We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valet beware” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #12 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Valet beware”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel was lovely and the room was great. A wonderful stay ended with the Valet bringing my car with the rear view mirror hanging from the windshield by a wire. They claimed it "fell off", which is virtually impossible since it is mounted to a metal plate with 4 screws and the car is a 2013. I waited for an hour by my car in the heat while they attempted to remount it. I was supposed to be with family in Austin and was so angry that I finally had to just leave. It was nerve racking driving on I-35 with no rear view and I had to find a Subaru dealer the next day in Austin to have it repaired. I live in Dallas and would not endanger my life driving 240 more miles without it. I called the hotel immediately to report it and have not heard anything from them. A very disappointing ending to my stay. FYI - the hotel has no parking you so are charged $29 to use the Valet, just be aware of any damage to your vehicle.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,882
    527
    212
    132
    72
See reviews for
433
1,171
78
529
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk while in San Antonio for a conference. The conference was a different hotel, but I am thankful to have stayed at Hotel Valencia. A few of my co-workers who stayed at different hotels came to visit after I bragged about our room. They also came over for breakfast! The French toast was amazing! I ate it two days in a row. Nick's service was excellent. He answered all of our questions about the menu and knew in detail ingredients the chef used. The entire staff was friendly, helpful, and made our stay enjoyable. I wish I could have stayed longer. The only negative would be that the room was very dark. Even with the lamps on it was hard to see in the room. As they make updates to rooms I hope that is something that will be changed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maresha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We've stayed in San Antonio many times on weekend get-aways. The last several times we've chosen to stay at the Hotel Valencia because of it's location and excellent staff. From the time you arrive and are greeted by the valet the focus on customer service and satisfaction is evident. The rooms are well kept and provide a cool quiet place to relax especially after a hot San Antonio summer day. We prefer a balcony room that opens to the courtyard so that we can be away from the hustle of the Riverwalk and enjoy the waterfall feature that is a central focus in the courtyard..

During our stays we've always been impressed with the helpfulness and friendliness of all the staff. Everyone greets you and is willing to answer questions and provide assistance. This not only includes the valet, bellmen, and front desk personnel, but also the housekeeping staff. This commitment to welcoming the customer is special.

Usually we would enjoy cocktails at the V Bar and then chose one of the many restaurants on the Riverwalk for dinner. On our last stay we decided to try the Citrus Restaurant in the hotel. We had been there several years ago and were not impressed. This time was very different. From our first look at the menu our expectations rose.From the appetizer of Gulf Shrimp and Chorizo, to the desert named "It's Kinda Like Lemon Meringue" everthing was fresh and delicious. We learned that the hotel had hired a new chef, Robbie Nowlin, a month ago. His skill already shows and provides just another reason to make the Hotel Valencia the place to stay on the Riverwalk in San Antonio

Room Tip: Balconey rooms that open to the courtyard are quieter and offer a nice place to enjoy a pre- dinner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I recently visited Valencia Riverwalk with my family. We had an amazing experience! From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by friendly staff and our whole stay was a fantastic. Staff is friendly and attentive. It was very obvious that hotel was sold out, but staff was on the top of their game. Every aspect of our stay was a wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel to both, leisure and business travelers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Safet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I picked this hotel because of all the great reviews. I was not disappointed. From the smiling greeting as I pulled up from a nice young valet name Alec, who's greeting and smile made me feel so welcomed and at home. To the front desk where Bianca again welcomed us and explained all the great things about the hotel. The room was very romantic with the lighting and colors. The bed was so comfortable we were able to get a wonderful nights sleep. We have never been to San Antonio before and wanted to explore at night. We talked to Officer Prescott in the lobby, who was very approachable and helpful. He gave us some great places to dine and places to see. To cap off our stay as we were headed to our car we met Bobby, a manager, who made sure our stay was the best we ever had, and it was. All your employees were great and friendly. The ones we met, Alec, Bianca, Bobby, and Officer Prescott made our stay the best ever. Even the valet that returned our vehicle to us put a smile on our faces. Joe G thanks for that.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have stayed in San Antonio many times but not at the Valencia. After finding a great price through Tripadvisor, my sisters and I drove to SA and the Valencia. From the moment we walked in the door, we felt like we were at a Spa instead of a hotel. The rooms were pretty, well kept, and had everything we needed, including a view of the Riverwalk. The food was great and staff treated us like family and some type of Platinum traveler. To say we felt pampered was an understatement. Back to staff, I would like to say to Gloria Murrell and her boss Ivan, Thank You. Gloria was awesome. She was the epitome of hospitality, professionalism, and friendliness. Wow, that young lady is going places, someday. I also want to thank Ivan for checking on us, listening to our tourist stories and to our accolades for Gloria. You would have thought our quality time with Ivan was because we were frequent, honored guest when we were just three sisters on a road trip to a great hotel! Thank you Gloria, Ivan, and the Valencia Hotel.

Room Tip: We spent a lot of time all over the Riverwalk area and meeting family at another hotel near the Alam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickieJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have visited San Antonio many times throughout the years, but this was my first time at Hotel Valencia. The hotel was beautifully decorated and has a very knowledgeable and friendly staff. The room had a gorgeous view of the Riverwalk and was impeccably clean. Upon check-out we were greeted by the Front Office Manager, George Tays. He was very sincere while inquiring about our stay at Hotel Valencia. As a former hotel sales manager that was very refreshing to witness such professionalism. Also, the valet, Edgar, was extremely helpful packing my car and even asked if I needed directions anywhere. I will definitely be back to Hotel Valencia in the near future!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f_katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#9 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,002 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the historic San Antonio River Walk, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in San Antonio located in the heart of downtown. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo and other downtown attractions and only a short drive to Sea World, Six Flags Fiesta Texas and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Vbar and dine in the acclaimed Citrus Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary high speed internet and newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing