We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel needs an upgrade but the employees are awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #6 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Bentonville, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel needs an upgrade but the employees are awesome”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Its all about expectation management. The Website for Valencia looks ultra chic, but the hotel rooms reminded me of steak and ale. Dark and poorly lit. But the staff made up for the gap. Starting with Israel, the Valet manager and ending with the housekeeping staff Minerva C, and Maria E everyoone works hard to make your visit as enjoyable as possible. All in all the location is ultra convenient to everything and as long as you are not looking for 5 star amenities you will enjoy staying there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,093
    560
    219
    133
    73
See reviews for
484
1,254
87
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We are first time staying guests at The Valencia Hotel on our Honeymoon. Everything was great when we checked in on Tuesday afternoon (7/22). The rooms are nice and clean. The people who checked us in were supper friendly. We also had a perfect steak dinner at Bohanan's. When we got to our room we had a letter stating there would be no hot water on Thursaday (7/24) from 11am-5pm and that some plumbing work was going to be taken place. We thought.. Ok, great, this won't affect us since we are due to check out that Thursday morning. Unfortunately, at 9am Wednesday morning we were awaken by a ton of loud banging noises. It echoed the entire room! We immediately called and they said that notices were sent out. I said not for Wednesdays construction, only Thursday. I asked for another room, but the manager said it would not matter which room he put us in we would still hear the noises. The manager said he was going to try to delay it for us at least until the afternoon, but that didn't happen. We decided to check out immediately and move to a nearby hotel with a huge headache and a terrible morning to remember from the Valencia Hotel. :-(

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingen, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

When I read the reviews prior to my stay I read glowing reviews using superlatives. Excellent. Awesome. Beyond expectation. But my actual experience far from evoked those adjectives. Not a 4 star in my book. I am now doubtful of these reviews. I wonder if they are manufactured. Hotel is dark and using cheap industrial materials that made it look "cool". No pool!!! And no amenities to make up for that big downer. Courtyard was very small hot and on 3rd floor with windows of other rooms as view. Furniture there showed a lot of wear and tear. Disorganized. Had coffee there one morning and it was far from relaxing or pleasant. Hotel has no river walk access!!! You have to walk down the street and then go down the stairs to the river walk. It's fairly far from main river walk area and there were many
drunk homeless men along the way. Scary!!! Wanted to order drinks from the bar but didn't feel open. Standing men crowded the bar. Daily parking
is $29 a day!!! I've used Hotwire to book hotels in the river walk area in the past and I would be pleasantly surprised. I was disappointed. Service was nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gotta-have-f4ith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, W
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

What a great weekend we just had at the Valencia!

Great location - right on the river walk, close enough to all the great spots to eat and drink that you can walk; but not so close that you get stuck in the horrible traffic.

The room was clean and comfortable, and just felt warm and cozy! Comfy beds! Fluffy pillows! And I never wanted to get out of the arm chair, I just sank in to it. The personalized hand-written note from our housekeeper, Rosa, was such a nice touch, and a welcome change from generic cards you get at other hotelss.

The staff was amazing. Our room was not ready upon check in, but we were given a great restaurant recommendation and a phone call soon after telling us we were good to go. It was a nice personal touch rather than just telling us when to come back. And there was a nice bottle of wine waiting for us!

Mourad in valet was so helpful with our luggage and packages, and humored my sister and I with our need for goofy fountain pictures and told us if we needed anything (including more pictures) to just let him know. All the valet were prompt and helpful with directions and suggestions, it was so nice to hear "welcome back" because out of all the guests they must see, they took the time to remember us.

I would definitely say this place embodied Texas hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Park, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The staff was very kind, professional and accommodating. I forgot my computer charger at home and Israel Munoz, the front desk manager, had someone from his house bring a charger for me to borrow! I can't thank them enough!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is not a big impersonal hotel, even though some of them are very nice. When you stop at front desk, by the second stop, they call you by name. That being said, it is beautiful, elegant and many levels above any other hotel. The beds were wonderful and pillows outstanding. The valets, knew our car and always welcomed us back from outings with "how was your day?" "Anything we can do to make your stay better?" Housekeeping,(Rosa, thank you) left personal notes saying to please call if we needed anything. The valets (especially Mourad) took great pictures for us in front of the fountain and were genuinely happy to do it. There were far too many to remember each but we never encountered any person in any position that did not go out of their way to help. We will definitely be back - in cooler weather!

Room Tip: We asked for a River Walk view and it was nice but we saw the rooms facing the courtyard and they we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I travel all over the world and prefer quaint boutique style hotels. We felt the Valencia mixed modern day with a home town historic feel. The bar manger Shawn Mac made us feel especially welcome. With recommendations on appetizers (jalapeno bacon wrap pheasant legs, on the veranda) to a local restaurant down the street that turned out to be one of the most romantic and enjoyable evenings the chief and I have experienced. If you stay here... find Shawn Mac!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clifford a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,788 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 358 in San Antonio
3,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,051 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,497 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the San Antonio River Walk, within walking distance of the Alamo, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is a short walk from the San Antonio Convention Center, downtown attractions and only a short drive to The Pearl, theme parks and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Naranja bar and dine in Dorregos Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing