We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #5 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This is a one of a kind and beautiful hotel! The ambience of being greeted by waterfall and candles on wall all made for quiet peace. We are experienced travelers and this one will rank as one of our favorite. Loved location on Riverwalk - loved the patios, decor, and comfy beds. Classy. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amigolucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear amigolucy,

It's great to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for completing the 5-star review with such positive comments.

We hope to see you in the hotel the next time you make it down from Minnesota. Let us know if we can be of assistance until then.

Sincerely,

Trent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,023 - 2,029 of 3,116 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is my favorite hotel in San Antonio. Its a very nice and relaxing place to stay. The rooms are very comfortable and open into a nice sunny courtyard. You can dine and overlook the riverwalk from the hotel and are just steps away from the riverwalk..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartinDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear smartinDallas,

Thank you for the recognition! A short and sweet review and we couldn't be more flattered. And Yes, we agree with the title. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back the next time you make it down from Dallas. Let us know if we can make anything happen for you in the mean time.

Sincerely,

Trent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here twice over a few months period on business travel. The hotel is a bit artsy. The conference rooms are extremely nice and there was a reception hosted on the balcony over the river that was fantastic. The rooms are nice. I enjoyed my stay. The biggest selling point is the location on the fabulous riverwalk. It made me see why people go to San Antonio.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank LostALot22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Bry S,

We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to write your review. It's great to see you enjoyed your stay. Many of our guests agree with you on our location. We are just around the corner from the busy (congested) stretch of the Riverwalk, and at the same time, we provide an escape from it.

We hope to see you the next time you make it to San Antonio. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance.

Thank you,

Trent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a great "romantic getaway" place to stay. We spent the most recent Memorial Day weekend at this hotel, and "quiet" is an understatement. We felt like we were the only people in the hotel. The staff was attentive and professional, the room was perfect and well maintained.

We had a couples massage, and it was marvelous. The front desk recommended it, and we were not dissappointed.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Advrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Advrdr,

We appreciate the 5-star review! Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with others. Its great to see you enjoyed the weekend.

We hope to see you return and stay with us again when you travels bring you back to San Antonio. Let us know if we can be of assistance until then.

Sincerely,

Trent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

From the moment we walked in, we knew this place was special. The front desk is located on the second floor, with a huge, 2-story waterfall/wall facing it. It is appropriately, romantically lit, with beautiful art, cozy sitting areas and lighting accents all over.

The hotel room itself was so inviting...very spa-like, with a huge floor to ceiling cherry wood framed mirror that leaned against the largest wall and dark wood louvre shades over the windows. We loved that the room was not jam-packed with furniture - the wall opposite the bed and mirror had a room-length counter space, that was open underneath. A very clean and uncluttered look, very Zen. The king-sized bed was super comfortable, and the soft leather oversized chair and ottoman were perfect for the room. Spa music was playing on the in-room radio, which completed the whole first impression.

The bathroom was designed with the same spa-feel to it, with dimming lights and the biggest, thickest towels we've ever seen in a hotel. There were robes hanging in the closet, more pillows than the norm of other hotels, a mini bar and fridge (that were extremely high priced, but that was expected), and specialty coffees ready to be brewed.

We stayed in a street-facing room, but found that there are other views that would be more desirable, on a longer stay. It is right on the Riverwalk near all sorts of great restaurants, too.

The service was exceptional, with the manager even giving us complimentary valet parking, due to the room being ready at 3:30 instead of 3:00. We cannot wait to plan an extended stay!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Edward and Sher... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Edward and Sher...H,

What an Awesome review! It is very rewarding for all of us to see such great recognition. We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to your return. Please let us know if we can every be of any assistance whatsoever.

Thank you!

Trent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is simply not a business hotel and not set up for guests to work in their rooms (few outlets, poor lighting, un-ergonomic chairs).

The room I was given is in poor condition, the bed frame rattles terribly-- any small motion sets it off -- and the mattress is the worst I’ve slept on since college (a long, long time ago). A saggy, clammy puff-top. And you couldn't find the linens at Target, because they wouldn't stoop to selling this quality. The air conditioning is erratic as well. Worst night's sleep I've had since I had malaria in Guinea Bissau in 1992.

I travel, primarily for business, about 150 nights per year. Reading the positive reviews, it seems like those folks are staying somewhere else or, in some cases, they must have been too inebriated from celebrating on the Riverwalk to notice their surroundings. I can't fathom why, except for the dramatic decor and friendly staff, this hotel gets any positive feedback at all.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
7  Thank Herb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Herb G,

We appreciate the feedback and will weigh it into our decisions as we move forward. It's disappointing to see that any of our guests has a less than ideal experience. We absolutely agree with you that our dramatic decor and friendly staff. It is what sets us apart from the other hotels. Our sheets are 250 thread count Egyptian Cotton and our beds are just over a year new. Our plush pillow top mattresses are definitely on the soft side. Just two months ago we replaced one of our existing chillers with a 40 ton chiller that supplies us with more than enough cold air to chill the entire hotel. We have checked the room you stayed in to ensure everything is as it should be.

We apologize for the poor experience and again, appreciate the feedback. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Trent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I did not make the reservation for the Hotel, but from the service I received without having done so, I would think it would have been quick, easy and with a smile.

Valet was a piece of cake and they gentlemen were exceedingly friendly and helpful.

Check in was a breeze, once you found the elevator. That was the only issue. We carried all of our bags up the stairs because we couldn't easily see the elevator sign. Granted we had been traveling for hours in a car and were really tired, so there may have been signage we didn't notice. I had forgotten a toiletry item and requested it at the front desk. Before we even went upstairs to our room they had already delivered the item. Impressive!

We asked for recommendations for a great restaurant in the area and both the concierge and the doormen had plentiful examples of any type of cuisine you could want.

Location was great! East access to everything including the River Walk, downtown nightlife, Starbucks, Drug stores etc. But it was exceptionally quiet, which I loved.

The beds were really comfortable and the room was spacious. Floor to ceiling mirror was very helpful, although the location was odd as half of it was behind a sitting chair. Shower curtain didn't cover the entire tub space, so our floor got fairly wet but it was tile and easily wiped up.

We were the first room outside of the elevator and I was a bit worried; however, it was very quite and peaceful. I never heard a peep from the hallway or the elevators running. I could hear muted conversations between the walls, but it wasn't enough to bother us at all.

Overall, we had a great stay and would do so again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soccergal_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear soccergal_34,

It's a pleasure reading through such an informative, detailed review. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay. Of course we want your experience to be flawless so it's disappointing to see you didn't get an escort to the Front Desk. And for the short shower curtain, we had some of them get mixed up in our inventory and thought we had eradicated them. We will find the one you had and make it gone for good. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Let is know if there is any way we can be of assistance. We hope to see you in the hotel the next time you make it to San Antonio.

Sincerely,

Trent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,922 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,144 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,540 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £137 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the San Antonio River Walk, within walking distance of the Alamo, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is a short walk from the San Antonio Convention Center, downtown attractions and only a short drive to The Pearl, theme parks and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Naranja bar and dine in Dorrego's Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary FIT breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing