We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #10 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

From the moment you step out of your car you will be blown away with the beauty, the details, and above all else, the service you receive at the Hotel Valencia. It was our last night in Texas, so we decided to splurge on this hotel, and so glad we did. The valet staff at the front door were amazing, taking care of the car, getting us to the desk, taking care of our luggage, getting us up to the room, explaining everything about the hotel, how to get where, etc, etc. The front desk staff, quick, efficient, friendly, not just a smile on your face friendly, but warm, inviting, and caring. The restaurant staff were eager to please and the bartenders, oh my god, we were in for happy hour and did they ever keep us smiling and laughing. The two bartenders were a comedic duo, too bad we had other things to do as they were so entertaining. The hotel itself if glamorous, the water feature in the lobby, the rooms are spectacular with an amazing view of the riverwalk. Comfy, comfy bed, slept so good that night. It is located right on the riverwalk, which was perfect as that was our main reason for stopping in San Antonio. Totally recommend this hotel, it is close to the Alamo, lots of music one can walk to, and so many good restaurants, if you need any directions or suggestions, the staff is eager to assist you in any way. Great stay.

Room Tip: upper floor with a view of the riverwalk, very quiet hotel rooms, made for a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Reta G,

Thank you for taking the time to post such an amazing review. It means a lot to us to see you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate you sharing your experience with others. The bartenders are good at what they do and definitely know how to add character to the operation.

Hopefully we have the opportunity to see you in the hotel again the next time you make it down to Texas. Please let us know if we may ever be of assistance until then.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,991
    548
    216
    132
    72
See reviews for
456
1,209
83
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I made a resrevation for my self and family. Explained that it was going to be my step daughter's first real vacation. I spoke with Erica Lozano. She was such a greate help. Once I explained that I wanted a memorable stay for her, Erica made sure it happened. She ordered up an amazing gift basket, with a welcome card. She even took the time to hand sign the card. The room was great, and staff was amazing! All of the personnel did a great job, but kudos especially go to Erica, for taking the time to listen to my desire to surprise our daughter with a trip that made her feel so special.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Jessica V,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience with others. It means a lot to see you mention our associates, and even one by name. Erica "is" amazing. She sets the benchmark high for the rest of us and we are a better team, and better at what we do because of her.

We hope to see you in the hotel again soon. We'll be here for you in the mean time.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Bluff, Arkansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

When looking for a great hotel, look no further. We were in San Antonio for our 1st wedding anniversary. This hotel is one of the best hotel stays I've had in a while. They pay attention to detail and satisfy ever customers need. The valets were prompt and courteous, front desk staff were very professional. I didn't get a chance to meet with Nicole, the VVIP coordinator, but she made sure our anniversary stay was amazing. The hotel is decorated with modern styling which is very romantic. The only problems I encountered were my remote control batteries were dying. The maintenance man promptly came and replaced the batteries, I can't remember his name but he was professional and prompt. The second problem was with the feather pillows on the bed, I just cant stand them but I made do with them. Upon checkout Samantha, I think that was her name, my that a smooth exit. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to any of my family or friends. Make sure you sign up for the VVIP program, it's free and has its perks.

P.S. The interior rooms with a balcony towards the courtyard are very romantic at night. The courtyard has a waterfall with a fire display.

Room Tip: Interior rooms with a courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston TX USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My sister made reservations at the Valencia for our three day trip to San Antonio. The hotel is so relaxing and spa like. There was no noise from other rooms, our room was clean and had comfortable beds and pillows. We dined at the Valencia hotel and had the most wonderful service from Gloria Murrell. Gloria made our dining experience perfect. She was thoughtful, courteous and very caring. We were impressed that her boss Ivan even came by to check that our dining experience was suitable. I highly recommend the Valencia!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestcastlekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My sister and I visited Hotel Valencia for a girls trip. We had not seen each other in a while and it was a great place for us to meet and have a girls mini-vacation. We signed up for the VVIP program and Nicole was very helpful with all the questions we had. After asking for directions to the King William area, Nicole recommended we visit the Gunther House Bakery for breakfast and it was amazing. Citrus inside the hotel is also a must to dine for dinner or lunch! From the moment we arrived we were greeted by Valet staff and they were very informative. The front desk agents were friendly and always had a smile on their faces. When we visit San Antonio again, we will definitely be staying at the Hotel Valencia.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Sterling, Kentucky
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

NOT what I expected from a hotel of this class. Room phone did not work, 1/2 roll of toilet tissue (told front desk but never received any), LARGE mirror in floor of sleeping area was a safety hazard for my 3 year old, no shower caps, no vents is bathroom so every time anyone would take a shower it heated up the rest of the room. Lots of expensive furniture but missing the main amedinities that I know I could have gotten at the Holiday Inn Express that sit next to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lestep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have to admit I was not that impressed when I pulled into the front of the hotel. That is until we met the very informative and smiling valet Fabian. He put our minds at ease by addressing our concerns and answering all of questions and even walked us to the front desk. The front desk was very quick and the room was goregous! Our trip ended with another great valet, Jay, giving us excellent directions back to the highway and evened managed to pack our car carefully and effectiently. Overall the staff was great and definitely made this trip quite blissful

Room Tip: Had a courtyard facing room, it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,561 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the San Antonio River Walk, within walking distance of the Alamo, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is a short walk from the San Antonio Convention Center, downtown attractions and only a short drive to The Pearl, theme parks and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Naranja bar and dine in Dorregos Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing