 thread count Egyptian Cotton and our beds are just over a year new. Our plush pillow top mattresses are definitely on the soft side. Just two months ago we replaced one of our existing chillers with a 40 ton chiller that supplies us with more than enough cold air to chill the entire hotel. We have checked the room you stayed in to ensure everything is as it should be.

We apologize for the poor experience and again, appreciate the feedback. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,990
    547
    216
    132
    72
See reviews for
456
1,208
83
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I did not make the reservation for the Hotel, but from the service I received without having done so, I would think it would have been quick, easy and with a smile.

Valet was a piece of cake and they gentlemen were exceedingly friendly and helpful.

Check in was a breeze, once you found the elevator. That was the only issue. We carried all of our bags up the stairs because we couldn't easily see the elevator sign. Granted we had been traveling for hours in a car and were really tired, so there may have been signage we didn't notice. I had forgotten a toiletry item and requested it at the front desk. Before we even went upstairs to our room they had already delivered the item. Impressive!

We asked for recommendations for a great restaurant in the area and both the concierge and the doormen had plentiful examples of any type of cuisine you could want.

Location was great! East access to everything including the River Walk, downtown nightlife, Starbucks, Drug stores etc. But it was exceptionally quiet, which I loved.

The beds were really comfortable and the room was spacious. Floor to ceiling mirror was very helpful, although the location was odd as half of it was behind a sitting chair. Shower curtain didn't cover the entire tub space, so our floor got fairly wet but it was tile and easily wiped up.

We were the first room outside of the elevator and I was a bit worried; however, it was very quite and peaceful. I never heard a peep from the hallway or the elevators running. I could hear muted conversations between the walls, but it wasn't enough to bother us at all.

Overall, we had a great stay and would do so again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soccergal_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear soccergal_34,

It's a pleasure reading through such an informative, detailed review. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay. Of course we want your experience to be flawless so it's disappointing to see you didn't get an escort to the Front Desk. And for the short shower curtain, we had some of them get mixed up in our inventory and thought we had eradicated them. We will find the one you had and make it gone for good. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Let is know if there is any way we can be of assistance. We hope to see you in the hotel the next time you make it to San Antonio.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

San Antonio, Texas isn't exactly known for its hip, sexy hotels, but Hotel Valencia is exactly that and reasonably priced! The lobby is dark and romantic and the bar scene is always great for grabbing a drink before or after dinner. The rooms all offer views of either downtown or the Riverwalk, but even their standard rooms have large mirrors propped up against the walls and leather armchairs to relax in after a long day of work or play. With an ideal location right on the Riverwalk, you can walk to some of the city's best restaurant's including the newest and hottest area of the Riverwalk where the former Pearl Brewery was located. Whether you're visiting San Anton for business or pleasure, hopefully you can bring your significant other for a romantic stay at Hotel Valencia.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5_Star_Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear 5_Star_Holly,

"Hip and Sexy" is exactly what we are going for and we are happy to see we delivered. It's great to read through your review and we appreciate you sharing your experience with others.

We look forward to seeing you in the hotel the next time you make it to San Antonio. Please let us know if we can be of assistance until then.

Thank you!

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
Level Contributor
258 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 661 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was a fast paced business visit. Buy the hotel stands out in memory. Hotel Valencia Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas is a very good venue for a business meeting. If you are staying at the hotel, it is located in one of the most romantic hotel settings in America. The food is good, the service attentive and the meeting rooms adjustable and well supported. We found nothing to complain about. It helps in San Antonio if you speak a little Spanish. The city is not as crime free as it once as. Use the taxi cabs provided by the staff. Very agreeable stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in good condition. Try to overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roemanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear roemanner,

It is a pleasure to see your 5-star review. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience with others.

Hopefully the next time you stay with us, you have a little bit more time to relax and soak of more of the leisure side of what the city has to offer. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance until then.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

My husband, I, and my 6 month old son were visiting a friend while attending Fiesta activities. Overall the Hotel Valencia on the Riverwalk was a very comfortable stay. The hotel was easy to find but can be a bit tricky during Fiesta due to parade road closures. The valet option was pricey at $29 a night plus tax, but worth it when there is a large event going on in the city. The hotel seemed very secure. The staff was very friendly and observant at the time we were there and the elevators only operate when a room key is used which was nice. Our stay was brief but the room was beautiful and comfortable. There were plantation shutters as window treatments, stocked mini bar (no room in the mini fridge for you to put your own items; mini bar only), clean and well decorated bathroom, the check in/out desk is located on the 2nd floor, and the decor was very appealing. I will say that if you have a city view (view of the street) it can be a little loud in the evening from the late night Riverwalk stragglers walking around the city that have partied too hard. Other than that we never heard any of the people in the adjacent rooms. This was our first time in San Antonio and we were very pleased with this hotel. It is in walking distance of shopping and dining and if you decide not to venture around the Riverwalk, the outlet malls are not too far away. If we find ourselves back in San Antonio or are asked to recommend a hotel in the area, the Hotel Valencia would be our top recommendation.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Kimberly A,

It has been a pleasure to read through your review. Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed account of your stay with others. We appreciate the kind words and appreciate you acknowledging the friendliness of our staff.

We hope you have the opportunity to visit San Antonio again in the near future and we hope to see you in the hotel. Let us know if we can be of assistance until then.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I Love this hotel, the vibe, the decor, the staff and everything... It is conveniently located right on the riverwalk. It is everything you'd expect from a San Antonio hotel, from the views, the friendly staff, the food and decor. This hotel is great !

Room Tip: One with a balcony overlooking the river walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nenajal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear nenajal,

We really appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to complete the 5-star review. Your experience is very important to us and we a glad you shared it with others.

We look forward to seeing you in the hotel again the next time you make it over from Houston. Please it know if we can ever be of assistance.

Thank you,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Family vacation in early April for spring break. We checked in late at night. When the taxi pulled up the hotel, not one valet/bellman could be bothered to stop texting in order to assist us with our luggage or even acknowledge our arrival. Entered the hotel and had to lug several pieces of luggage, with two exhausted children, up two flights of stairs to reception. We only discovered later that there was an elevator hidden behind the stairwell. We were given a room as requested on a high floor. However, immediately upon entry, noticed foul smell and large white stain near windows. Had to call down to get a new room. Next night, after the kids had gone to sleep, we heard a blaring announcement in the hallway that the "fire alarm" was a false alar. The only problem was that we never heard a fire alarm! Immediately called downstairs to front desk and were told that it was a problem in the kitchen of the hotel restaurant. Not a good feeling. Hallways always smelled stale or foul, all of us commented on it every time we walked in the hallway.
I also received an email during my stay that said I had checked out and enclosed my invoice. So during an all day tour I had to call and email the hotel to straighten that out. Finally, when we checked out, I was charged for four nights of valet parking even though we had not rented a car or valet parked. Staff was never responsive, always indifferent. When I noticed the valet charges on my way out of the hotel, I immediately backtracked to the front desk to have it removed. The young woman pulled an attitude and grudgingly removed the charges. She said it was my misunderstanding of her, I stood there shocked and could not believe what I heard.
I did email and call the General Manager, but have yet to speak to him about these issues. I wouldn't stay at this property again. So many other choices and less hassle.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NewJersey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear NewJersey4,

I sincerely apologize for the poor experience you had at our hotel. This is not the type of service you should expect and it is very disappointing to see that any of our guests could have had so many issues during their stay. I assure you we take these things seriously and I do look forward to speaking with you about them. We have attempted to contact you through email and have even left a voice mail. Please email me at tfreeman@valenciagroup.com at your convenience, or call the hotel at 210-227-9700 and ask for Trent.

Thank you,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#20 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,557 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,080 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the San Antonio River Walk, within walking distance of the Alamo, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is a short walk from the San Antonio Convention Center, downtown attractions and only a short drive to The Pearl, theme parks and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Naranja bar and dine in Dorregos Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing