We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #10 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful Stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a great "romantic getaway" place to stay. We spent the most recent Memorial Day weekend at this hotel, and "quiet" is an understatement. We felt like we were the only people in the hotel. The staff was attentive and professional, the room was perfect and well maintained.

We had a couples massage, and it was marvelous. The front desk recommended it, and we were not dissappointed.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Advrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Advrdr,

We appreciate the 5-star review! Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with others. Its great to see you enjoyed the weekend.

We hope to see you return and stay with us again when you travels bring you back to San Antonio. Let us know if we can be of assistance until then.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,023
    551
    217
    132
    72
See reviews for
467
1,222
84
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Webster
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked in, we knew this place was special. The front desk is located on the second floor, with a huge, 2-story waterfall/wall facing it. It is appropriately, romantically lit, with beautiful art, cozy sitting areas and lighting accents all over.

The hotel room itself was so inviting...very spa-like, with a huge floor to ceiling cherry wood framed mirror that leaned against the largest wall and dark wood louvre shades over the windows. We loved that the room was not jam-packed with furniture - the wall opposite the bed and mirror had a room-length counter space, that was open underneath. A very clean and uncluttered look, very Zen. The king-sized bed was super comfortable, and the soft leather oversized chair and ottoman were perfect for the room. Spa music was playing on the in-room radio, which completed the whole first impression.

The bathroom was designed with the same spa-feel to it, with dimming lights and the biggest, thickest towels we've ever seen in a hotel. There were robes hanging in the closet, more pillows than the norm of other hotels, a mini bar and fridge (that were extremely high priced, but that was expected), and specialty coffees ready to be brewed.

We stayed in a street-facing room, but found that there are other views that would be more desirable, on a longer stay. It is right on the Riverwalk near all sorts of great restaurants, too.

The service was exceptional, with the manager even giving us complimentary valet parking, due to the room being ready at 3:30 instead of 3:00. We cannot wait to plan an extended stay!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Edward and Sher... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Edward and Sher...H,

What an Awesome review! It is very rewarding for all of us to see such great recognition. We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to your return. Please let us know if we can every be of any assistance whatsoever.

Thank you!

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is simply not a business hotel and not set up for guests to work in their rooms (few outlets, poor lighting, un-ergonomic chairs).

The room I was given is in poor condition, the bed frame rattles terribly-- any small motion sets it off -- and the mattress is the worst I’ve slept on since college (a long, long time ago). A saggy, clammy puff-top. And you couldn't find the linens at Target, because they wouldn't stoop to selling this quality. The air conditioning is erratic as well. Worst night's sleep I've had since I had malaria in Guinea Bissau in 1992.

I travel, primarily for business, about 150 nights per year. Reading the positive reviews, it seems like those folks are staying somewhere else or, in some cases, they must have been too inebriated from celebrating on the Riverwalk to notice their surroundings. I can't fathom why, except for the dramatic decor and friendly staff, this hotel gets any positive feedback at all.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Herb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Herb G,

We appreciate the feedback and will weigh it into our decisions as we move forward. It's disappointing to see that any of our guests has a less than ideal experience. We absolutely agree with you that our dramatic decor and friendly staff. It is what sets us apart from the other hotels. Our sheets are 250 thread count Egyptian Cotton and our beds are just over a year new. Our plush pillow top mattresses are definitely on the soft side. Just two months ago we replaced one of our existing chillers with a 40 ton chiller that supplies us with more than enough cold air to chill the entire hotel. We have checked the room you stayed in to ensure everything is as it should be.

We apologize for the poor experience and again, appreciate the feedback. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I did not make the reservation for the Hotel, but from the service I received without having done so, I would think it would have been quick, easy and with a smile.

Valet was a piece of cake and they gentlemen were exceedingly friendly and helpful.

Check in was a breeze, once you found the elevator. That was the only issue. We carried all of our bags up the stairs because we couldn't easily see the elevator sign. Granted we had been traveling for hours in a car and were really tired, so there may have been signage we didn't notice. I had forgotten a toiletry item and requested it at the front desk. Before we even went upstairs to our room they had already delivered the item. Impressive!

We asked for recommendations for a great restaurant in the area and both the concierge and the doormen had plentiful examples of any type of cuisine you could want.

Location was great! East access to everything including the River Walk, downtown nightlife, Starbucks, Drug stores etc. But it was exceptionally quiet, which I loved.

The beds were really comfortable and the room was spacious. Floor to ceiling mirror was very helpful, although the location was odd as half of it was behind a sitting chair. Shower curtain didn't cover the entire tub space, so our floor got fairly wet but it was tile and easily wiped up.

We were the first room outside of the elevator and I was a bit worried; however, it was very quite and peaceful. I never heard a peep from the hallway or the elevators running. I could hear muted conversations between the walls, but it wasn't enough to bother us at all.

Overall, we had a great stay and would do so again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soccergal_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear soccergal_34,

It's a pleasure reading through such an informative, detailed review. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay. Of course we want your experience to be flawless so it's disappointing to see you didn't get an escort to the Front Desk. And for the short shower curtain, we had some of them get mixed up in our inventory and thought we had eradicated them. We will find the one you had and make it gone for good. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Let is know if there is any way we can be of assistance. We hope to see you in the hotel the next time you make it to San Antonio.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

San Antonio, Texas isn't exactly known for its hip, sexy hotels, but Hotel Valencia is exactly that and reasonably priced! The lobby is dark and romantic and the bar scene is always great for grabbing a drink before or after dinner. The rooms all offer views of either downtown or the Riverwalk, but even their standard rooms have large mirrors propped up against the walls and leather armchairs to relax in after a long day of work or play. With an ideal location right on the Riverwalk, you can walk to some of the city's best restaurant's including the newest and hottest area of the Riverwalk where the former Pearl Brewery was located. Whether you're visiting San Anton for business or pleasure, hopefully you can bring your significant other for a romantic stay at Hotel Valencia.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5_Star_Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear 5_Star_Holly,

"Hip and Sexy" is exactly what we are going for and we are happy to see we delivered. It's great to read through your review and we appreciate you sharing your experience with others.

We look forward to seeing you in the hotel the next time you make it to San Antonio. Please let us know if we can be of assistance until then.

Thank you!

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
Level Contributor
258 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 662 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was a fast paced business visit. Buy the hotel stands out in memory. Hotel Valencia Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas is a very good venue for a business meeting. If you are staying at the hotel, it is located in one of the most romantic hotel settings in America. The food is good, the service attentive and the meeting rooms adjustable and well supported. We found nothing to complain about. It helps in San Antonio if you speak a little Spanish. The city is not as crime free as it once as. Use the taxi cabs provided by the staff. Very agreeable stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in good condition. Try to overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roemanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear roemanner,

It is a pleasure to see your 5-star review. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience with others.

Hopefully the next time you stay with us, you have a little bit more time to relax and soak of more of the leisure side of what the city has to offer. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance until then.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

My husband, I, and my 6 month old son were visiting a friend while attending Fiesta activities. Overall the Hotel Valencia on the Riverwalk was a very comfortable stay. The hotel was easy to find but can be a bit tricky during Fiesta due to parade road closures. The valet option was pricey at $29 a night plus tax, but worth it when there is a large event going on in the city. The hotel seemed very secure. The staff was very friendly and observant at the time we were there and the elevators only operate when a room key is used which was nice. Our stay was brief but the room was beautiful and comfortable. There were plantation shutters as window treatments, stocked mini bar (no room in the mini fridge for you to put your own items; mini bar only), clean and well decorated bathroom, the check in/out desk is located on the 2nd floor, and the decor was very appealing. I will say that if you have a city view (view of the street) it can be a little loud in the evening from the late night Riverwalk stragglers walking around the city that have partied too hard. Other than that we never heard any of the people in the adjacent rooms. This was our first time in San Antonio and we were very pleased with this hotel. It is in walking distance of shopping and dining and if you decide not to venture around the Riverwalk, the outlet malls are not too far away. If we find ourselves back in San Antonio or are asked to recommend a hotel in the area, the Hotel Valencia would be our top recommendation.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Kimberly A,

It has been a pleasure to read through your review. Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed account of your stay with others. We appreciate the kind words and appreciate you acknowledging the friendliness of our staff.

We hope you have the opportunity to visit San Antonio again in the near future and we hope to see you in the hotel. Let us know if we can be of assistance until then.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,641 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,127 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 355 in San Antonio
1,446 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 355 in San Antonio
2,788 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the San Antonio River Walk, within walking distance of the Alamo, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is a short walk from the San Antonio Convention Center, downtown attractions and only a short drive to The Pearl, theme parks and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Naranja bar and dine in Dorregos Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing